动态提供内容

动态提供内容是一项设置;启用这项设置后,服务器会通过同一网址提供不同的 HTML(和 CSS),具体取决于请求网页的用户代理(移动设备、平板电脑或桌面设备)。

采用这种设置时,网站针对移动设备用户代理对 HTML 进行的更改不会立即生效(当使用桌面设备用户代理进行抓取时,移动设备内容会处于“隐藏”状态),因此,我们建议服务器发送一条提示,以便请求智能手机专用的 Googlebot 也抓取网页,从而发现移动设备内容。此提示是使用 Vary HTTP 标头实现的。

“动态提供内容”设置会通过同一网址向每种设备提供不同的代码。

要点

  • 使用 Vary HTTP 标头根据用户代理表明您所做的更改。
  • 正确检测用户代理字符串。

Vary HTTP 标头

Vary HTTP 标头具有以下两个非常重要且实用的作用:

  • 它会向 ISP 和其他位置使用的缓存服务器表明:在决定是否通过缓存来提供网页时它们应考虑用户代理。如果您没有使用 Vary HTTP 标头,缓存可能会错误地向移动设备用户提供桌面版 HTML 网页的缓存(反之亦然)。
  • 它有助于 Googlebot 更快速地发现针对移动设备进行优化的内容,这是因为我们在抓取提供针对移动设备进行优化的内容的网址时,会将有效的 Vary HTTP 标头作为抓取信号之一。

Vary HTTP 标头是服务器对请求做出的响应的一部分,如下所示:

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Content-Type: text/html
Vary: User-Agent
Content-Length: 5710
(... rest of HTTP response headers...)

Vary HTTP 标头会告知浏览器响应的内容将因请求网页的用户代理而异。如果您的服务器已使用 Vary HTTP 标头,那么您可以向已提供的列表添加 User-Agent

正确检测用户代理

通常,检测用户代理(有时称为用户代理“嗅探”)是一项易于出错的技术。导致出错的原因有很多,但最常见的原因是以下三类故障:

  1. 用户代理检测需要比对用户代理字符串(或子字符串)列表。此类列表需要经常维护和更新,否则不包含新用户代理对应的字符串。事实上,许多此类列表都得不到适当的维护并包含过时内容,从而给用户带来不良的体验。
  2. 在比对用户代理时经常会出现不匹配的情况,系统有时会将桌面设备用户代理检测为移动设备用户代理,或将移动设备用户代理检测为桌面设备用户代理。同样,网站经常误将平板电脑设备视作智能手机。如果您要检测访问您网站的浏览器所使用的用户代理,请确保此项检测搜寻的是智能手机专用的字符串(例如,同时查找字词“Android”和“Mobile”),而不是搜寻通用的移动设备字符串(只查找“Android”一词)。有关详情,请参阅我们的博文

  3. 在检测用户代理时,请格外留意隐藏真实内容的情况。在检测用户代理时,网站会在用户代理字符串中查找设备名称,藉此检测设备类别或类型;网站不应专门查找 Googlebot。所有 Googlebot 用户代理都会将它们自身视作特定的移动设备,因此,您应该完全以对待这些设备的方式对待这些 Googlebot 用户代理。

    如果设置正确,为 Googlebot 等抓取工具预呈现内容便不会被视为隐藏真实内容

Dynamic serving

Dynamic serving is a setup where the server responds with different HTML (and CSS) on the same URL depending on the user agent requesting the page.

As it is not immediately apparent in this setup that the site alters the HTML for mobile user agents (the mobile content is “hidden” when crawled with a desktop user agent), we recommend that the server send a hint to request that Googlebot for smartphones also crawl the page, and thus discover the mobile content. This hint is implemented using the Vary HTTP header.

Dynamic serving serves different code to each device, but on the same URL.

TL;DR

  • Use the Vary HTTP header to signal your changes depending on the user-agent.
  • Detect user-agent strings correctly.

The Vary HTTP Header

The Vary HTTP header has two important and useful implications:

  • It signals to caching servers used in ISPs and elsewhere that they should consider the user agent when deciding whether to serve the page from cache or not. Without the Vary HTTP header, a cache may mistakenly serve mobile users the cache of the desktop HTML page or vice versa.
  • It helps Googlebot discover your mobile-optimized content faster, as a valid Vary HTTP header is one of the signals we may use to crawl URLs that serve mobile-optimized content.

The Vary HTTP header is part of the server’s response to a request, like this:

GET /page-1 HTTP/1.1
Host: www.example.com
(...rest of HTTP request headers...)

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Content-Type: text/html
Vary: User-Agent
Content-Length: 5710
(... rest of HTTP response headers...)

The Vary header tells the browser that the contents of the response will vary depending on the user agent that requests the page. If your server already uses the Vary HTTP header, you can add “User-Agent” to the list that’s already served.

Correctly detecting user-agents

Detecting user-agents (sometimes called user-agent “sniffing”) is generally an error-prone technique. There are many reasons why, but three kinds of failures are common:

  1. User-agent detection depends on having a list of user-agent strings (or substrings) to match against. Such lists need constant maintenance and updating and will not match new user-agents. In reality, many such lists are not maintained appropriately and are stale, giving your users a bad experience.
  2. When matching user-agents, it’s common to mismatch, sometimes detecting a desktop user-agent as a mobile one or detecting a mobile user-agent as a desktop. Likewise, a common mistake for sites is to inadvertently treat tablet devices as smartphones. If you are detecting the user-agent of browsers accessing your site, be sure the detection looks for smartphone-specific strings (such as checking for both the words “Android” and “Mobile”) as opposed to generic mobile strings (checking for just “Android”). Learn more in our blog post.

  3. Be very careful of cloaking when detecting user-agents. When detecting the user-agent, the site is detecting the device class or type by looking for the device name in the user-agent string; it should not be looking specifically for Googlebot. All Googlebot user-agents identify themselves as specific mobile devices, and you should treat these Googlebot user-agents exactly like you would treat these devices. For example, Googlebot for smartphones identifies itself as an iPhone and you should serve it the same response an iPhone user would get (redirect, optimized content, etc).

Send feedback about...