降低损失 (Reducing Loss):学习速率

正如之前所述,梯度矢量具有方向和大小。梯度下降法算法用梯度乘以一个称为学习速率(有时也称为步长)的标量,以确定下一个点的位置。例如,如果梯度大小为 2.5,学习速率为 0.01,则梯度下降法算法会选择距离前一个点 0.025 的位置作为下一个点。

超参数是编程人员在机器学习算法中用于调整的旋钮。大多数机器学习编程人员会花费相当多的时间来调整学习速率。如果您选择的学习速率过小,就会花费太长的学习时间:

相同的 U 形曲线。很多点都相互非常接近,它们的轨迹朝着 U 形底部缓慢前进。

图 6. 学习速率过小。

相反,如果您指定的学习速率过大,下一个点将永远在 U 形曲线的底部随意弹跳,就好像量子力学实验出现了严重错误一样:

相同的 U 形曲线。这条曲线包含的点非常少。点的轨迹会跳过 U 形底部,然后再次跳回。

图 7. 学习速率过大。

每个回归问题都存在一个金发姑娘学习速率。“金发姑娘”值与损失函数的平坦程度相关。如果您知道损失函数的梯度较小,则可以放心地试着采用更大的学习速率,以补偿较小的梯度并获得更大的步长。

相同的 U 形曲线。点的轨迹大约需要 8 步达到最低点。

图 8. 学习速率恰恰好。

Reducing Loss: Learning Rate

As noted, the gradient vector has both a direction and a magnitude. Gradient descent algorithms multiply the gradient by a scalar known as the learning rate (also sometimes called step size) to determine the next point. For example, if the gradient magnitude is 2.5 and the learning rate is 0.01, then the gradient descent algorithm will pick the next point 0.025 away from the previous point.

Hyperparameters are the knobs that programmers tweak in machine learning algorithms. Most machine learning programmers spend a fair amount of time tuning the learning rate. If you pick a learning rate that is too small, learning will take too long:

Same U-shaped curve. Lots of points are very close to each other and their trail is making extremely slow progress towards the bottom of the U.

Figure 6. Learning rate is too small.

Conversely, if you specify a learning rate that is too large, the next point will perpetually bounce haphazardly across the bottom of the well like a quantum mechanics experiment gone horribly wrong:

Same U-shaped curve. This one contains very few points. The trail of points jumps clean across the bottom of the U and then jumps back over again.

Figure 7. Learning rate is too large.

There's a Goldilocks learning rate for every regression problem. The Goldilocks value is related to how flat the loss function is. If you know the gradient of the loss function is small then you can safely try a larger learning rate, which compensates for the small gradient and results in a larger step size.

Same U-shaped curve. The trail of points gets to the minimum point in about eight steps.

Figure 8. Learning rate is just right.

Send feedback about...

Machine Learning Crash Course