验证 (Validation):另一个划分

上一单元介绍了如何将数据集划分为训练集和测试集。借助这种划分,您可以对一个样本集进行训练,然后使用不同的样本集测试模型。采用两种分类之后,工作流程可能如下所示:

包含三个阶段的工作流程图。1. 使用训练集训练模型。2. 使用测试集评估模型。3. 根据在测试集上获得的效果调整模型。对阶段 1、2 和 3 进行迭代,最终选择在测试集上获得最佳效果的模型。

图 1. 可能的工作流程?

在图中,“调整模型”指的是调整您可以想到的关于模型的任何方面,从更改学习速率、添加或移除特征,到从头开始设计全新模型。该工作流程结束时,您可以选择在测试集上获得最佳效果的模型。

将数据集划分为两个子集是个不错的想法,但不是万能良方。通过将数据集划分为三个子集(如下图所示),您可以大幅降低过拟合的发生几率:

水平条分为三段:70% 属于训练集,15% 属于验证集,15% 属于测试集

图 2. 将单个数据集划分为三个子集。

使用验证集评估训练集的效果。然后,在模型“通过”验证集之后,使用测试集再次检查评估结果。下图展示了这一新工作流程:

与图 2 类似的工作流程,不同之处在于该工作流程使用验证集而不是测试集来评估模型。然后,在训练集和验证集大致达成一致后,使用测试集确认模型效果。

图 3. 更好的工作流程。

在这一经过改进的工作流程中:

  1. 选择在验证集上获得最佳效果的模型。
  2. 使用测试集再次检查该模型。

该工作流程之所以更好,原因在于它暴露给测试集的信息更少。

Validation: Another Partition

The previous module introduced partitioning a data set into a training set and a test set. This partitioning enabled you to train on one set of examples and then to test the model against a different set of examples. With two partitions, the workflow could look as follows:

A workflow diagram consisting of three stages. 1. Train model on training set. 2. Evaluate model on test set. 3. Tweak model according to results on test set. Iterate on 1, 2, and 3, ultimately picking the model that does best on the test set.

Figure 1. A possible workflow?

In the figure, "Tweak model" means adjusting anything about the model you can dream up—from changing the learning rate, to adding or removing features, to designing a completely new model from scratch. At the end of this workflow, you pick the model that does best on the test set.

Dividing the data set into two sets is a good idea, but not a panacea. You can greatly reduce your chances of overfitting by partitioning the data set into the three subsets shown in the following figure:

A horizontal bar divided into three pieces: 70% of which is the training set, 15% the validation set, and 15% the test set

Figure 2. Slicing a single data set into three subsets.

Use the validation set to evaluate results from the training set. Then, use the test set to double-check your evaluation after the model has "passed" the validation set. The following figure shows this new workflow:

Similar workflow to Figure 1, except that instead of evaluating the model against the test set, the workflow evaluates the model against the validation set. Then, once the training set and validation set more-or-less agree, confirm the model against the test set.

Figure 3. A better workflow.

In this improved workflow:

  1. Pick the model that does best on the validation set.
  2. Double-check that model against the test set.

This is a better workflow because it creates fewer exposures to the test set.

Send feedback about...

Machine Learning Crash Course