注意:此开发者网站正在向 developers.google.com/tag-platform 迁移,2021 年 9 月 30 日起将会进行重定向

服务器端代码植入简介

服务器端代码植入是一种使用 Google 跟踪代码管理器,跨设备对应用进行插桩的新方法。服务器容器使用您熟悉的代码、触发器和变量模型,同时还提供了一些新工具,以便您衡量在任何位置发生的用户活动。

典型的代码植入配置(不采用服务器端代码植入)依赖页面中的容器将衡量数据发送到各个收集服务器。图 1 显示了一个示例,该示例演示了一个在网络浏览器中运行的跟踪代码管理器网站容器如何将数据发送到多个服务器。

使用 Google 跟踪代码管理器网站容器进行插桩的网站示意图

图 1:使用 Google 跟踪代码管理器网站容器进行插桩的网站示意图。

相比之下,服务器容器不会在用户的浏览器或手机上运行,而是在您控制的服务器上运行。

使用服务器端代码植入容器进行插桩的网站的示意图。

图 2:使用服务器容器的代码植入配置示例。

服务器在您自己的 Google Cloud Platform 项目中运行,并且在您选择将服务器中的数据发送到其他位置之前,只有您有权访问这些数据。您可以完全控制这些数据的生成方式以及接收数据的位置,相应数据以路由方式从服务器发送。代码采用沙盒化 JavaScript 技术构建而成。利用权限,您可以清楚了解代码的功能,而通过政策,您可以设置容器边界。

服务器接收来自用户设备的网络请求,然后将这些请求转换为事件。每个事件都由容器的代码、触发器和变量处理。代码、触发器和变量在服务器容器中的的工作方式与在其他类型的容器中完全相同:触发器检查每个事件,判断其是否满足特定条件,并在适当情况下触发代码,发送事件数据以供处理。

使用此模型,服务器容器会面临两个重要问题:

  • 如何将衡量数据从用户的设备发送到服务器容器?
  • 如何将发送到服务器容器的衡量数据转换为事件?

客户端(一种用于服务器容器的全新实体)可解决以上两个问题。

客户端的工作原理

客户端是用户设备上运行的软件与您的服务器容器之间的适配器。客户端接收来自设备的衡量数据,接着将相应数据转换为一个或多个事件,然后以路由方式发送容器中要处理的数据,最后将结果打包发送回请求者。

这需要执行大量工作!接下来我们逐一详细了解各个部分。图 3 显示了数据从用户的网络浏览器流向服务器容器,以及从您的网络服务器流向服务器容器。

使用服务器端代码植入容器进行插桩的网站的示意图。

图 3:不同客户端处理各个数据流。

客户端接收来自设备的衡量数据。假设您想要衡量以下三个位置的用户活动:网站、手机应用和智能烤箱。您的网站使用 Google Analytics(分析),您的手机应用使用 Firebase Analytics,而您的烤箱使用名为“ToastMeasure”的专有协议。

通常情况下,要使用 Google 跟踪代码管理器对这三种设备进行插桩,需要为每个平台使用不同的容器。由于服务器容器不是在设备上运行,因此同一容器可以为所有这三种设备平台处理分析插桩。不过仍有一个问题需要解决:这些设备的通信方式各不相同;Google Analytics(分析)协议不同于 ToastMeasure 协议。这时客户端便派上用场了。

您的服务器容器包含三个客户端,可以代替这三个容器。每个进入容器的请求将由各个客户端按优先级顺序进行处理,优先级最高的客户端最先运行。各个客户端首先要确定其是否知道如何处理相应类别的请求。如果可以处理,客户端会“认领”请求,然后继续进行下一处理阶段。通过认领请求,可避免后面的客户端运行。如果客户端无法处理请求,则不会执行任何操作,这样其他客户端就可以决定是否处理该请求。

客户端将请求数据转换为一个或多个事件。ToastMeasure 客户端认领某个请求后,需要将该请求转换为容器其余部分可以理解的内容,即一组事件

事件是指您想要衡量的已发生事件,可用于代表任何行为,比如 start_toastingfinish_toastingbuy_bread。关于客户端生成的事件的结构,我们提供了一些建议,但唯一的硬性要求是容器其余部分可以理解这些事件。

客户端运行容器。客户端已声明请求并已将其转换为事件。现在是时候了解一下代码、触发器和变量了。客户端会将各个事件传递到容器其余部分,以供进一步处理。

客户端将结果打包发送回设备。容器运行后,就可以响应烤箱了。响应形式多种多样。也许客户端只说“好的,完成”。也许其中一个代码想要将请求重定向到其他收集服务器。或者,也许其中一个代码会指示烤箱上的指示灯改变颜色。无论应该出现什么情况,客户端的任务就是将结果打包发送回请求者。

幸运的是,跟踪代码管理器会为您处理这一过程中的大部分工作。服务器容器预安装了三个客户端:Google Analytics(分析)4、Google Analytics(分析):Universal Analytics 和 Measurement Protocol。这些客户端为您提供了所需的工具,可帮助您在完成容器创建后立即着手对应用进行插桩。

简短示例

让我们通过一个简短示例来了解一下各个部分如何协同工作。在此示例中,您将创建以下内容:

  1. 一个使用 gtag.jsclick 事件发送到服务器容器的简单网站。
  2. 一个用于接收事件的 Google Analytics(分析)4 客户端。
  3. 一个针对 click 事件触发的触发器。
  4. 一个将事件数据发送到 Google Analytics(分析)进行处理的 Google Analytics(分析)4 代码。

在此示例中,我们假设您已创建并部署服务器容器。

配置 gtag.js

首先,请配置 gtag.js,指示其将数据发送到您的服务器容器。通过 gtag.js 将数据发送到服务器容器与将数据发送到 Google Analytics(分析)的工作原理大致相同,只需修改一处即可。如下面的示例页面所示,将 transport_url 配置选项设置为指向服务器容器。

<!-- Global site tag (gtag.js) - Google Analytics -->
<script async src="https://www.googletagmanager.com/gtag/js?id=G-EXAMPLE"></script>
<script>
  window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || [];
  function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);}
  gtag('js', new Date());

  gtag('config', 'G-EXAMPLE', {
    transport_url: 'https://analytics.example.com',
  });
</script>

接下来,添加一个用于处理 click 事件的 sendEvent() 函数:

<!-- Global site tag (gtag.js) - Google Analytics -->
<script async src="https://www.googletagmanager.com/gtag/js?id=G-EXAMPLE"></script>
<script>
  window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || [];
  function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);}
  gtag('js', new Date());

  gtag('config', 'G-EXAMPLE', {
    transport_url: 'https://analytics.example.com',
  });

  function sendEvent() {
    gtag('event', 'click');
  }
</script>

<button onclick="javascript:sendEvent()">Send Event</button>

采用这种配置时,事件处理程序(例如,此示例中的 sendEvent() 函数)会将 click 事件发送到您的服务器容器。

Google Analytics(分析)4 客户端

在事件到达服务器后,您的容器需要客户端来接收事件。幸运的是,服务器容器预安装了“Google Analytics(分析)4 客户端,因此这一步骤已经完成。

点击触发器

然后,创建一个针对 click 事件触发的触发器。创建自定义触发器,使其在事件名称这一内置变量为“点击”时触发。

触发器配置

Google Analytics(分析)4 代码

最后,将 GA4 代码附加到触发器。与客户端一样,服务器容器内附 GA4 代码。只需创建代码,然后配置设置,即可与您的容器连接起来。根据设计,GA4 客户端和 GA4 代码可协同工作。也就是说,您只需创建 GA4 代码,系统就会自动从来自客户端的事件中提取其配置。

预览容器

现在容器已配置完毕,请点击预览。在其他浏览器窗口中访问您的网站。请求和事件发送到您的服务器容器后,您会在预览页面左侧看到列出的请求和事件。

如果您对更改感到满意,就可以发布服务器容器了。

将服务器配置为生产模式并启用第一方投放

在将任何生产流量发送到服务器容器之前,我们强烈建议您在第一方网域上安装服务器,并将相应服务器升级到生产模式

An introduction to server-side tagging

Server-side tagging is a new way to use Google Tag Manager to instrument your application across devices. Server containers use the same tag, trigger, and variable model that you're used to, while also providing new tools that allow you to measure user activity wherever it happens.

A typical tagging configuration without server-side tagging relies on a container in the page to send measurement data to various collection servers. Figure 1 illustrates an example of how a Tag Manager web container running in a web browser sends data to multiple servers.

Diagram of a site instrumented to use a Google Tag Manager web container

Figure 1: A diagram of a site instrumented to use a Google Tag Manager web container.

By contrast, a server container doesn't run in the user's browser or on their phone. Instead, it runs on a server that you control.

Diagram of a site instrumented using a server-side tagging container.

Figure 2: An example of a tagging configuration that uses a server container.

The server runs in your own Google Cloud Platform project, and only you have access to the data in the server until you choose to send it elsewhere. You have full control over how that data is shaped, and where it is routed from the server. Tags are built using the sandboxed JavaScript technology. Permissions give you the visibility into what the tag can do, and policies allow you to set boundaries around the container.

The server receives web requests from the user's device and transforms those requests into events. Each event is processed by the container's tags, triggers, and variables. Tags, triggers, and variables in a server container work exactly like they do in other kinds of containers: Triggers examine each event to look for certain conditions and, when appropriate, fire tags that send the event data to be processed.

This model introduces two important questions for server-side tagging containers:

  • How does measurement data get from the user's device to the tagging server?
  • How does measurement data sent to a tagging server get turned into an event?

The answer to both questions is a new kind of entity for use in server containers: a client.

How clients work

Clients are adapters between the software running on a user's device and your server container. The client receives measurement data from a device, transforms that data into one or more events, routes data to be processed in the container, and packages up the results to send back to the requester.

That's a lot of stuff! Let's take a closer look at each part individually. Figure 3 shows data flowing into the server container from the user's web browser, and from your web server to the server container.

Diagram of a site instrumented using a server-side tagging container.

Figure 3: A different client handles each stream of data.

Clients receive measurement data from a device. Let's say that you want to measure user activity in three places: a website, a phone app, and a smart toaster. Your website uses Google Analytics, your phone app uses Firebase Analytics, and your toaster uses a proprietary protocol called "ToastMeasure."

Instrumenting these three devices with Google Tag Manager would normally require a different container for each platform. Since server-side tagging runs on a server and not on the device, the same container can handle analytics instrumentation for all three device platforms. There's a problem, though. These devices don't all communicate in the same way. The Google Analytics protocol is not the same as the ToastMeasure protocol. This is where clients come in.

In place of those three containers, your server container has three clients. Every request that comes into the container will be processed by each client in priority order, highest priority client first. The first thing each client will do is decide whether it knows how to process that kind of request. If it can, the client "claims" the request and continues on to the next stage of processing. The act of claiming the request prevents subsequent clients from running. If the client can't process the request, it does nothing and allows the other clients to decide whether to handle the request or not.

Clients transform request data into one or more events. Once the ToastMeasure client has claimed a request, it needs to transform the request into something the rest of the container understands. That something is a set of events.

Events are things that happen that you want to measure. They can be anything: start_toasting, finish_toasting, or buy_bread. There are some recommendations about the structure of the events that a client generates, but the only requirement is that the rest of the container understands them.

Clients run the container. The client has claimed the request and turned it into events. Now it's time for the tags, triggers, and variables. The client passes each event on to the rest of the container for further processing.

Clients package up the results to send back to the device. Once the container has run, it's time to respond to the toaster. The response can take many forms. Maybe the client just says "OK, done." Maybe one of the tags wants to redirect the request to another collection server. Or maybe one of the tags tells the lights on the toaster to change colors. Whatever is supposed to happen, it's the job of the client to package up the results and send them back to the requester.

Fortunately, Tag Manager handles much of this for you. Server containers come with three clients included: Google Analytics 4, Google Analytics: Universal Analytics, and Measurement Protocol. These clients provide the tools you need to get started instrumenting your application as soon as you've created your container.

A short example

Let's go through a quick example to see how all of the pieces fit together. In this example, you'll create the following:

  1. A simple website that uses gtag.js to send a click event to a server container.
  2. A Google Analytics 4 client that receives the event.
  3. A trigger that fires on a click event.
  4. A Google Analytics 4 tag that sends the event data to Google Analytics for processing.

For this example, we'll assume that you've already created and deployed your server container.

Configure gtag.js

First, configure gtag.js to send the data to your tagging server. With gtag.js, sending data to your tagging server works just like sending data to Google Analytics, with one modification. As in the example page below, set the transport_url config option to point to the tagging server.

<!-- Global site tag (gtag.js) - Google Analytics -->
<script async src="https://www.googletagmanager.com/gtag/js?id=G-EXAMPLE"></script>
<script>
  window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || [];
  function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);}
  gtag('js', new Date());

  gtag('config', 'G-EXAMPLE', {
    transport_url: 'https://analytics.example.com',
  });
</script>

Next, add a sendEvent() function to handle the click events:

<!-- Global site tag (gtag.js) - Google Analytics -->
<script async src="https://www.googletagmanager.com/gtag/js?id=G-EXAMPLE"></script>
<script>
  window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || [];
  function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);}
  gtag('js', new Date());

  gtag('config', 'G-EXAMPLE', {
    transport_url: 'https://analytics.example.com',
  });

  function sendEvent() {
    gtag('event', 'click');
  }
</script>

<button onclick="javascript:sendEvent()">Send Event</button>

With this configuration, event handlers such as the sendEvent() function included in this example will send a click event to your tagging server.

Google Analytics 4 client

Your container needs a client to receive the event once it reaches the server. Fortunately, server containers come with a Google Analytics 4 client pre-installed, so you are already done with this step.

Click trigger

Next, create a trigger that fires on the click event. Create a Custom Trigger that fires when the Event Name built-in variable is equal to "click".

trigger configuration

Google Analytics 4 tag

Finally, attach a GA4 tag to the trigger. As with clients, a server-side tagging container comes with a Google Analytics 4 tag included. Simply create the tag, configure your settings, and now you've wired up your container. GA4 clients and GA4 tags are designed to work together. This means that all you have to do is create a GA4 tag and its configuration will be pulled automatically from the events coming out of the client.

Preview the container

Now that the container is configured, click Preview. Visit your website in a different browser window. As requests and events are sent to your server container, you will see the requests and events listed on the left-hand side of the preview page.

Once you are happy with your changes, publish the server container.

Configure your server for production mode with first-party serving

Before sending any production traffic to your tagging server, we strongly recommend installing the server on your first-party domain and upgrading the server to production mode.