暫停線上業務

如果您無法履行訂單或許多產品缺貨,可以考慮暫時關閉線上商家。如果這是暫時性的情況,亦即您預計在接下來幾週或幾個月內就能恢復供貨,我們建議您採取相關措施時,盡可能地維持網站在 Google 搜尋結果中的排名。本指南說明如何安全地暫停線上業務。

限制網站功能 (建議做法)

如果這是暫時性的情況,且您有再次營運線上業務的打算,建議您繼續讓網站保持上線狀態,並且限制部分網站功能。對於網站的 Google 搜尋排名,這種做法造成的負面影響最小,所以我們才如此推薦。使用者依然可以找到您的產品、閱讀評論或新增願望清單以便日後購買。建議您採取以下做法:

  • 停用購物車功能:停用購物車功能是最簡單的方法,且不會影響網站在 Google 搜尋中的曝光率。
  • 顯示橫幅或彈出式視窗:在所有頁面上 (包括到達網頁) 顯示橫幅或彈出式視窗 div,協助使用者迅速瞭解網站的情形。說明已知的所有異常延遲情形、送貨時間、取貨或送貨方式,讓使用者可以在抱有正確期望的情況下繼續瀏覽網站。 如要避免橫幅或彈出式視窗中的內容顯示在搜尋結果的文字片段中,請使用 data-nosnippet HTML 屬性。 請務必遵循我們的彈出式視窗及橫幅規範
  • 更新結構化資料:如果您的網站使用結構化資料 (例如 ProductBookEvent),請確定您已將資訊調整到位,例如正確顯示目前的產品供應情形,或是將活動變更為已取消狀態。如果您的商家有實體店面,請更新當地商家結構化資料,以便正確顯示目前的營業時間。
  • 檢查 Merchant Center 動態饋給:如果您使用 Merchant Center,請依照 availability [供應情形] 屬性最佳做法中的指示操作。
  • 將您的更新內容告知 Google:如需 Google 重新檢索少量網頁 (例如首頁),請使用 Search Console。如果需要檢索的網頁數量較多 (例如所有產品頁面),請使用 Sitemap

不建議的做法:停用整個網站

您可以決定停用整個網站。這種極端措施應該僅使用非常短的時間 (最多幾天),否則即使已正確進行設定,還是會在 Google 搜尋中對網站造成重大影響

以下是停用整個網站會帶來的負面影響,請務必納入考量:

  • 客戶在網路上如果找不到您的商家,就無法得知您的業務狀態。
  • 您的客戶無法直接找到或查看您的商家資訊,也不能取得相關範例、評論、規格、維修指南和手冊等內容。第三方提供的資訊可能不及您自己提供的內容正確或完整,而這點通常會影響客戶日後的購買意願。
  • 知識面板中的資訊可能會遺失,像是聯絡電話和您的網站標誌。
  • Search Console 將驗證失敗,您會因此而無法透過 Google 搜尋找到您商家的相關資訊。Search Console 中的匯總報表會因為索引中的網頁遭到捨棄而遺失資料。
  • 如果您的網站必須先重新編入索引,則在經過較長時間後,恢復作業的難度會大幅提升。此外,我們也無法確定恢復作業需要多久時間,以及之後網站在 Google 搜尋中顯示的情況是否相同。

如果您有停用網站的需求,並且決定停用網站 (再次提醒,我們不建議這麼做),可以採取以下這些做法:

  • 如果您需要緊急停用網站 1 到 2 天的時間,請傳回含有 503 HTTP 結果碼的資訊錯誤網頁,不要傳回所有網站內容。請務必遵循停用網站的最佳做法
  • 如果您需要停用網站的時間較長,請使用 200 HTTP 狀態碼提供可建立索引的首頁做為預留位置,方便使用者在 Google 搜尋中查詢。
  • 如果您還在思考要採取何種做法,但急需在 Google 搜尋中隱藏您的網站,可以先暫時將網站從 Google 搜尋中移除

停用網站的最佳做法

雖然我們不建議您停用網站,但如果您決定這麼做,請參考下列最佳做法:

  • 透過 robots.txt 檔案繼續允許檢索網頁。請勿為 robots.txt 檔案傳回 503 HTTP 結果碼,以免封鎖所有網頁檢索作業
  • 使用 curl 或類似工具在本機確認 503 HTTP 結果碼。舉例來說:
    curl -I -X GET "https://www.example.com/"
    HTTP/1.1 503 Service Unavailable
    Mime-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: text/html
    (...)
  • 為了將 503 錯誤網頁的伺服器端和用戶端負載降到最低,建議您採用下列最佳做法:
    • 請使用 retry-after HTTP 標頭設定最可能恢復網站的日期或持續時間。
    • 使用靜態 HTML。
    • 盡量減少使用網頁外的資源,採用內嵌式 CSS 樣式表和 base-64 編碼的圖片。
  • 在錯誤網頁的內容中,讓使用者清楚瞭解後續步驟。這類資訊可能包括:
    • 其他相關資訊的連結
    • 您預計的網站再次上線日期,或下次更新資訊的時間
    • 客服人員的聯絡方式
  • 請勿在 robots.txt 檔案中禁止所有檢索作業。傳回禁止所有檢索作業的有效 robots.txt 檔案,可能會使系統從 Google 搜尋中移除網站的內容及網址。
  • 請勿傳回 403、404、410 HTTP 狀態碼,或使用 noindex 漫遊器中繼標記及 x-robots-tag HTTP 標頭來封鎖網站。這麼做會將網站的網址從 Google 搜尋中移除。
  • 請勿在 Search Console 中使用臨時網站移除工具關閉網站。這麼做會導致使用者找不到您的網站,無法得知網站狀態。此外,您商家產品的潛在經銷商或關聯企業可能仍會繼續在 Google 搜尋中顯示。
  • 請勿使用 503 HTTP 結果碼封鎖您的 robots.txt 檔案。

常見問題

如果我只想關閉網站幾週,會有什麼影響?

即便只是完全關閉網站幾週的時間,網站在 Google 的索引編列情形仍可能會受到負面影響,因此我們建議您改為限制網站功能。請注意,即使你目前並未銷售任何項目,客戶還是可能會尋找與您的產品、服務或公司資訊。

如果我要排除所有非必需的產品,可以嗎?

沒有問題。請限制網站功能,確保客戶無法購買非必需的產品。

在網站暫時關閉期間,我可以要求 Google 減少檢索次數嗎?

可以。您可以降低 Googlebot 的檢索頻率,但大多數情況下我們不建議這麼做,因為這可能會影響搜尋結果的即時性。舉例來說,Google 搜尋可能需要較長的時間,才會顯示你的所有產品目前都無法購買。不過,如果 Googlebot 的檢索作業造成重大的伺服器資源問題,這就會是一個有效的解決途徑。建議您為自己設定提醒,以便在您準備好恢復營業時重新設定檢索頻率。

如何迅速讓 Google 為網站建立索引或進行更新?

如需 Google 重新檢索少量網頁 (例如首頁),請使用 Search Console。 如果網頁數量較多 (例如所有產品頁面),請使用 Sitemap

如果我禁止特定地區存取我的網站,會有什麼影響?

Google 通常會從美國進行檢索,如果您封鎖了美國地區,Google 搜尋將完全無法存取您的網站。我們建議您針對特定地區限制網站功能,不要暫時禁止整個地區存取您的網站。

我應該使用移除工具將缺貨中的產品移除嗎?

否。這麼做將使客戶無法在 Google 搜尋中找到您產品的第一手資訊,且網路上可能仍存在不正確或不完整第三方產品資訊。建議您允許客戶存取網頁,並將產品狀態標示為缺貨中。這樣一來,即使客戶無法購買產品,還是可以瞭解目前的產品情況。如果您將產品從 Google 搜尋中移除,客戶就無法得知搜尋不到產品的原因。

Pause your business online

If you're unable to fulfill orders or many of your products out of stock, you may be considering temporarily closing your online business. If the situation is temporary, meaning you expect to be able to sell products in the coming weeks or months, we recommend that you take action that preserves as much of your site's standing in Search as possible. This guide explains how you can safely pause your online business.

Limit your site's functionality (recommended)

If your situation is temporary and you plan to reopen your online business, we recommend that you keep your site online and limit the functionality. This is the recommended approach since it minimizes any negative effects on your site's presence in Search. People can still find your products, read reviews, or add wishlists so they can purchase at a later time. We recommend doing the following:

  • Disable the cart functionality: Disabling the cart functionality is the simplest approach, and doesn't change anything for your site's visibility in Search.
  • Display a banner or popup: A banner or popup div on all pages including the landing page quickly makes the status clear to users. Mention any known and unusual delays, shipping times, pick-up or delivery options, so that users continue with the right expectations. To prevent the content in the banner or popup from being shown in a snippet in Search results, use the data-nosnippet HTML attribute. Make sure to follow our guidelines on popups and banners.
  • Update your structured data: If your site uses structured data (for example, Product, Book, Event), make sure to adjust it appropriately (reflecting the current product availability, or changing events to cancelled). If your business has a physical storefront, update Local Business structured data to reflect current opening hours.
  • Check your Merchant Center feed: If you use Merchant Center, follow the best practices for the availability attribute.
  • Tell Google about your updates: To ask Google to recrawl a limited number of pages (for example, the homepage), use Search Console. For a larger number of pages (for example, all of your product pages), use sitemaps.

Not recommended: Disable the whole website

You may decide to disable the whole website. This is an extreme measure that should only be taken for a very short period of time (a few days at most), as it will otherwise have significant effects on the website in Search, even when implemented properly.

Make sure that you consider the following side effects of disabling your entire site:

  • Your customers won't know what's happening with your business if they can't find your business online at all.
  • Your customers can't find or read first-hand information about your business and its example, reviews, specs, repair guides, or manuals won't be findable. Third-party information may not be as correct or comprehensive as what you can provide. This often also affects future purchase decisions.
  • Knowledge Panels may lose information, like contact phone numbers and your site's logo.
  • Search Console verification will fail, and you will lose all access to information about your business in Search. Aggregate reports in Search Console will lose data as pages are dropped from the index.
  • Ramping back up after a prolonged period of time will be significantly harder if your website needs to be reindexed first. Additionally, it's uncertain how long this would take, and whether the site would appear similarly in Search afterwards.

If you decide that you need to do this (again, not recommended), here are some options:

  • If you need to urgently disable the site for 1-2 days, then return an informational error page with a 503 HTTP result code instead of all content. Make sure to follow the best practices for disabling a site.
  • If you need to disable the site for a longer time, then provide an indexable homepage as a placeholder for users to find in Search by using the 200 HTTP status code.
  • If you quickly need to hide your site in Search while you consider the options, you can temporarily remove a website from Search.

Best practices for disabling a site

While we don't recommend disabling your site, here are some best practices if you decide to do this:

  • Continue to allow crawling through the robots.txt file. Don't return a 503 HTTP result code for the robots.txt file because this blocks all crawling.
  • Confirm a 503 HTTP result code locally by using curl or a similar tool. For example:
    curl -I -X GET "https://www.example.com/"
    HTTP/1.1 503 Service Unavailable
    Mime-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: text/html
    (...)
  • To minimize the server-side and client-side load of a 503 error page, follow these best practices:
    • Use the retry-after HTTP header with a best effort date or duration.
    • Use static HTML.
    • Minimize off-page resources; use inline CSS stylesheets and base-64-encoded images.
  • Give your users clear guidance on future steps within the content of the error page. This could include:
    • Links to more information
    • The date when you expect the website to be online again, or when the information will be updated
    • How to contact customer service
  • Don't disallow all crawling in the robots.txt file. Returning a valid robots.txt file that disallows all crawling may remove the website's content, and potentially its URLs, from Google Search.
  • Don't block the website by returning 403, 404, 410 HTTP status codes, or with a noindex robots meta tag or x-robots-tag HTTP header. This will remove the website's URLs from Google Search.
  • Don't use the temporary website removal tool in Search Console for closures. Doing so will make it impossible for users to find your website so that they can learn its status. Also, potential resellers or affiliates of your business's products may continue to be shown in Search.
  • Don't block your robots.txt file with a 503 HTTP result code.

FAQs

What if I only close the site for a few weeks?

Completely closing a site even for just a few weeks can have negative consequences on Google's indexing of your site. We recommend limiting the site functionality instead. Keep in mind that users may also want to find information about your products, your services, and your company, even if you're currently not selling anything.

What if I want to exclude all non-essential products?

That's fine. Make sure that people can't buy the non-essential products by limiting the site functionality.

Can I ask Google to crawl less while my site is temporarily closed?

Yes, you can reduce the Googlebot crawl rate, though it's not recommended for most cases. This may have some impact on the freshness of your results in Search. For example, it may take longer for Search to reflect that all of your products are currently not available. On the other hand, if Googlebot's crawling causes critical server resource issues, this is a valid approach. We recommend setting a reminder for yourself to reset the crawl rate once you're ready to go back in business.

How do I get a page indexed or updated quickly?

To ask Google to recrawl a limited number of pages (for example, the homepage), use Search Console. For a larger number of pages (for example, all of your product pages), use sitemaps.

What if I block a specific region from accessing my site?

Google generally crawls from the US. If you block the US, Google Search won't be able to access your site at all. We don't recommend that you block an entire region from temporarily accessing your site; instead, we recommend limiting the site functionality for that region.

Should I use the Removals Tool to remove out-of-stock products?

No. If you do this, customers won't be able to find first-hand information about your products on Search, and there might still be third-party information for the product that may be incorrect or incomplete. It's better to still allow that page, and mark it out of stock. That way people can still understand what's going on, even if they can't purchase the item. If you remove the product from Search, people don't know why it's gone.