多类别神经网络 (Multi-Class Neural Networks):Softmax

我们已经知道,逻辑回归可生成介于 0 和 1.0 之间的小数。例如,某电子邮件分类器的逻辑回归输出值为 0.8,表明电子邮件是垃圾邮件的概率为 80%,不是垃圾邮件的概率为 20%。很明显,一封电子邮件是垃圾邮件或非垃圾邮件的概率之和为 1.0。

Softmax 将这一想法延伸到多类别领域。也就是说,在多类别问题中,Softmax 会为每个类别分配一个用小数表示的概率。这些用小数表示的概率相加之和必须是 1.0。与其他方式相比,这种附加限制有助于让训练过程更快速地收敛。

例如,回到我们在图 1 中看到的图片分析示例,Softmax 可能会得出图片属于某一特定类别的以下概率:

类别 概率
苹果 0.001
0.04
糖果 0.008
狗狗 0.95
鸡蛋 0.001

Softmax 层是紧挨着输出层之前的神经网络层。Softmax 层必须和输出层拥有一样的节点数。

一个深度神经网络,具有一个输入层、两个普通的隐藏层,然后是 Softmax 层,最后是一个输出层(与 Softmax 层拥有一样的节点数)。

图 2. 神经网络中的 Softmax 层。

Softmax 选项

请查看以下 Softmax 变体:

  • 完整 Softmax 是我们一直以来讨论的 Softmax;也就是说,Softmax 针对每个可能的类别计算概率。

  • 候选采样指 Softmax 针对所有正类别标签计算概率,但仅针对负类别标签的随机样本计算概率。例如,如果我们想要确定某个输入图片是小猎犬还是寻血猎犬图片,则不必针对每个非狗狗样本提供概率。

类别数量较少时,完整 Softmax 代价很小,但随着类别数量的增加,它的代价会变得极其高昂。候选采样可以提高处理具有大量类别的问题的效率。

一个标签与多个标签

Softmax 假设每个样本只是一个类别的成员。但是,一些样本可以同时是多个类别的成员。对于此类示例:

  • 您不能使用 Softmax。
  • 您必须依赖多个逻辑回归。

例如,假设您的样本是只包含一项内容(一块水果)的图片。Softmax 可以确定该内容是梨、橙子、苹果等的概率。如果您的样本是包含各种各样内容(几碗不同种类的水果)的图片,您必须改用多个逻辑回归。

Multi-Class Neural Networks: Softmax

Recall that logistic regression produces a decimal between 0 and 1.0. For example, a logistic regression output of 0.8 from an email classifier suggests an 80% chance of an email being spam and a 20% chance of it being not spam. Clearly, the sum of the probabilities of an email being either spam or not spam is 1.0.

Softmax extends this idea into a multi-class world. That is, Softmax assigns decimal probabilities to each class in a multi-class problem. Those decimal probabilities must add up to 1.0. This additional constraint helps training converge more quickly than it otherwise would.

For example, returning to the image analysis we saw in Figure 1, Softmax might produce the following likelihoods of an image belonging to a particular class:

Class Probability
apple 0.001
bear 0.04
candy 0.008
dog 0.95
egg 0.001

Softmax is implemented through a neural network layer just before the output layer. The Softmax layer must have the same number of nodes as the output layer.

A deep neural net with an input layer, two nondescript hidden layers, then a Softmax layer, and finally an output layer with the same number of nodes as the Softmax layer.

Figure 2. A Softmax layer within a neural network.

Softmax Options

Consider the following variants of Softmax:

  • Full Softmax is the Softmax we've been discussing; that is, Softmax calculates a probability for every possible class.

  • Candidate sampling means that Softmax calculates a probability for all the positive labels but only for a random sample of negative labels. For example, if we are interested in determining whether an input image is a beagle or a bloodhound, we don't have to provide probabilities for every non-doggy example.

Full Softmax is fairly cheap when the number of classes is small but becomes prohibitively expensive when the number of classes climbs. Candidate sampling can improve efficiency in problems having a large number of classes.

One Label vs. Many Labels

Softmax assumes that each example is a member of exactly one class. Some examples, however, can simultaneously be a member of multiple classes. For such examples:

  • You may not use Softmax.
  • You must rely on multiple logistic regressions.

For example, suppose your examples are images containing exactly one item—a piece of fruit. Softmax can determine the likelihood of that one item being a pear, an orange, an apple, and so on. If your examples are images containing all sorts of things—bowls of different kinds of fruit—then you'll have to use multiple logistic regressions instead.

Send feedback about...

Machine Learning Crash Course