Whenever the driver's device loses its data connection, the Driver app loses some of its functionality. However, in some cases, the Driver app retains enough functionality to let the driver complete the current trip.
When the driver's device loses its data connection, the Driver app loses the ability to create a new route or reroute. This means the driver can complete a trip only if their device received the complete generated route from the Navigation SDK before losing the data connection.
In addition to losing the ability to create routes, the Driver app also loses the ability to send tracking telemetry back to Fleet Engine.
- This effectively disables the Trip and Order Progress capability.
- It also affects billing. That is, the driver can't bill for a completed trip until they re-establish the data connection.