降低损失 (Reducing Loss):随机梯度下降法

在梯度下降法中,批量指的是用于在单次迭代中计算梯度的样本总数。到目前为止,我们一直假定批量是指整个数据集。就 Google 的规模而言,数据集通常包含数十亿甚至数千亿个样本。此外,Google 数据集通常包含海量特征。因此,一个批量可能相当巨大。如果是超大批量,则单次迭代就可能要花费很长时间进行计算。

包含随机抽样样本的大型数据集可能包含冗余数据。实际上,批量大小越大,出现冗余的可能性就越高。一些冗余可能有助于消除杂乱的梯度,但超大批量所具备的预测价值往往并不比大型批量高。

如果我们可以通过更少的计算量得出正确的平均梯度,会怎么样?通过从我们的数据集中随机选择样本,我们可以通过小得多的数据集估算(尽管过程非常杂乱)出较大的平均值。 随机梯度下降法 (SGD) 将这种想法运用到极致,它每次迭代只使用一个样本(批量大小为 1)。如果进行足够的迭代,SGD 也可以发挥作用,但过程会非常杂乱。“随机”这一术语表示构成各个批量的一个样本都是随机选择的。

小批量随机梯度下降法小批量 SGD)是介于全批量迭代与 SGD 之间的折衷方案。小批量通常包含 10-1000 个随机选择的样本。小批量 SGD 可以减少 SGD 中的杂乱样本数量,但仍然比全批量更高效。

为了简化说明,我们只针对单个特征重点介绍了梯度下降法。请放心,梯度下降法也适用于包含多个特征的特征集。

Reducing Loss: Stochastic Gradient Descent

In gradient descent, a batch is the total number of examples you use to calculate the gradient in a single iteration. So far, we've assumed that the batch has been the entire data set. When working at Google scale, data sets often contain billions or even hundreds of billions of examples. Furthermore, Google data sets often contain huge numbers of features. Consequently, a batch can be enormous. A very large batch may cause even a single iteration to take a very long time to compute.

A large data set with randomly sampled examples probably contains redundant data. In fact, redundancy becomes more likely as the batch size grows. Some redundancy can be useful to smooth out noisy gradients, but enormous batches tend not to carry much more predictive value than large batches.

What if we could get the right gradient on average for much less computation? By choosing examples at random from our data set, we could estimate (albeit, noisily) a big average from a much smaller one. Stochastic gradient descent (SGD) takes this idea to the extreme--it uses only a single example (a batch size of 1) per iteration. Given enough iterations, SGD works but is very noisy. The term "stochastic" indicates that the one example comprising each batch is chosen at random.

Mini-batch stochastic gradient descent (mini-batch SGD) is a compromise between full-batch iteration and SGD. A mini-batch is typically between 10 and 1,000 examples, chosen at random. Mini-batch SGD reduces the amount of noise in SGD but is still more efficient than full-batch.

To simplify the explanation, we focused on gradient descent for a single feature. Rest assured that gradient descent also works on feature sets that contain multiple features.

 

Send feedback about...

Machine Learning Crash Course