泛化 (Generalization):过拟合的风险

本单元将重点介绍泛化。为了让您直观地理解这一概念,我们将展示 3 张图。假设这些图中的每个点代表一棵树在森林中的位置。图中的两种颜色分别代表以下含义:

  • 蓝点代表生病的树。
  • 橙点代表健康的树。

接下来,我们来看看图 1。

该图包含约 50 个点,其中一半为蓝点,另一半为橙点。橙点主要位于西南象限,但一些橙点零星落入其他三个象限。蓝点主要位于东北象限,但一些蓝点扩散到了其他象限。

图 1. 生病(蓝色)和健康(橙色)的树。

您能设想出一个有效的模型来预测以后的生病或健康的树吗?花点时间在脑海里绘制一条弧线将蓝点与橙点分开,或者在脑海中圈住一些橙点或蓝点。然后再看看图 2,它显示某种机器学习模型如何将生病的树与健康的树区分开。请注意,该模型产生的损失非常低。

 

损失很低,但仍然是糟糕的模型?

图 3 显示我们向该模型中添加了新数据后所发生的情况。结果表明,该模型在处理新数据方面表现非常糟糕。请注意,该模型对大部分新数据的分类都不正确。

除了增加了大约 100 个点之外,其余与图 2 相同。许多新点落在预测模型之外。

图 3. 该模型在预测新数据方面表现非常糟糕。

图 2 和图 3 所示的模型过拟合了训练数据的特性。过拟合模型在训练过程中产生的损失很低,但在预测新数据方面的表现却非常糟糕。如果某个模型在拟合当前样本方面表现良好,那么我们如何相信该模型会对新数据做出良好的预测呢?正如您稍后将看到的,过拟合是由于模型的复杂程度超出所需程度而造成的。机器学习的基本冲突是适当拟合我们的数据,但也要尽可能简单地拟合数据。

机器学习的目标是对从真实概率分布(已隐藏)中抽取的新数据做出良好预测。遗憾的是,模型无法查看整体情况;模型只能从训练数据集中取样。如果某个模型在拟合当前样本方面表现良好,那么您如何相信该模型也会对从未见过的样本做出良好预测呢?

奥卡姆的威廉是 14 世纪一位崇尚简单的修士和哲学家。他认为科学家应该优先采用更简单(而非更复杂)的公式或理论。奥卡姆剃刀定律在机器学习方面的运用如下:

机器学习模型越简单,良好的实证结果就越有可能不仅仅基于样本的特性。

现今,我们已将奥卡姆剃刀定律正式应用于统计学习理论计算学习理论领域。这些领域已经形成了泛化边界,即统计化描述模型根据以下因素泛化到新数据的能力:

  • 模型的复杂程度
  • 模型在处理训练数据方面的表现

虽然理论分析在理想化假设下可提供正式保证,但在实践中却很难应用。机器学习速成课程则侧重于实证评估,以评判模型泛化到新数据的能力。

机器学习模型旨在根据以前未见过的新数据做出良好预测。但是,如果您要根据数据集构建模型,如何获得以前未见过的数据呢?一种方法是将您的数据集分成两个子集:

  • 训练集 - 用于训练模型的子集。
  • 测试集 - 用于测试模型的子集。

一般来说,在测试集上表现是否良好是衡量能否在新数据上表现良好的有用指标,前提是:

  • 测试集足够大。
  • 您不会反复使用相同的测试集来作假。

机器学习细则

以下三项基本假设阐明了泛化:

  • 我们从分布中随机抽取独立同分布 (i.i.d) 的样本。换言之,样本之间不会互相影响。(另一种解释:i.i.d. 是表示变量随机性的一种方式)。
  • 分布是平稳的;即分布在数据集内不会发生变化。
  • 我们从同一分布的数据划分中抽取样本。

在实践中,我们有时会违背这些假设。例如:

  • 想象有一个选择要展示的广告的模型。如果该模型在某种程度上根据用户以前看过的广告选择广告,则会违背 i.i.d. 假设。
  • 想象有一个包含一年零售信息的数据集。用户的购买行为会出现季节性变化,这会违反平稳性。

如果违背了上述三项基本假设中的任何一项,那么我们就必须密切注意指标。

Generalization: Peril of Overfitting

This module focuses on generalization. In order to develop some intuition about this concept, you're going to look at three figures. Assume that each dot in these figures represents a tree's position in a forest. The two colors have the following meanings:

  • The blue dots represent sick trees.
  • The orange dots represent healthy trees.

With that in mind, take a look at Figure 1.

This figure contains about 50 dots, half of which are blue and the other half orange. The orange dots are mainly in the southwest quadrant, though a few orange dots sneak briefly into the other three quadrants. The blue dots are mainly in the northeast quadrant, but a few of the blue dots spill into other quadrants.

Figure 1. Sick (blue) and healthy (orange) trees.

Can you imagine a good model for predicting subsequent sick or healthy trees? Take a moment to mentally draw an arc that divides the blues from the oranges, or mentally lasso a batch of oranges or blues. Then, look at Figure 2, which shows how a certain machine learning model separated the sick trees from the healthy trees. Note that this model produced a very low loss.

 

Low loss, but still a bad model?

Figure 3 shows what happened when we added new data to the model. It turned out that the model adapted very poorly to the new data. Notice that the model miscategorized much of the new data.

Same illustration as Figure 2, except with about a 100 more dots added.  Many of the new dots fall well outside of the predicted model.

Figure 3. The model did a bad job predicting new data.

The model shown in Figures 2 and 3 overfits the peculiarities of the data it trained on. An overfit model gets a low loss during training but does a poor job predicting new data. If a model fits the current sample well, how can we trust that it will make good predictions on new data? As you'll see later on, overfitting is caused by making a model more complex than necessary. The fundamental tension of machine learning is between fitting our data well, but also fitting the data as simply as possible.

Machine learning's goal is to predict well on new data drawn from a (hidden) true probability distribution. Unfortunately, the model can't see the whole truth; the model can only sample from a training data set. If a model fits the current examples well, how can you trust the model will also make good predictions on never-before-seen examples?

William of Ockham, a 14th century friar and philosopher, loved simplicity. He believed that scientists should prefer simpler formulas or theories over more complex ones. To put Ockham's razor in machine learning terms:

The less complex an ML model, the more likely that a good empirical result is not just due to the peculiarities of the sample.

In modern times, we've formalized Ockham's razor into the fields of statistical learning theory and computational learning theory. These fields have developed generalization bounds--a statistical description of a model's ability to generalize to new data based on factors such as:

  • the complexity of the model
  • the model's performance on training data

While the theoretical analysis provides formal guarantees under idealized assumptions, they can be difficult to apply in practice. Machine Learning Crash Course focuses instead on empirical evaluation to judge a model's ability to generalize to new data.

A machine learning model aims to make good predictions on new, previously unseen data. But if you are building a model from your data set, how would you get the previously unseen data? Well, one way is to divide your data set into two subsets:

  • training set—a subset to train a model.
  • test set—a subset to test the model.

Good performance on the test set is a useful indicator of good performance on the new data in general, assuming that:

  • The test set is large enough.
  • You don't cheat by using the same test set over and over.

The ML fine print

The following three basic assumptions guide generalization:

  • We draw examples independently and identically (i.i.d) at random from the distribution. In other words, examples don't influence each other. (An alternate explanation: i.i.d. is a way of referring to the randomness of variables.)
  • The distribution is stationary; that is the distribution doesn't change within the data set.
  • We draw examples from partitions from the same distribution.

In practice, we sometimes violate these assumptions. For example:

  • Consider a model that chooses ads to display. The i.i.d. assumption would be violated if the model bases its choice of ads, in part, on what ads the user has previously seen.
  • Consider a data set that contains retail sales information for a year. User's purchases change seasonally, which would violate stationarity.

When we know that any of the preceding three basic assumptions are violated, we must pay careful attention to metrics.

Send feedback about...

Machine Learning Crash Course