音訊裝置

透過集合功能整理內容 你可以依據偏好儲存及分類內容。

Google Cast 音訊裝置僅支援音訊播放。本指南說明如何針對純音訊裝置最佳化 Cast 應用程式,並充分運用對記憶體、CPU 和網路頻寬使用率降低的需求。

如果應用程式支援 Google Cast 音訊功能,必須考量以下幾點:

  • Google Audio 音訊裝置不會顯示視訊或圖形。不過,許多音訊裝置都有顯示中繼資料 (例如播放狀態 (播放中或已暫停) 和進度) 的顯示畫面。應用程式不得在接收端顯示這類重要使用者資訊,且寄件者必須顯示重要資訊和大部分使用者介面。
  • 為正確執行 Web Receiver 應用程式,音訊裝置適用的 Google Cast 仍須顯示圖像 (即使未顯示)。由於裝置可能不支援硬體加速的圖形運算作業,接收器應用程式應避免使用需要大量圖形的作業 (例如顏色漸層、旋轉、Alpha 混合和重新繪製大型物件 (例如進度列) 超過一次。
  • Google Cast 音訊裝置僅支援將 Widevine 用於數位版權管理 (DRM) 保護的內容。
  • 在大部分的 Google Cast 音訊裝置上,傳送端應用程式會控制裝置的完整音量 (例如喇叭),而不像 Chromecast 裝置一樣,只能輸出電視音訊來源的音量。
  • 除了使用傳送者裝置 (例如手機) 控製播放功能之外,應用程式可能都必須提供控制權限,例如使用裝置本身的控制器 (例如遙控器、裝置端按鈕或外部遠端應用程式) 來播放。
  • Google Cast 音訊裝置可能支援以小型 LCD 螢幕、HDMI 輸出 (適用於單件式環繞劇院或視訊接收器) 或外部遠端應用程式 (視特定裝置 UI 而定) 顯示內容中繼資料。

開發

為了開發支援 Google Cast 音訊功能的 Cast 應用程式,第一步是開發用於音訊的 Cast 應用程式,並確認應用程式是在 Chromecast 上執行。這份文件假設您已開發並測試過這類應用程式。

應用程式可能同時支援視訊和純音訊裝置。因此,您需要瞭解將音訊投放到另一部裝置的時間,並採取相關措施來確保在特定情況下獲得最佳使用者體驗。

舉例來說,雙視訊和音訊應用程式 (例如本機/NAS 檔案播放應用程式) 應支援在純音訊裝置上投放,以支援播放音訊檔案,但應用程式不應允許使用者將影片檔案傳送至純音訊裝置。應用程式可透過下文說明的寄件者專用裝置功能 API 來判斷裝置適合的內容。

如要支援 Google Cast 音訊功能,應用程式必須符合以下條件:

  • 支援純音訊:串流音樂和音訊檔案、電台等。串流到 Web Receiver 應用程式的媒體不得為影片串流。此外,請避免透過串流圖像和映像檔來改善應用程式啟動時間和記憶體用量。請參閱下方的記憶體用量指南

  • 請在投放過程中正常執行投放裝置,以及一般 Chromecast 。

裝置功能

應用程式可透過裝置功能,或透過裝置/接收端 API 瞭解其是否在純音訊裝置上執行。

裝置 HTTP 標頭

投放期間,投放裝置提供的 CAST-DEVICE-CAPABILITIES HTTP 標頭會描述裝置功能。裝置會將包含此標頭的要求傳送至代管 Web Receiver 應用程式的伺服器。純音訊裝置的標頭說明瞭含有 CAST-DEVICE-CAPABILITIES: {"display_supported":false} 的裝置功能。

當伺服器收到來自裝置的要求時,您可以使用此標頭中的資訊,將要求重新導向至針對音訊裝置最佳化的 Web Receiver 應用程式。

Web Receiver API

載入 Web Receiver 應用程式時,您可以呼叫 CastReceiverManager.getDeviceCapabilities() 來取得相同的裝置功能物件。

詳情請參閱裝置功能

寄件者 API

每個 Cast 傳送者 API 都有裝置功能資訊。讓寄件者應用程式決定要將何種媒體傳送給接收端。如果您的應用程式同時支援音訊和視訊,則可避免將影片內容傳送到純音訊裝置。此外,如設計檢查清單所述,您的應用程式可以使用最適合裝置的方法來控制音量。請參閱下列適用於寄件者的裝置功能 API:

記憶體使用規範

在音訊裝置上執行的網路接收器應用程式必須管理記憶體用量,如下所示:

  • 請避免下載或使用任何圖片或圖像資源,以減少記憶體用量,並縮短播放開始的時間。
  • 使用媒體來源擴充功能 (MSE) 時,應用程式必須將串流緩衝區限制為 2 MB。如果使用媒體播放器程式庫 (MPL),應用程式的 緩衝區大小已由 MPL 定義。
  • 使用 HTMLMediaElement 時,Chrome 會根據串流速率定義應用程式的串流緩衝區大小。將音訊位元率限制為每秒 2 MB,可支援支援的媒體 (最高 48KHz/16bit) 中所述的所有轉碼器。

音量控制

針對大多數音訊裝置的 Google Cast,寄件者應用程式會控制裝置的最大音量,而不只是音訊來源的輸入音量,就如同 Chromecast 裝置一樣。這表示純音訊應用程式的音量變更幅度必須更小。請參閱下列文件,瞭解如何在應用程式中提供音量控制。

裝置控制

Google Audio 音訊裝置可能會有專屬的播放控制項 (例如按鈕、遙控器)。這些類別會使用 urn:x-cast:com.google.cast.media 命名空間定義的媒體播放訊息 (如媒體播放訊息所述),在接收器應用程式上控製播放。您的接收端應用程式必須支援這些媒體播放訊息,以支援裝置的播放控制項。

此外,寄件者應用程式應支援「從接收者到傳送者的訊息」,以便當使用者透過裝置控制項變更媒體狀態時,傳送端應用程式會收到接收端的狀態訊息,並據此更新使用者介面。

裝置顯示

Google Cast 音訊裝置可能會有 LCD 畫面,或是顯示媒體中繼資料的裝置專屬控制應用程式。您的接收端應用程式必須針對所有音軌提供這些中繼資料,並確認該中繼資料與目前播放的內容同步,以確保中繼資料能正確顯示在螢幕上。如果應用程式使用自訂中繼資料,還必須提供下列各個平台的標準音訊中繼資料 (曲目名稱、藝人名稱、專輯名稱等)。

接收器會在載入媒體時從傳送者取得中繼資料。在寄件者應用程式中,使用下列指令在接收器上載入媒體。您必須指定下列欄位,中繼資料才能在 Google Cast 的音訊裝置上顯示中繼資料。使用下列 API:

如果 Cast 應用程式管理接收器或雲端上的媒體佇列,網路接收器就必須使用 urn:x-cast:com.google.cast.media 命名空間播送任何媒體狀態更新,以便同步處理所有寄件者。

註冊

您必須使用 Google Cast SDK Developer Console,註冊 Google Cast 音訊裝置才能進行測試,並註冊應用程式以支援音訊裝置 Google Cast。

  • 如要進一步瞭解如何註冊裝置,請參閱裝置一文。
  • 註冊應用程式時,您必須勾選「支援投放至純音訊裝置」核取方塊,您的應用程式才能探索音訊裝置的 Google Cast。請參閱註冊應用程式一文。

針對尚未發布的應用程式 (例如用於測試的應用程式),您也必須選取支援純音訊裝置的選項,讓應用程式能夠探索純音訊裝置。

Google Cast 音訊版 2.0

Google Cast for Audio (GC4A) 2.0 是新一代的 Cast 音訊平台,專為指定低記憶體裝置所設計,以拓展可以串流播放內容的裝置生態系統。

音訊應用程式開發人員必須在 GC4A 2.0 中測試自己的應用程式,這一點非常重要。您可以在正式版 Bose 揚聲器 (例如 Bose 智慧型揚聲器 500) 上測試 GC4A 2.0 的 Cast 應用程式。

如需測試方面的協助或無法使用 Bose 喇叭,請聯絡 gc4a-support-external@google.com。如要對應用程式進行偵錯,Google 建議您使用投放偵錯記錄

Audio Devices

Google Cast for audio devices support only audio playback. This guide describes how to optimize Cast applications for audio-only devices and take advantage of the reduced demands on memory, CPU, and network bandwidth utilization.

An app that supports Google Cast for audio must take the following into consideration:

  • Google Cast for audio devices do not display video or graphics. However, many audio devices have a display for showing metadata, such as playback state (playing or paused) and progress. Your application must not display such critical user information only on the receiver; critical information, and most of the user interface, must be shown on the sender.
  • To run receiver applications properly, Google Cast for audio devices must still render graphics, even though they are not displayed. Since devices might not support hardware-accelerated graphics operations, receiver applications should avoid using graphics-intensive operations such as color gradients, rotation, alpha blending, and re-drawing large objects like progress bars more than once per second.
  • Google Cast for audio devices do not support Digital Rights Management (DRM), and audio content protection must not rely on DRM availability.
  • For most Google Cast for audio devices, the sender application controls the full volume range of the device (a speaker, for example), not just the volume of the audio source input to the TV, as with a Chromecast device.
  • In addition to controlling playback with the sender device (a phone, for example), the app may have to provide for controlling playback with the device's own controllers such as a remote control, on-device buttons, or an external remote application.
  • A Google Cast for audio device may support displaying content metadata with a small LCD screen, HDMI output (for soundbars or audio-video receivers), or an external remote application, depending on the specific device UI.

Development

The first step in developing a Cast application to support Google Cast for audio is to develop a Cast application for audio-video, and make sure that it runs on a Chromecast. This document assumes you have developed and tested such an app.

An app may support both audio-video and audio-only devices. It needs to know when it is casting to one versus the other and take measures to ensure the best user experience under the given scenario.

For example, dual video and audio apps (like local/NAS file playback applications) should enable casting to audio-only devices in order to support playing audio files, but the app should not allow the user to send video files to the audio-only device. The app can use the device capabilities APIs for senders described below to determine the content appropriate for the device.

To support Google Cast for audio, your app must do the following:

  • Support audio-only: streaming music and audio files, radio, etc.

    The media streamed to the receiver app must not be a video stream. Also, avoid streaming graphics and images to improve application launch time and memory usage. See Memory usage guidelines, below.

  • Run as expected on a Cast for audio device as well as a regular Chromecast.

Device capabilities

Your app can know whether it is running on an audio-only device by virtue of the device capabilities APIs, available from the device itself or through the sender or receiver APIs.

The CAST-DEVICE-CAPABILITIES HTTP header provided by the Cast device during application launch describes the device capabilities. The device sends a request with this header to the server hosting the receiver app. The header for an audio-only device describes the device capabilities with CAST-DEVICE-CAPABILITIES: {"display_supported":false}.

When your server receives the request from the device, you can use the information in this header to redirect the request to the receiver app which is optimized for audio devices.

Receiver API

You can get the same device capabilities object by calling CastReceiverManager.getDeviceCapabilities() when the receiver app is loaded.

See Device capabilities for more information.

Sender APIs

Each of the Cast sender APIs has the device capabilities information as well. These let your sender app determine which kind of media to send to the receiver. If your app supports both audio and video, it can avoid sending video content to audio-only devices. Also, your app can control the volume using the method most appropriate for the device, as described in the Design Checklist. See the following device capabilities APIs for senders:

Memory usage guidelines

Receiver apps running on audio devices must manage memory usage as follows:

  • Avoid downloading or using any image or graphics assets, to reduce memory footprint and shorten the time until playback starts.
  • When using Media Source Extensions (MSE), applications must limit the stream buffer to 2MB. If using the Media Player Library (MPL), the application's stream buffer size is already defined by MPL.
  • When using HTMLMediaElement, the application's stream buffer size is defined by Chrome based on the stream rate. Limit the audio bitrate to 2 megabits per second, which supports all codecs described in Supported Media (up to 48KHz/16bit).

Volume control

For most Google Cast for audio devices, the sender application controls the device's full volume range, not just the audio source input volume, as with a Chromecast device. This means the volume change increments must be smaller for audio-only applications. See the following documents for guidelines on providing volume control in your app:

Device controls

Google Cast for audio devices may have their own playback controls (such as buttons, remotes). These use the media playback messages defined for the urn:x-cast:com.google.cast.media namespace, as described in Media Playback Messages, to control playback on the receiver application. Your receiver application must support these media playback messages to support the device's playback controls.

Also, your sender app should support the Messages from receiver to sender so that if the user changes the media state with the device controls, your sender app can receive a status message from the receiver and update the UI accordingly.

Device display

A Google Cast for audio device may have an LCD screen on the device or a device-specific control application that displays media metadata. Your receiver app must provide this metadata for all audio tracks and ensure it is in sync with the content currently playing to ensure the metadata displays appropriately on the display. If the application is using custom metadata, it must also provide the standard audio metadata (track name, artist name, album title, etc.) as described for each platform below.

The receiver gets the metadata from the sender when it loads the media. In your sender app, with the command to load the media on the receiver, you must specify the fields described below so that the metadata will display on the Google Cast for audio device. Use the following APIs:

If the Cast app manages a media queue on the receiver or in the cloud, the receiver must broadcast any media status updates using the urn:x-cast:com.google.cast.media namespace so that all senders will be synchronized.

Registration

You must register your Google Cast for audio device for testing and register your app to support Google Cast for audio devices, by using the Google Cast SDK Developer Console.

  • See Devices for more information about registering devices.
  • You must check the Supports casting to audio-only devices checkbox when registering your application to allow your app to discover Google Cast for audio devices. See Register your application.

For unpublished apps, such as those used for testing, you must also select the option to support audio-only devices in order for the app to discover audio-only devices.