步驟 5:調整超參數

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

我們必須選擇多個超參數來定義和訓練模型。我們仰賴直覺、例子和最佳做法建議。不過,我們最先設定的超參數值可能無法產生最佳結果。這只是提供訓練的好起點。每個問題都不相同,因此調整這些超參數有助於修正模型,以更準確地反映現有問題的具體細節。以下說明我們使用的幾個超參數,以及如何調整這些參數:

  • 模型中的層數:類神經網路中的層數是其複雜程度的指標。選擇這個值時請務必謹慎。過多層會讓模型學習過多有關訓練資料的資訊,進而導致過度配適。層數太少會限制模型的學習能力,導致資源不足。以文字分類資料集來說,我們實驗了單層、雙層和三層機器學習功能。具有兩個層的模型成效良好,在某些情況下甚至比三層模型更好。同樣地,我們也試出了 4 層和 6 層的 sepCNN,而 4 層模型的執行效能也非常好。

  • 每個圖層的單位數:圖層中的單元必須保存圖層執行轉換的資訊。對第一層而言,則取決於特徵數量。在後續圖層中,單元數量取決於從上一層展開或縮小表示法的情形。盡量減少層間資訊遺失的情況。我們嘗試了 [8, 16, 32, 64] 範圍內的值,所以 32/64 單位的效果不錯。

  • 放棄率:模型在模型中用於正規化。可定義要捨棄的輸入比例做為預防過度的預防措施。建議範圍:0.2–0.5。

  • 學習率:這是類神經網路權重在疊代之間變更的頻率。較長的學習率可能會導致權重出現大幅波動,而且我們可能找不到最理想的值。學習率偏低,但模型會佔用更多疊代次數。一開始可以先從 1e-4 開始。如果訓練速度非常慢,請提高這個值。如果模型不是學習模式,請嘗試降低學習率。

我們另外針對 sepCNN 模型提供了幾個額外的超參數:

  1. 核心大小:卷積視窗的大小。建議值:3 或 5。

  2. 嵌入維度:我們用來表示字詞嵌入的維度數量,也就是每個字詞向量的大小。建議值:50 至 300。在我們的實驗中,我們使用預先訓練的嵌入層和 200 個維度的 GloVe 嵌入功能。

嘗試使用這些超參數,看看哪個參數效果最好。依據用途選擇使用成效最佳的超參數後,就可以開始部署模型。

Step 5: Tune Hyperparameters

We had to choose a number of hyperparameters for defining and training the model. We relied on intuition, examples and best practice recommendations. Our first choice of hyperparameter values, however, may not yield the best results. It only gives us a good starting point for training. Every problem is different and tuning these hyperparameters will help refine our model to better represent the particularities of the problem at hand. Let’s take a look at some of the hyperparameters we used and what it means to tune them:

  • Number of layers in the model: The number of layers in a neural network is an indicator of its complexity. We must be careful in choosing this value. Too many layers will allow the model to learn too much information about the training data, causing overfitting. Too few layers can limit the model’s learning ability, causing underfitting. For text classification datasets, we experimented with one, two, and three-layer MLPs. Models with two layers performed well, and in some cases better than three-layer models. Similarly, we tried sepCNNs with four and six layers, and the four-layer models performed well.

  • Number of units per layer: The units in a layer must hold the information for the transformation that a layer performs. For the first layer, this is driven by the number of features. In subsequent layers, the number of units depends on the choice of expanding or contracting the representation from the previous layer. Try to minimize the information loss between layers. We tried unit values in the range [8, 16, 32, 64], and 32/64 units worked well.

  • Dropout rate: Dropout layers are used in the model for regularization. They define the fraction of input to drop as a precaution for overfitting. Recommended range: 0.2–0.5.

  • Learning rate: This is the rate at which the neural network weights change between iterations. A large learning rate may cause large swings in the weights, and we may never find their optimal values. A low learning rate is good, but the model will take more iterations to converge. It is a good idea to start low, say at 1e-4. If the training is very slow, increase this value. If your model is not learning, try decreasing learning rate.

There are couple of additional hyperparameters we tuned that are specific to our sepCNN model:

  1. Kernel size: The size of the convolution window. Recommended values: 3 or 5.

  2. Embedding dimensions: The number of dimensions we want to use to represent word embeddings—i.e., the size of each word vector. Recommended values: 50–300. In our experiments, we used GloVe embeddings with 200 dimensions with a pre- trained embedding layer.

Play around with these hyperparameters and see what works best. Once you have chosen the best-performing hyperparameters for your use case, your model is ready to be deployed.

Send feedback about...

ML Universal Guides