表示 (Representation):清理数据

苹果树结出的果子有品相上乘的,也有虫蛀坏果。而高端便利店出售的苹果是 100% 完美的水果。从果园到水果店之间,专门有人花费大量时间将坏苹果剔除或给可以挽救的苹果涂上一层薄薄的蜡。作为一名机器学习工程师,您将花费大量的时间挑出坏样本并加工可以挽救的样本。即使是非常少量的“坏苹果”也会破坏掉一个大规模数据集。

缩放特征值

缩放是指将浮点特征值从自然范围(例如 100 到 900)转换为标准范围(例如 0 到 1 或 -1 到 +1)。如果某个特征集只包含一个特征,则缩放可以提供的实际好处微乎其微或根本没有。不过,如果特征集包含多个特征,则缩放特征可以带来以下优势:

  • 帮助梯度下降法更快速地收敛。
  • 帮助避免“NaN 陷阱”。在这种陷阱中,模型中的一个数值变成 NaN(例如,当某个值在训练期间超出浮点精确率限制时),并且模型中的所有其他数值最终也会因数学运算而变成 NaN。
  • 帮助模型为每个特征确定合适的权重。如果没有进行特征缩放,则模型会对范围较大的特征投入过多精力。

您不需要对每个浮点特征进行完全相同的缩放。即使特征 A 的范围是 -1 到 +1,同时特征 B 的范围是 -3 到 +3,也不会产生什么恶劣的影响。不过,如果特征 B 的范围是 5000 到 100000,您的模型会出现糟糕的响应。

处理极端离群值

下面的曲线图表示的是加利福尼亚州住房数据集中称为 roomsPerPerson 的特征。roomsPerPerson 值的计算方法是相应地区的房间总数除以相应地区的人口总数。该曲线图显示,在加利福尼亚州的绝大部分地区,人均房间数为 1 到 2 间。不过,请看一下 x 轴。

roomsPerPerson 曲线图,其中几乎所有值都聚集在 0 到 4 之间,但是有一个非常长的尾巴一直延伸到每人 55 个房间

图 4. 一个非常非常长的尾巴。

如何最大限度降低这些极端离群值的影响?一种方法是对每个值取对数:

log(roomsPerPerson) 曲线图,其中 99% 的值都聚集在 0.4 到 1.8 之间,但仍然有一个长尾巴延伸到 4.2 左右。

图 5. 对数缩放仍然留有尾巴。

对数缩放可稍稍缓解这种影响,但仍然存在离群值这个大尾巴。我们来采用另一种方法。如果我们只是简单地将 roomsPerPerson 的最大值“限制”为某个任意值(比如 4.0),会发生什么情况呢?

roomsPerPerson 曲线图,其中所有值均在 -0.3 到 4.0 之间。曲线图是钟形的,但在 4.0 处有个异常的小峰值

图 6. 将特征值限制到 4.0

将特征值限制到 4.0 并不意味着我们会忽略所有大于 4.0 的值。而是说,所有大于 4.0 的值都将变成 4.0。这就解释了 4.0 处的那个有趣的小峰值。尽管存在这个小峰值,但是缩放后的特征集现在依然比原始数据有用。

分箱

下面的曲线图显示了加利福尼亚州不同纬度的房屋相对普及率。注意集群 - 洛杉矶大致在纬度 34 处,旧金山大致在纬度 38 处。

每个纬度的房屋数曲线图。曲线图极其不规则,在纬度 36 左右出现低谷,并在纬度 34 和 38 左右出现巨大峰值。

图 7. 每个纬度的房屋数。

在数据集中,latitude 是一个浮点值。不过,在我们的模型中将 latitude 表示为浮点特征没有意义。这是因为纬度和房屋价值之间不存在线性关系。例如,纬度 35 处的房屋并不比纬度 34 处的房屋贵 35/34(或更便宜)。但是,纬度或许能很好地预测房屋价值。

为了将纬度变为一项实用的预测指标,我们对纬度“分箱”,如下图所示:

每个纬度的房屋数曲线图。曲线图分为

图 8. 分箱值。

我们现在拥有 11 个不同的布尔值特征(LatitudeBin1LatitudeBin2、…、LatitudeBin11),而不是一个浮点特征。拥有 11 个不同的特征有点不方便,因此我们将它们统一成一个 11 元素矢量。这样做之后,我们可以将纬度 37.4 表示为:

[0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0]

分箱之后,我们的模型现在可以为每个纬度学习完全不同的权重。

清查

截至目前,我们假定用于训练和测试的所有数据都是值得信赖的。在现实生活中,数据集中的很多样本是不可靠的,原因有以下一种或多种:

  • 遗漏值。 例如,有人忘记为某个房屋的年龄输入值。
  • 重复样本。 例如,服务器错误地将同一条记录上传了两次。
  • 不良标签。 例如,有人错误地将一颗橡树的图片标记为枫树。
  • 不良特征值。 例如,有人输入了多余的位数,或者温度计被遗落在太阳底下。

一旦检测到存在这些问题,您通常需要将相应样本从数据集中移除,从而“修正”不良样本。要检测遗漏值或重复样本,您可以编写一个简单的程序。检测不良特征值或标签可能会比较棘手。

除了检测各个不良样本之外,您还必须检测集合中的不良数据。直方图是一种用于可视化集合中数据的很好机制。此外,收集如下统计信息也会有所帮助:

  • 最大值和最小值
  • 均值和中间值
  • 标准偏差

考虑生成离散特征的最常见值列表。例如,country:uk 的样本数是否符合您的预期?language:jp 是否真的应该作为您数据集中的最常用语言?

了解数据

遵循以下规则:

  • 记住您预期的数据状态。
  • 确认数据是否满足这些预期(或者您可以解释为何数据不满足预期)。
  • 仔细检查训练数据是否与其他来源(例如信息中心)的数据一致。

像处理任何任务关键型代码一样谨慎处理您的数据。良好的机器学习依赖于良好的数据。

Representation: Cleaning Data

Apple trees produce some mixture of great fruit and wormy messes. Yet the apples in high-end grocery stores display 100% perfect fruit. Between orchard and grocery, someone spends significant time removing the bad apples or throwing a little wax on the salvageable ones. As an ML engineer, you'll spend enormous amounts of your time tossing out bad examples and cleaning up the salvageable ones. Even a few "bad apples" can spoil a large data set.

Scaling feature values

Scaling means converting floating-point feature values from their natural range (for example, 100 to 900) into a standard range (for example, 0 to 1 or -1 to +1). If a feature set consists of only a single feature, then scaling provides little to no practical benefit. If, however, a feature set consists of multiple features, then feature scaling provides the following benefits:

  • Helps gradient descent converge more quickly.
  • Helps avoid the "NaN trap," in which one number in the model becomes a NaN (e.g., when a value exceeds the floating-point precision limit during training), and—due to math operations—every other number in the model also eventually becomes a NaN.
  • Helps the model learn appropriate weights for each feature. Without feature scaling, the model will pay too much attention to the features having a wider range.

You don't have to give every floating-point feature exactly the same scale. Nothing terrible will happen if Feature A is scaled from -1 to +1 while Feature B is scaled from -3 to +3. However, your model will react poorly if Feature B is scaled from 5000 to 100000.

Handling extreme outliers

The following plot represents a feature called roomsPerPerson from the California Housing data set. The value of roomsPerPerson was calculated by dividing the total number of rooms for an area by the population for that area. The plot shows that the vast majority of areas in California have one or two rooms per person. But take a look along the x-axis.

A plot of roomsPerPerson in which nearly all the values are clustered between 0 and 4, but there's a verrrrry long tail reaching all the way out to 55 rooms per person

Figure 4. A verrrrry lonnnnnnng tail.

How could we minimize the influence of those extreme outliers? Well, one way would be to take the log of every value:

A plot of log(roomsPerPerson) in which 99% of values cluster between about 0.4 and 1.8, but there's still a longish tail that goes out to 4.2 or so.

Figure 5. Logarithmic scaling still leaves a tail.

Log scaling does a slightly better job, but there's still a significant tail of outlier values. Let's pick yet another approach. What if we simply "cap" or "clip" the maximum value of roomsPerPerson at an arbitrary value, say 4.0?

A plot of roomsPerPerson in which all values lie between -0.3 and 4.0. The plot is bell-shaped, but there's an anomalous hill at 4.0

Figure 6. Clipping feature values at 4.0

Clipping the feature value at 4.0 doesn't mean that we ignore all values greater than 4.0. Rather, it means that all values that were greater than 4.0 now become 4.0. This explains the funny hill at 4.0. Despite that hill, the scaled feature set is now more useful than the original data.

Binning

The following plot shows the relative prevalence of houses at different latitudes in California. Notice the clustering—Los Angeles is about at latitude 34 and San Francisco is roughly at latitude 38.

A plot of houses per latitude. The plot is highly irregular, containing doldrums around latitude 36 and huge spikes around latitudes 34 and 38.

Figure 7. Houses per latitude.

In the data set, latitude is a floating-point value. However, it doesn't make sense to represent latitude as a floating-point feature in our model. That's because no linear relationship exists between latitude and housing values. For example, houses in latitude 35 are not \(\frac{35}{34}\) more expensive (or less expensive) than houses at latitude 34. And yet, individual latitudes probably are a pretty good predictor of house values.

To make latitude a helpful predictor, let's divide latitudes into "bins" as suggested by the following figure:

A plot of houses per latitude. The plot is divided into "bins" between whole number latitudes.

Figure 8. Binning values.

Instead of having one floating-point feature, we now have 11 distinct boolean features (LatitudeBin1, LatitudeBin2, ..., LatitudeBin11). Having 11 separate features is somewhat inelegant, so let's unite them into a single 11-element vector. Doing so will enable us to represent latitude 37.4 as follows:

[0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0]

Thanks to binning, our model can now learn completely different weights for each latitude.

Scrubbing

Until now, we've assumed that all the data used for training and testing was trustworthy. In real-life, many examples in data sets are unreliable due to one or more of the following:

  • Omitted values. For instance, a person forgot to enter a value for a house's age.
  • Duplicate examples. For example, a server mistakenly uploaded the same logs twice.
  • Bad labels. For instance, a person mislabeled a picture of an oak tree as a maple.
  • Bad feature values. For example, someone typed in an extra digit, or a thermometer was left out in the sun.

Once detected, you typically "fix" bad examples by removing them from the data set. To detect omitted values or duplicated examples, you can write a simple program. Detecting bad feature values or labels can be far trickier.

In addition to detecting bad individual examples, you must also detect bad data in the aggregate. Histograms are a great mechanism for visualizing your data in the aggregate. In addition, getting statistics like the following can help:

  • Maximum and minimum
  • Mean and median
  • Standard deviation

Consider generating lists of the most common values for discrete features. For example, do the number of examples with country:uk match the number you expect. Should language:jp really be the most common language in your data set?

Know your data

Follow these rules:

  • Keep in mind what you think your data should look like.
  • Verify that the data meets these expectations (or that you can explain why it doesn’t).
  • Double-check that the training data agrees with other sources (for example, dashboards).

Treat your data with all the care that you would treat any mission-critical code. Good ML relies on good data.

Additional Information

Rules of Machine Learning, ML Phase II: Feature Engineering

Send feedback about...

Machine Learning Crash Course