Transfer locations

With the Google My Business API, you can transfer locations to different accounts or location groups. Follow the instructions in this documentation to learn how.

Get started

The following items are required to transfer locations:

Source account: The source account is the account that's an owner of the location. This account can be a personal account or a location group. After the transfer is complete the source account no longer has access to the location.
Destination account: The destination account is the account that the location should be transferred to. This account can be a personal account or a location group. After the transfer is complete, the destination account is the primary owner of the location.
OAuth2 refresh/access tokens: The OAuth2 refresh/access tokens for the source and destination accounts are needed for each account in order to call the API.

To transfer locations, complete the following steps:

  1. If you're not an owner of the location, you must become one. Use the current business owner’s OAuth credentials to call account.admins.create and invite a user to own the listing. Then, use the invited user’s OAuth credentials to call accounts.invitations.accept and accept the invitation.

  2. Use the intended destination account’s OAuth credentials to call accounts.list. Then, find the account ID in the list that you want to transfer the location to. This account ID can refer to a personal account or a location group.

  3. Use the account ID that you retrieved in step 2 as the destination account. This is the toAccount field in the request body, which you can use to call account.locations.transfer.

Use the destination account’s OAuth credentials to call accounts.locations.list and verify that the transferred location appears in the results. If you call the accounts.locations.list endpoint with the source account, the transferred location isn't included in the results.