公平性:检查您的理解情况

偏差类型

请查看以下选项。

以下哪个模型的预测受到了选择偏差的影响?
一款德语手写识别智能手机应用使用的模型经常将 ß (Eszett) 字符错误地识别为 B 字符,原因是该模型基于美国的手写样本语料库训练而成,该语料库的大部分内容都是用英语书写的。
该模型受一种名为覆盖偏差的选择偏差的影响:训练数据(美式英语手写内容)不能代表模型的目标受众群体提供的数据类型(德语手写内容)。
工程师们构建了一个模型,根据人们每天摄入的食物预测患糖尿病的可能性。该模型基于从世界各地随机选择的一群人提供的 10000 份饮食日记训练而成,这群人代表各种不同的年龄段、种族背景和性别。不过,部署该模型后,工程师们发现其准确率非常低。他们随后发现,饮食日记的参与者不愿透露不健康食物的真实摄入量,比起不健康的零食,他们更多记录的是营养食物的摄入量。
该模型没有选择偏差,提供训练数据的参与者是随机选择的代表性样本。该模型受到的是报告偏差的影响。报告的不健康食物摄入频率比真实的摄入频率低得多。
某公司的工程师们开发了一个模型,根据通过发给所有员工的调查问卷收集到的数据来预测员工的离职率(每年的员工离职百分比)。经过几年的使用,工程师们发现该模型预测的离职率比实际值低估了超过 20%。在与即将离职的员工进行离职面谈时,他们了解到,对工作不满意的员工中超过 80% 的员工选择不填写调查问卷,而整个公司范围的放弃率则是 15%。
该模型受到了一种名为未回答偏差的选择偏差的影响。训练数据集中没有代表对工作不满意的员工的数据,因为这部分员工选择不参加公司范围问卷调查的概率远高于全体员工。
开发电影推荐系统的工程师们猜测喜欢看恐怖电影的人也会喜欢看科幻电影。当他们基于 50000 名用户的观看列表对模型进行训练后,预测结果显示恐怖电影喜好与科幻电影喜好之间没有这种相关性,而恐怖电影喜好与纪录片喜好之间却有很强的相关性。这种结果让他们感到很意外,因此他们使用不同的超参数对该模型又训练了 5 次。最终训练出的模型显示恐怖电影喜好与科幻电影喜好之间具有 70% 的相关性,因此他们充满信心地将该模型部署到了生产环境中。
这里不存在选择偏差,但该模型可能受到了实验者偏差的影响,因为工程师们不断对模型进行迭代,直到模型的预测结果证实他们先前的猜测为止。

评估偏差

一个用于检测嘲讽内容的模型基于 80000 条短信训练而成:其中有 40000 条来自成年人(18 岁及以上),另外 40000 条来自未成年人(未满 18 周岁)。然后,用包含 20000 条短信的测试集对该模型进行评估:其中有 10000 条来自成年人,另外 10000 条来自未成年人。以下混淆矩阵显示了每组的测试结果(正预测表示分类为“嘲讽内容”,负预测表示分类为“非嘲讽内容”):

成年人

真正例 (TP):512 假正例 (FP):51
假负例 (FN):36 真负例 (TN):9401
$$\text{精确率} = \frac{TP}{TP+FP} = 0.909$$
$$\text{召回率} = \frac{TP}{TP+FN} = 0.934$$

未成年人

真正例 (TP):2147 假正例 (FP):96
假负例 (FN):2177 真负例 (TN):5580
$$\text{精确率} = \frac{TP}{TP+FP} = 0.957$$
$$\text{召回率} = \frac{TP}{TP+FN} = 0.497$$

请查看以下选项。

以下关于该模型的测试集性能的表述中哪些是正确的?
总体而言,该模型检测成年人样本的表现优于检测未成年人样本的表现。

在检测成年人短信中的嘲讽内容时,该模型的精确率和召回率均超过了 90%。

虽然该模型检测未成年人短信的精确率略高于成年人,但未成年人的召回率低得多,导致对该群体的预测不可靠。

该模型未能将近 50% 的嘲讽短信归类为“嘲讽内容”。
未成年人 0.497 的召回率表示该模型将近 50% 的未成年人嘲讽短信预测为“非嘲讽内容”。
未成年人发送的短信中有近 50% 被错误地归类为“嘲讽内容”。
0.957 的精确率表示超过 95% 被归类为“嘲讽内容”的未成年人短信实际上就是嘲讽内容。
成年人发送的 10000 条短信为分类不平衡的数据集。
如果我们将成年人短信中实际为嘲讽内容的短信数 (TP+FN = 548) 与实际为非嘲讽内容的短信数 (TN + FP = 9452) 相比,会发现“非嘲讽内容”标签数比“嘲讽内容”标签数多,它们之间的比例约为 17:1。
未成年人发送的 10000 条短信为分类不平衡的数据集。
如果我们将未成年人短信中实际为嘲讽内容的短信数 (TP+FN = 4324) 与实际为非嘲讽内容的短信数 (TN + FP = 5676) 相比,会发现“非嘲讽内容”标签数与“嘲讽内容”标签数之间的比例为 1.3:1。这两类标签的分布非常接近 1:1,因此这不是分类不平衡的数据集。

请查看以下选项。

工程师们正再次对该模型进行训练,以解决不同年龄段的嘲讽内容检测准确率不一致的问题,但该模型已部署到生产环境中。以下哪种补救措施有助于减少模型预测中的错误?
仅将该模型用于检测成年人发送的短信。

该模型在检测成年人短信时表现良好(精确率和召回率均超过 90%),因此仅将模型用于该群体可避免对未成年人短信进行分类时出现的系统错误。

当该模型预测未成年人短信为“非嘲讽内容”时,调整输出以使模型改为返回“不确定”一值。

该模型在检测未成年人短信时精确率较高,这意味着当该群体的预测结果为“嘲讽内容”时,基本上正确。

问题在于未成年人短信的召回率非常低,该模型无法识别近 50% 的样本属于嘲讽内容。该模型针对未成年人短信的负预测跟随机猜测差不多,我们可以通过在此类情况下不提供预测来避免错误。

仅将该模型用于检测未成年人发送的短信。

该模型中的系统错误特定于未成年人发送的短信。仅将该模型用于预测时更易出错的群体对预测结果不会有任何帮助。

调整模型输出,使之针对未成年人发送的所有短信均返回“嘲讽内容”,无论模型最初的预测结果是什么。

始终将未成年人的短信预测为“嘲讽内容”会使召回率从 0.497 升至 1.0,因为模型会将所有短信识别为嘲讽内容。但是,召回率的升高将导致精确率变低。所有真负例都将被改为假正例:

真正例 (TP):4324 假正例 (FP):5676
假负例 (FN):0 真负例 (TN):0

这会使精确率从 0.957 降至 0.432。进行此校准可改变错误类型,但不会降低错误的程度。

Fairness: Check Your Understanding

Types of Bias

Explore the options below.

Which of the following model's predictions have been affected by selection bias?
A German handwriting recognition smartphone app uses a model that frequently incorrectly classifies ß (Eszett) characters as B characters, because it was trained on a corpus of American handwriting samples, mostly written in English.
This model was affected by a type of selection bias called coverage bias: the training data (American English handwriting) was not representative of the type of data provided by the model's target audience (German handwriting).
Engineers built a model to predict the likelihood of a person developing diabetes based on their daily food intake. The model was trained on 10,000 "food diaries" collected from a randomly chosen group of people worldwide representing a variety of different age groups, ethnic backgrounds, and genders. However, when the model was deployed, it had very poor accuracy. Engineers subsequently discovered that food diary participants were reluctant to admit the true volume of unhealthy foods they ate, and were more likely to document consumption of nutritious food than less healthy snacks.
There is no selection bias in this model; participants who provided training data were a representative sampling of users and were chosen randomly. Instead, this model was affected by reporting bias. Ingestion of unhealthy foods was reported at a much lower frequency than true real-world occurrence.
Engineers at a company developed a model to predict staff turnover rates (the percentage of employees quitting their jobs each year) based on data collected from a survey sent to all employees. After several years of use, engineers determined that the model underestimated turnover by more than 20%. When conducting exit interviews with employees leaving the company, they learned that more than 80% of people who were dissatisfied with their jobs chose not to complete the survey, compared to a company-wide opt-out rate of 15%.
This model was affected by a type of selection bias called non-response bias. People who were dissatisfied with their jobs were underrepresented in the training data set because they opted out of the company-wide survey at much higher rates than the entire employee population.
Engineers developing a movie-recommendation system hypothesized that people who like horror movies will also like science-fiction movies. When they trained a model on 50,000 users' watchlists, however, it showed no such correlation between preferences for horror and for sci-fi; instead it showed a strong correlation between preferences for horror and for documentaries. This seemed odd to them, so they retrained the model five more times using different hyperparameters. Their final trained model showed a 70% correlation between preferences for horror and for sci-fi, so they confidently released it into production.
There is no evidence of selection bias, but this model may have instead been affected by experimenter's bias, as the engineers kept iterating on their model until it confirmed their preexisting hypothesis.

Evaluating for Bias

A sarcasm-detection model was trained on 80,000 text messages: 40,000 messages sent by adults (18 years and older) and 40,000 messages sent by minors (less than 18 years old). The model was then evaluated on a test set of 20,000 messages: 10,000 from adults and 10,000 from minors. The following confusion matrices show the results for each group (a positive prediction signifies a classification of "sarcastic"; a negative prediction signifies a classificaton of "not sarcastic"):

Adults

True Positives (TPs): 512 False Positives (FPs): 51
False Negatives (FNs): 36 True Negatives (TNs): 9401
$$\text{Precision} = \frac{TP}{TP+FP} = 0.909$$
$$\text{Recall} = \frac{TP}{TP+FN} = 0.934$$

Minors
True Positives (TPs): 2147 False Positives (FPs): 96
False Negatives (FNs): 2177 True Negatives (TNs): 5580
$$\text{Precision} = \frac{TP}{TP+FP} = 0.957$$
$$\text{Recall} = \frac{TP}{TP+FN} = 0.497$$

Explore the options below.

Which of the following statements about the model's test-set performance are true?
Overall, the model performs better on examples from adults than on examples from minors.

The model achieves both precision and recall rates over 90% when detecting sarcasm in text messages from adults.

While the model achieves a slightly higher precision rate for minors than adults, the recall rate is substantially lower for minors, resulting in less reliable predictions for this group.

The model fails to classify approximately 50% of sarcastic messages as "sarcastic."
The recall rate of 0.497 for minors indicates that the model predicts "not sarcastic" for approximately 50% of minors' sarcastic texts.
Approximately 50% of messages sent by minors are classified as "sarcastic" incorrectly.
The precision rate of 0.957 indicates that over 95% of minors' messages classified as "sarcastic" are actually sarcastic.
The 10,000 messages sent by adults are a class-imbalanced dataset.
If we compare the number of messages from adults that are actually sarcastic (TP+FN = 548) with the number of messages that are actually not sarcastic (TN + FP = 9452), we see that "not sarcastic" labels outnumber "sarcastic" labels by a ratio of approximately 17:1.
The 10,000 messages sent by minors are a class-imbalanced dataset.
If we compare the number of messages from minors that are actually sarcastic (TP+FN = 4324) with the number of messages that are actually not sarcastic (TN + FP = 5676), we see that there is a 1.3:1 ratio of "not sarcastic" labels to "sarcastic" labels. Given that the distribution of labels between the two classes is quite close to 50/50, this is not a class-imbalanced dataset.

Explore the options below.

Engineers are working on retraining this model to address inconsistencies in sarcasm-detection accuracy across age demographics, but the model has already been released into production. Which of the following stopgap strategies will help mitigate errors in the model's predictions?
Restrict the model's usage to text messages sent by adults.

The model performs well on text messages from adults (with precision and recall rates both above 90%), so restricting its use to this group will sidestep the systematic errors in classifying minors' text messages.

When the model predicts "not sarcastic" for text messages sent by minors, adjust the output so the model returns a value of "unsure" instead.

The precision rate for text messages sent by minors is high, which means that when the model predicts "sarcastic" for this group, it is nearly always correct.

The problem is that recall is very low for minors; The model fails to identify sarcasm in approximately 50% of examples. Given that the model's negative predictions for minors are no better than random guesses, we can avoid these errors by not providing a prediction in these cases.

Restrict the model's usage to text messages sent by minors.

The systematic errors in this model are specific to text messages sent by minors. Restricting the model's use to the group more susceptible to error would not help.

Adjust the model output so that it returns "sarcastic" for all text messages sent by minors, regardless of what the model originally predicted.

Always predicting "sarcastic" for minors' text messages would increase the recall rate from 0.497 to 1.0, as the model would no longer fail to identify any messages as sarcastic. However, this increase in recall would come at the expense of precision. All the true negatives would be changed to false positives:

True Positives (TPs): 4324 False Positives (FPs): 5676
False Negatives (FNs): 0 True Negatives (TNs): 0

which would decrease the precision rate from 0.957 to 0.432. So, adding this calibration would change the type of error but would not mitigate the magnitude of the error.

Send feedback about...

Machine Learning Crash Course