The photos space will sunset in early January 2018. Your users can continue to access Google Photos via the drive space by enabling the Google Photos folder in My Drive in the Drive client settings

Files: delete

Requires authorization

Permanently deletes a file owned by the user without moving it to the trash. If the file belongs to a Team Drive the user must be an organizer on the parent. If the target is a folder, all descendants owned by the user are also deleted. Try it now.

Request

HTTP request

DELETE https://www.googleapis.com/drive/v3/files/fileId

Parameters

Parameter name Value Description
Path parameters
fileId string The ID of the file.
Optional query parameters
supportsTeamDrives boolean Whether the requesting application supports Team Drives. (Default: false)

Authorization

This request requires authorization with at least one of the following scopes (read more about authentication and authorization).

Scope
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/drive
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/drive.file
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/drive.appdata

Request body

Do not supply a request body with this method.

Response

If successful, this method returns an empty response body.

Try it!

Use the APIs Explorer below to call this method on live data and see the response.

Send feedback about...

Drive REST API
Drive REST API