Versions

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

A version is a static copy of a script. Versions let you keep track of your changes. Once you save a version, you can't modify it. Use versions when you're working on a script that goes through many changes and iterations.

Creating versions is required when you're writing a library. For more information, see Libraries.

Create a version

New editor

A version is automatically created when you create a new deployment. You can also create a new version from an existing deployment by taking the following steps:

  1. Open your script project.
  2. At the top, click Deploy > Manage deployments.
  3. Select the active deployment to create a new version for and click Edit .
  4. In the Version section, select New version.
  5. Click Deploy.

Legacy editor

Open the script that you are working on and follow the steps below to save a version of it:

  1. Select File > Manage Versions...
  2. Provide a description for the version and then click Save New Version to save the current script as a new version.
  3. Once the version is saved, it shows up at the top of the list of versions right below the description box.

Delete a version

You must use the legacy editor to delete a version. At the top-right of the editor, click Use classic editor then take the following steps:

  1. Select File > Manage Versions...
  2. Click X to the right of a version to permanently delete it.