樂天在 Google 上推出食譜搜尋服務,讓網站停留時間增加為 1.5 倍

挑戰

樂天是日本一大 IT 企業,提供電子商務、金融科技及會員方案等 70 餘種服務。「樂天食譜」(Rakuten Recipe) 讓所有在家烹飪的大廚都能透過網站、內建應用程式及 Google 助理,分享自己的私房食譜及菜單。這個平台於 2010 年推出,至今已有超過 1,400 萬名每月活躍使用者,以及大約 150 萬道料理的食譜及菜單。「樂天食譜」的小組經理 Yuki Uchida 表示:「我們致力於提供優質的使用者體驗,希望讓使用者藉由學習他人的食譜,感受親自下廚的興奮及樂趣。」

「樂天食譜」於 2012 年開始使用結構化資料;兩年後,他們拓展了可用的結構化資料類別數量,以便為使用者精確比對感興趣的食譜。2017 年,「樂天食譜」開始與 Google 搜尋合作,希望能讓他們使用的結構化資料發揮更高成效。

解決方法

樂天確認新搜尋服務成效的其中一個方法是透過 Search Console。這家公司在兩週內就透過內容管理系統 (CMS) 輕鬆實作了結構化資料,而且在使用複合式資訊卡報告修正複合式搜尋結果相關錯誤前,早已開始使用 Accelerated Mobile Pages (AMP)。這份報告也會顯示還可以在哪裡提供更多資訊,以便將 Google 複合式搜尋結果平台的優點發揮得淋漓盡致。Uchida 表示:「我們選擇在推出複合式資訊卡報告的當天提供所有可用食譜,也就是在推出第一天便提供完整內容。」

他們也使用結構化資料測試工具驗證程式碼及修正標記資料中的錯誤。Uchida 說:「結構化資料測試工具對我們來說是非常實用的產品,尤其是在 AMP 網頁上出現結構化資料標記相關錯誤時,這項工具會在偵測到問題後自動傳送電子郵件通知我們。」

結果

在 Google 搜尋上實作結構化資料後,這間 IT 巨頭很快就看到成效進展。從搜尋引擎流向所有「樂天食譜」網頁的流量激增為 2.7 倍,且平均工作階段持續時間增長為以往的 1.5 倍。Uchida 表示這些改進措施可協助使用者「找到更多符合搜尋條件的食譜,也願意花更多時間按照我們平台上的食譜做料理,享受烹飪樂趣。」

樂天未來的展望是進一步拓展比對食譜的功能,希望不只是透過搜尋,還能藉由語音導引為使用者尋找符合需求的食譜。Uchida 表示,他們的目標是「在各裝置及應用程式之間提供流暢的使用體驗,同時繼續鼓勵使用者尋找優質烹飪食譜,享受親手做出美味料理的樂趣。」

Rakuten increases time on site 1.5x with the recipe search experience on Google

Challenge

One of the largest IT companies in Japan, Rakuten provides over 70 services, including e-commerce, FinTech, and loyalty programs. Rakuten Recipe lets home chefs post and share their own recipes and menus on a website, a native app, and the Google Assistant. Launched in 2010, the platform has over 14 million active monthly users who enjoy access to about 1.5 million recipes and menus. "We try to provide a good user experience, as well as the excitement and enjoyment of cooking through learning from others," says Rakuten Recipe group manager Yuki Uchida.

Rakuten Recipe began using structured data in 2012. Two years later, they expanded the number of available structured data categories to precisely match people with the recipes that would most interest them. They collaborated with Google Search in 2017 to make their structured data even more useful.

Solution

One way Rakuten checked the efficiency of their new search experience was by using Search Console. The company easily implemented the structured data through their content management system (CMS) within two weeks. Rakuten was already using Accelerated Mobile Pages (AMP) when they started using the report, which helps fix errors in any rich result. The report also shows where you can provide more information to take fuller advantage of Google's rich result platform. "We elected to have all of the recipes we have available the same day as the Rich Cards report was released—full on at the first release," Uchida says.

The Structured Data Testing Tool (SDTT) also helped them to validate their code and eliminate any errors in the markup data. "The SDTT is a very useful product for us, especially if there are SD-markup-related errors on our AMP pages," Uchida explains. "It will automatically send us an email if there's a problem."

Result

The IT giant quickly saw better performance from their structured data in Google Search. Traffic to all Rakuten Recipe pages from search engines soared 2.7 times, and the average session duration was now 1.5 times longer than before. These improvements help users "match with more recipes, and spend more time enjoying and cooking the recipes we have," Uchida says.

Looking ahead, Rakuten is considering expanding their abilities to match users with recipes, not only through search, but through voice guidance as well. The goal, Uchida adds, is "a seamless experience across devices and applications, while still allowing users to experience the enjoyment and motivation of finding and cooking great recipes."

Send feedback about...