Chrome 协助测试

为了针对弃用第三方 Cookie 做好准备,我们将提供 Chrome 协助测试模式,让网站可以预览在没有第三方 Cookie 的情况下网站行为和功能的运作方式。本指南简要介绍了 Chrome 计划提供的测试模式,以及如何访问实验组标签。

在此上下文中,Chrome 浏览器指的是 Chrome 客户端:在设备上安装 Chrome。每个用户的数据目录都构成不同的客户端。

实验组:已启用、停用或配置特定功能的一组 Chrome 浏览器。在 Chrome 协助测试环境中,这是一组设置标签的浏览器。

标签:在此上下文中,是为属于实验组的浏览器设置的请求标头值。 在 Chrome 协助测试期间,实验组中的每个浏览器都将归入该组,以确保浏览器的标签在所有测试人员之间保持一致。

我们提供了两种不同的模式:

  • 模式 A:从 2023 年 11 月起,测试 PS R&M API 的组织已经能够选择在一部分 Chrome 浏览器中接收一致的标签,以便不同测试人员进行协调测试。
  • 模式 B:从 2024 年 1 月 4 日起,Chrome 会为部分 Chrome 浏览器全面停用第三方 Cookie。

这两种模式将至少持续到 2024 年第 2 季度。如果第三方 Cookie 在模式 B 下被停用,则这些 Cookie 将保持停用状态,直到逐步完全停用第三方 Cookie。

我们已与 CMA 合作,确保这些测试模式符合其行业测试指南中所述的第三方测试框架(和时间表)。因此,CMA 预计,在评估 Privacy Sandbox 时,可以在这些模式下测试的结果用于评估。CMA 表明,他们可能会更重视实验性设计 2 的结果,该设计使用模式 B 标签和模式 A 的对照组 1 标签。如需详细了解实验性设计 2,请参阅 CMA 10 月 26 日发布的指南

我们还将通过常规的 Blink 开发流程发送此提案,届时技术设计和 Chrome 版本里程碑将最终确定。虽然这是我们希望发布的实现,但经过额外的讨论和批准,这些细节仍有可能更改。随着计划的进展,我们会持续更新此页面,并且您可以继续提供反馈或问题

模式 A:已加标签的浏览器组

参与测试的组织将能够选择接收一部分 Chrome 浏览器的永久性标签集,从而在同一组浏览器上跨不同广告技术平台进行协调实验。例如,如果浏览器属于 label_only_3 实验组(如下表所示),则所有参与的广告技术平台都将能看到相同的 label_only_3 标签,并相应地进行协调:请使用 PS R&M API,但避免使用第三方 Cookie。我们希望页面的参与者能够确保将标签转发给其他参与者,从而在整个广告选择和衡量流程中实现一致的实验。

例如,这样可让多个参与者在一组一致的浏览器中无需第三方 Cookie 即可运行 Protected Audience 竞价。竞价卖方参与者会将观察到的标签转发给买方,以便协调测试。

这些标签不会影响此类 Chrome 中的任何功能,包括第三方 Cookie 的可用性。这些标签用于为独立、协调的实验提供分组,但对于实验来说,是否执行相关参数则取决于参与方。如果您要测试移除第三方 Cookie 的效果,则每个参与者都有责任针对带有该标签的浏览器排除第三方 Cookie 数据。

我们的目标是创建可代表常规 Chrome 流量的群组。这意味着第三方 Cookie 和 PS R&M API 应该都可用,不过某些用户可能已通过设置或扩展程序更改或停用了功能。

标签通常在 Chrome 的整个浏览会话和会话之间保持不变。但是,这无法保证,因为在极少数情况下,完全重置浏览器也可能会重置当前标签。

我们计划在模式 A 中覆盖 8.5% 的 Chrome 稳定版浏览器,我们的初始方案将这一比例划分为 9 组。较小的子组旨在让广告技术平台能够灵活地组合标签,以创建他们自己的不同规模的实验。组不会重叠。

请注意,control_1.* 标签旨在用作“对照组 1”,如 CMA 的行业测试指南中所述,因此测试参与者不应使用 Topics API,也不应针对此类流量运行 Protected Audience 竞价。由于标签不会影响功能,因此在检测到 control_1.* 群组标签时,参与者不应传递观察到的主题或进行 Protected Audience 竞价。

我们欢迎您就这些精选群组是否符合相关组织的需求提供反馈

标签 稳定流量占比
control_1.1 0.25
control_1.2 0.25
control_1.3 0.25
control_1.4 0.25
label_only_1 1.5
label_only_2 1.5
label_only_3 1.5
label_only_4 1.5
label_only_5 1.5

模式 A label_only_ 浏览器组已于 2023 年 11 月推出,模式 A control_1_* 组自 2024 年 1 月 4 日起提供。在第三方 Cookie 于 2024 年第 3 季度逐步淘汰之前,我们将继续发送所有模式 A 和模式 B 标签。

模式 B:停用 1% 的第三方 Cookie

自 2024 年 1 月 4 日起,Chrome 为大约 1% 的 Chrome 稳定版浏览器停用了第三方 Cookie(2023 年第 4 季度起,开发者版浏览器、Canary 版浏览器和 Beta 版浏览器也停用了第三方 Cookie)。测试 PS R&M API 的组织无需选择启用此模式,因为它将统一应用于整个浏览器群体。当然,如果网站尚未采用 CHIPSRelated Website Set 等替代解决方案,某些网站功能可能会受到影响。

此外,我们计划在已停用 PS R&M API 的模式 B 中提供一小部分流量。但 Related Website Set、CHIPS 和 FedCM 等其他 API 不会被停用。我们预计,这种组合将有助于为没有第三方 Cookie 和 PS R&M API 的浏览器建立性能基准。

在模式 B 中,我们还会为受影响的浏览器提供标签。这些标签会在 API 停用的同时可用。我们建议将用户划分为三个已停用第三方 Cookie 但 PS R&M API 可用的 treatment_1.* 组和一个已停用第三方 Cookie 和 PS R&M API 的 control_2 组。

为了协助调试 Attribution Reporting API 和 Private Aggregation API 的集成以及帮助测试参与者更好地了解噪声影响,只要用户未明确屏蔽第三方 Cookie,处于模式 B 的浏览器就仍可使用 ARA 调试报告不公开汇总调试报告control_2 中不提供调试报告,因为该 Slice 中不提供 PS R&M API。调试报告将与逐步淘汰第三方 Cookie 一同逐步淘汰。

模式 A 继续运行,并且这些组与模式 A 组不同,因为用户要么处于模式 A 或模式 B,要么两者都不处于。测试参与者应使用 control_1.* 流量作为代表使用第三方 Cookie 现状的对照组。

标签 稳定流量占比
treatment_1.1 0.25
treatment_1.2 0.25
treatment_1.3 0.25
control_2 0.25

Chrome 还限制了 20% 的 Chrome Canary 版、开发者版和 Beta 版客户端的 Cookie。

标签 使用稳定前的流量占比
prestable_treatment_1 10%
prestable_control_2 10%

将其中一个实验组纳入该实验组的效果与将其与稳定版本对应的实验组纳入效果相同。

与模式 A 一样,我们无法保证 PS R&M API 可用,因为用户可在 Chrome 的隐私设置和安全性设置中将其停用。同样,我们也不保证为 control_2 群组的每个成员都停用第三方 Cookie,因为用户可能通过访问浏览器界面来允许网站使用第三方 Cookie。

实验监控

请务必监控每个实验组和对照组标签的相对流量。treatment_1.1 获得的流量应该与 treatment_1.2treatment_1.3 大致相同。

投放前时段标签

在 2024 年 1 月之前,我们针对多个实验组运行了前期实验:在这段时间内,Chrome 可以准确地调整规模并选择在统计上无偏差的组。针对安排在 1 月份开始的所有实验组,都会运行以下预期:模式 B 实验组和 Control_1.* 实验组。这种情况下,开发者或网站无需采取任何行动 - 这些投放前期的实验组在行为或 API 可用性方面不会出现任何变化,但请注意,您可能会看到在某些情况下返回 preperiod 标签。虽然收到 preperiod 标签的浏览器可能会过渡到某个实验组,但无法保证一定能完成,因此建议不要假定带有此标签的浏览器一定会参与实验。

实验组是研究对象的一部分:在本例中,为其中一个加标签的组。

在模式 A 和模式 B 运行期间,我们将引入一个可通过选择启用 HTTP 标头和 JavaScript API 访问的临时 Cookie-Deprecation 值,如果属于一个模式,它将为浏览器的适用模式 A 或模式 B 实验组(如上述百分比所定义)提供标签。实验结束后,我们会移除此值。

访问标签涉及访问用户设备上存储的信息。在某些管辖区(例如欧盟和英国),我们理解此类活动与使用 Cookie 类似,因此访问标签可能需要获得最终用户的同意。在开始请求添加标签之前,我们建议您先咨询法律建议,了解这项用户意见征求义务是否适用于您。

若要接收 Sec-Cookie-Deprecation 请求标头,网站必须先设置 receive-cookie-deprecation Cookie。此 Cookie 必须使用 Partitioned 属性,这意味着必须按顶级网站选择接收标头。

例如,如果 3p-example.site 希望在其嵌入 example.com 上的资源中接收 Sec-Cookie-Deprecation 标头,则 3p-example.site 必须在该上下文中设置以下 Cookie。

Set-Cookie: receive-cookie-deprecation=1; Secure; HttpOnly; Path=/; SameSite=None; Partitioned;  Max-Age=15552000

SecureHttpOnlySameSitePartitioned Cookie 属性是必需的。DomainPathExpiresMax-Age 等其他属性可以根据需要进行设置,不过 Path=/ 是一个不错的默认值。此处的示例设置了 Max-Age=15552000,因此 Cookie 的有效期为 180 天。

您可能需要在 Chrome 协助测试期开始之前就开始设置 receive-cookie-deprecation=1 Cookie,以确保实验组中的浏览器在 Sec-Cookie-Deprecation 请求标头可用时尽快添加该标头。

例如,假设浏览器位于 example_label_1 组中,包含此 Cookie 的后续请求也将包含 Sec-Cookie-Deprecation 标头。

Sec-Cookie-Deprecation: example_label_1

如果浏览器不属于任何组,则不会发送任何标头。标签与 Cookie 的存在相关联,因此,如果为特定网站删除、完全屏蔽或屏蔽 Cookie,系统将不会发送标签。由于 Partitioned 属性应在第三方 Cookie 被完全弃用后继续使用,因此系统可能会在屏蔽第三方 Cookie 时设置 Partitioned Cookie。

访问 cookieDeprecationLabel JavaScript API

您还可以通过 navigator.cookieDeprecationLabel.getValue() JavaScript API 访问 Cookie-Deprecation 值。这将返回一个 promise,它可以解析为包含适用组标签的字符串。例如,如果浏览器位于 example_label_1 组中:

// Feature detect temporary API first
if ('cookieDeprecationLabel' in navigator) {
 // Request value and resolve promise
 navigator.cookieDeprecationLabel.getValue().then((label) => {
   console.log(label);
   // Expected output: "example_label_1"
 });
}

如果浏览器不属于某个组,则 API 将不可用或相应值将为空字符串,因此请务必执行功能检测。

无论是否存在 receive-cookie-deprecation Cookie,都可以调用 JavaScript API。不过,如果完全或专门针对网站屏蔽 Cookie,API 将再次不可用或返回一个空字符串。

与客户端提供的任何值一样,请务必在使用之前清理并验证标头或 JavaScript API 中的值。

演示和测试

从 Chrome 120 开始,有一些标志可用于启用请求和读取标签的本地开发者测试。

chrome://flags/#tpc-phase-out-facilitated-testing 标志可让您启用一系列测试标签。这些标签带有 fake_ 前缀,以便与真实标签区分开来。启用此标志不会让浏览器加入任何实验组。

您可以通过 goo.gle/cft-demo 查看标签的实际效果。

由于 Privacy Sandbox 相关性和效果衡量 API 的注册会强制执行,因此您可能需要使用 chrome://flags/#privacy-sandbox-enrollment-overrides 并提供演示来源来覆盖本地测试的强制执行情况。或者,如果您从终端运行 Chrome,请添加以下命令行标志:--args --disable-features=EnforcePrivacySandboxAttestations

chrome://flags/#tpc-phase-out-facilitated-testing

标志下拉菜单包含多个选项。测试人员主要对标记为“强制”的条目感兴趣,因为这些条目可确保无论其他设备配置如何,实验行为都会启用。

若要仅测试实验组标签,请选择“已启用强制对照组 1”或“已启用 Force LabelOnly”。这会导致浏览器发送“fake_control_1.1”或“fake_label_only_1.1”标签。

在 Chrome M120 或更高版本中,您还可以使用以下条目。

若要测试第三方 Cookie 拦截功能,请选择“已启用强制处理”。这将发送“fake_treatment_1.1”实验组标签,但也会修改 Cookie 设置页面和当前 Cookie 设置,以屏蔽第三方 Cookie。

如需在不使用私享广告 API 的情况下测试第三方 Cookie 屏蔽,请选择“Force Control 2”。这样将会发送“fake_control_2”实验组标签、更新 Cookie 设置页面、屏蔽第三方 Cookie,并且还会禁用新的私享广告 API。

请注意,目前存在的一个问题是,即使您停用该标志,浏览器仍会使用新版 Cookie 设置页面和屏蔽第三方 Cookie 的设置。我们正在努力解决此问题,在此期间,您可以使用 --user-data-dir=<new dir> 命令行 flag 启动 Chrome,在单独的 Chrome 数据目录中测试这些 flag 值。

反馈

我们使用 GitHub 上的开发者支持代码库中的“chrome-testing”标签来管理问题。我们欢迎您就以下初始问题提供反馈和讨论:

您还可以使用“Chrome 协助测试”模板在代码库中提出新问题或讨论

Chrome-facilitated testing

To prepare for third-party cookie deprecation, we will be providing Chrome-facilitated testing modes that allow sites to preview how site behavior and functionality work without third-party cookies. This guide provides an overview of the testing modes Chrome plans to provide and how to access experiment group labels.

Chrome browser in this context refers to a Chrome client: a Chrome installation on a device. Each individual user data directory constitutes a distinct client.

Experiment group: a set of Chrome browsers for which certain features are enabled, disabled or configured. In the context of Chrome-facilitated testing, a set of browsers for which labels are set.

Label: in this context, a request header value that is set for a browser which belongs to an experiment group. Each browser in an experiment group will remain in that group throughout the period of Chrome-facilitated testing, ensuring that the label for a browser remains consistent across testers.

We have offered two distinct modes:

  • Mode A: From November 2023, organizations testing the PS R&M APIs have been able to opt in to receive consistent labels on a subset of Chrome browsers to allow for coordinated testing across different testers.
  • Mode B: Starting from January 4th, 2024, Chrome globally disabled third-party cookies for a portion of Chrome browsers.

Both modes will continue until at least Q2 2024. Where third-party cookies are disabled in Mode B, they will remain disabled through the full phase out of third-party cookies.

We have worked with the CMA to ensure that these testing modes align with the testing framework (and timeline) for third parties as laid out in its guidance on industry testing. As a result, the CMA anticipates that the results from testing in these modes can be used in its assessment of the Privacy Sandbox. The CMA has indicated they are likely to put more weight on results from Experimental Design 2, which uses the Mode B labels and the Mode A control 1 labels. See the CMA's October 26 guidance for further information on Experimental Design 2.

We will also be sending this proposal through the usual Blink development process, where the technical design and the Chrome release milestone will be finalized. While this is the implementation we would like to ship, additional discussion and approval means these details are still subject to change. We will continue to update this page as the plans progress, and you can continue to provide feedback or questions.

Mode A: Labeled browser groups

Organizations participating in testing will be able to opt in to receiving a persistent set of labels for a subset of Chrome browsers, allowing for coordinated experiments across different ad techs on the same set of browsers. For example, if a browser falls into the label_only_3 experiment group (as shown in the following table) then all participating ad techs will be able to see the same label_only_3 label and coordinate accordingly: use the PS R&M APIs, but refrain from using third-party cookies. We expect participants in the page to ensure labels are forwarded to other participants to allow for consistent experimentation across the entire process of ad selection and measurement.

For example, this allows multiple participants to run Protected Audience auctions without third-party cookies across a consistent group of browsers. The auction seller participants would forward the observed label to buyers to facilitate coordinated testing.

The labels do not affect any functionality in those instances of Chrome, including the availability of third-party cookies. The labels provide the grouping for independent, coordinated experiments, but it's down to the participating parties to enforce the relevant parameters for the experiment. If you're testing the effect of removing third-party cookies, then each participant is responsible for excluding third-party cookie data for browsers with that label.

The aim is to have groups that are representative of normal Chrome traffic. That means both third-party cookies and the PS R&M APIs should be available, though some portion of users may have changed or disabled functionality via settings or extensions.

Labels will generally be persistent throughout a browsing session in Chrome, and across sessions. However, this is not guaranteed, as there are rare scenarios where entirely resetting a browser may also reset the current label.

We are planning to include 8.5% of Chrome Stable browsers for Mode A, and our initial proposal divides that population into nine groups. The smaller subgroups are intended to allow ad techs flexibility in combining labels to create their own experiments of varying sizes. Groups do not overlap.

Note that the control_1.* labels are intended to be used as "Control 1" as outlined in the CMA's guidance on industry testing, so testing participants should not use Topics API or run Protected Audiences auctions for this traffic. As the labels do not affect functionality, participants should not pass observed topics or run Protected Audience auctions when they detect the control_1.* group labels.

We welcome feedback as to whether this selection of groups meets the needs of participating organizations.

Label % of Stable traffic
control_1.1 0.25
control_1.2 0.25
control_1.3 0.25
control_1.4 0.25
label_only_1 1.5
label_only_2 1.5
label_only_3 1.5
label_only_4 1.5
label_only_5 1.5

Mode A label_only_ browser groups have been available since November 2023, and Mode A control_1_* groups were made available starting from January 4th, 2024. We will continue sending all Mode A and Mode B labels until third-party cookie phase-out in Q3 2024.

Mode B: Disable 1% of third-party cookies

Chrome disabled third-party cookies for approximately 1% of Chrome Stable browsers from January 4th, 2024 (and also in Dev, Canary, and Beta browsers during Q4 2023). Organizations testing the PS R&M APIs do not need to opt in for this mode, as it will be applied uniformly across the entire browser population. There is, of course, the possibility that some site features may be impacted if the site hasn't yet adopted an alternative solution, such as CHIPS or Related Website Sets.

Additionally, we plan to provide a small fraction of traffic within Mode B that has PS R&M APIs disabled. Other APIs, such as Related Website Sets, CHIPS, and FedCM, will not be disabled. We anticipate that this combination will be helpful to establish a baseline of performance for browsers without third-party cookies and without the PS R&M APIs.

As part of Mode B we will also provide labels for the affected browsers. The labels will be available at the same time as the APIs are disabled. We're proposing to divide the population into three treatment_1.* groups where third-party cookies are disabled, but PS R&M APIs are available, and one control_2 group where both third-party cookies and the PS R&M APIs are disabled.

To assist with debugging the Attribution Reporting API and Private Aggregation API integrations and to help testing participants better understand the noise impact, ARA debug reports and Private Aggregation debug reports will still be available for browsers in Mode B, as long as the user has not explicitly blocked third-party cookies. Debug reports won't be available in control_2, since PS R&M APIs aren't available in that slice. Debug reports will still be phased out along with third-party cookie phase out.

  • For Attribution Reporting API, since third-party cookies are disabled, the reporting origin won't be able to set the ar_debug cookie and should rely on setting the debug_key fields (for attribution-success reports) and the debug_reporting fields (for verbose reports) to opt-in or out of receiving debugging reports.
  • For Private Aggregation API, the reporting origin should rely on calling enableDebugMode() to control opt-in of receiving debugging reports. Companies should continue to consider how regulatory obligations may apply to use of Attribution Reporting API and Private Aggregation API, including debug reports.

Mode A continues to run and these groups are distinct from the Mode A groups, as in a user will either be in Mode A, Mode B, or neither. Testing participants should use the control_1.* traffic as a control group representing the status quo with third party cookies.

Label % of Stable traffic
treatment_1.1 0.25
treatment_1.2 0.25
treatment_1.3 0.25
control_2 0.25

Chrome has also restricted cookies for 20% of Chrome Canary, Dev, and Beta clients.

Label % of pre-Stable traffic
prestable_treatment_1 10%
prestable_control_2 10%

Inclusion in one of these experiment arms will have the same effect as for their Stable equivalents.

As with Mode A, the PS R&M APIs are not guaranteed to be available, as users can disable them from the Chrome Privacy and security settings. Likewise, third-party cookies are not guaranteed to be disabled for every member of the control_2 group, since users may access browser UI to allow third-party cookies for a site.

Experiment monitoring

Make sure to monitor the relative traffic volume of each treatment and control label. treatment_1.1 should have about the same amount of traffic as treatment_1.2 and treatment_1.3.

Pre-period labels

Until January 2024, we ran pre-periods for multiple experiment arms: a period of time to allow Chrome to accurately size and select statistically unbiased groups. These pre-periods ran for all arms that were scheduled to start in January: the Mode B arms and the Control_1.* arms. There is no need for developer or site action here—these pre-period arms will not experience any change in behavior or API availability—but you should be aware that you may see a preperiod label returned in some situations. While browsers receiving the preperiod label may transition to one of the experiment groups, this is not guaranteed, so it is recommended not to assume browsers with this label are guaranteed to be in the experiment.

An experiment arm is a subset of the population under study: in this case, one of the labeled groups.

For the duration of Mode A and Mode B we will be introducing a temporary Cookie-Deprecation value accessible via an opt-in HTTP header and JavaScript API, which will provide the label for the browser's applicable Mode A or B experiment group (as defined by the percentages above), if it falls into one.

Accessing labels involves accessing information stored on the user's device. In some jurisdictions (such as the EU and UK), we understand that this activity is analogous to the use of cookies and thus accessing labels likely requires end user consent. Before you begin requesting labels, we recommend that you seek legal advice as to whether this consent obligation applies to you.

To receive the Sec-Cookie-Deprecation request header, a site must first set the receive-cookie-deprecation cookie. This cookie must use the Partitioned attribute, which means that opt-in for receiving the header must be done per top-level site.

For example, if 3p-example.site wants to receive the Sec-Cookie-Deprecation header on its resources embedded on example.com, then 3p-example.site must set the following cookie in that context.

Set-Cookie: receive-cookie-deprecation=1; Secure; HttpOnly; Path=/; SameSite=None; Partitioned;  Max-Age=15552000

The Secure, HttpOnly, SameSite, and Partitioned cookie attributes are mandatory. The other attributes: Domain, Path, Expires, and Max-Age may be set as best suits your needs, though Path=/ is a good default. The example here sets Max-Age=15552000 so that the cookie does not expire until after 180 days.

You may want to begin setting the receive-cookie-deprecation=1 cookie before the Chrome-facilitated testing period begins, to ensure that browsers in an experiment group include the Sec-Cookie-Deprecation request header as soon as it becomes available.

For example, assuming the browser is in the example_label_1 group, subsequent requests that include this cookie will also include the Sec-Cookie-Deprecation header.

Sec-Cookie-Deprecation: example_label_1

If the browser is not part of a group, no header will be sent. Labels are tied to the presence of the cookie, so if the cookie is deleted, blocked entirely, or blocked for the specific site, then labels will not be sent. As the Partitioned attribute is intended for continued use after third-party cookies are fully deprecated, this means Partitioned cookies may be set when third-party cookies are blocked.

Access the cookieDeprecationLabel JavaScript API

The Cookie-Deprecation value can also be accessed via the navigator.cookieDeprecationLabel.getValue() JavaScript API. This will return a promise which resolves to a string containing the applicable group label. For example, if the browser was in the example_label_1 group:

// Feature detect temporary API first
if ('cookieDeprecationLabel' in navigator) {
 // Request value and resolve promise
 navigator.cookieDeprecationLabel.getValue().then((label) => {
   console.log(label);
   // Expected output: "example_label_1"
 });
}

If the browser is not part of a group, the API will either not be available or the value will be an empty string, so ensure you do feature detection.

The JavaScript API may be called regardless of the presence of the receive-cookie-deprecation cookie. However, if cookies are blocked completely or specifically for the site, the API will again either not be available or return an empty string.

As with any client-provided value, ensure that you sanitize and validate the value from the header or the JavaScript API before use.

Demo and testing

From Chrome 120 onwards, there are flags available to enable local developer testing of requesting and reading the labels.

The chrome://flags/#tpc-phase-out-facilitated-testing flag allows you to enable a selection of test labels. These labels are prefixed with fake_ to differentiate them from the real labels. Enabling the flag does not opt the browser into any of the experimental groups.

You can see the labels in action via goo.gle/cft-demo.

As enrollment is enforced for the Privacy Sandbox relevance and measurement APIs, you may need to override enforcement for local testing by using chrome://flags/#privacy-sandbox-enrollment-overrides and supplying the demo origin. Alternatively, include the following command-line flag if you are running Chrome from a terminal: --args --disable-features=EnforcePrivacySandboxAttestations

chrome://flags/#tpc-phase-out-facilitated-testing

The flag drop-down includes multiple options. Testers will be primarily interested in the entries marked "Force" as these ensure that the experiment behavior is enabled regardless of other device configurations.

To test only experiment group labels, select "Enabled Force Control 1" or "Enabled Force LabelOnly". These will result in the browser sending the "fake_control_1.1" or "fake_label_only_1.1" labels.

In Chrome M120 or later you may also use the following entries.

To test third-party cookie blocking, select "Enabled Force Treatment". This will send the "fake_treatment_1.1" experiment group label, but also modify the cookie settings page and current cookie setting to block third-party cookies.

To test third-party cookie blocking without private ads APIs, select "Force Control 2". This will send the "fake_control_2" experiment group label, update the cookie settings page, block third-party cookies, and also suppress the new private ads APIs.

Note, there is currently an issue where the browser will remain with the new cookie setting page and setting that blocks third-party cookies even if you disable the flag. We are working to fix this problem, but in the meantime you can test these flag values in a separate Chrome data directory by launching Chrome with the --user-data-dir=<new dir> command line flag.

Feedback

We use the "chrome-testing" label in the developer support repo on GitHub to manage questions. We welcome your feedback and discussion on the initial questions:

You can also raise new questions or discussions in the repo using the "Chrome-facilitated testing" template.