分类 (Classification):检查您的理解情况(准确率、精确率、召回率)

准确率

查看以下选项。

在以下哪种情况下,高的准确率值表示机器学习模型表现出色?
一种致命但可治愈的疾病影响着 0.01% 的人群。某个机器学习模型使用其症状作为特征,预测这种疾病的准确率为 99.99%。
在这种情形中,准确率是个糟糕的指标。毕竟,即使它只是个一律预测“没病”的“愚蠢”模型,也依然能达到 99.99% 的准确率。而将某个患病的人错误地预测为“没病”则可能是致命的。
一只造价昂贵的机器鸡每天要穿过一条交通繁忙的道路一千次。某个机器学习模型评估交通模式,预测这只鸡何时可以安全穿过街道,准确率为 99.99%。
在一条交通繁忙的道路上,99.99% 的准确率充分表明该机器学习模型的作用比碰运气要好得多。不过,在某些情况下,即使偶尔出现错误,代价也相当高。99.99% 的准确率意味着这只昂贵的鸡平均每 10 天就要更换一次。(这只鸡也可能对它撞到的汽车造成严重损坏。)
roulette 游戏中,一只球会落在旋转轮上,并且最终落入 38 个槽的其中一个内。某个机器学习模型可以使用视觉特征(球的旋转方式、球落下时旋转轮所在的位置、球在旋转轮上方的高度)预测球会落入哪个槽中,准确率为 4%。
这个机器学习模型做出的预测比碰运气要好得多;随机猜测的正确率为 1/38,即准确率为 2.6%。尽管该模型的准确率“只有”4%,但成功预测获得的好处远远大于预测失败的损失。

精确率

查看以下选项。

让我们以一种将电子邮件分为“垃圾邮件”或“非垃圾邮件”这两种类别的分类模型为例。如果提高分类阈值,精确率会怎样?
一定会提高。
提高分类阈值通常会使精确率提高;不过,精确率并不一定会随着阈值的提高单调递增。
可能会提高。
一般来说,提高分类阈值会减少假正例,从而提高精确率。
可能会降低。
一般来说,提高分类阈值会减少假正例,从而提高精确率。
一定会降低。
一般来说,提高分类阈值会减少假正例,从而提高精确率。

召回率

查看以下选项。

让我们以一种将电子邮件分为“垃圾邮件”或“非垃圾邮件”这两种类别的分类模型为例。如果提高分类阈值,召回率会怎样?
一定会提高。
提高分类阈值会导致出现以下两种情况:
  • 真正例数量会减少或保持不变。
  • 假负例数量会增加或保持不变。
因此,召回率一定不会提高。
始终下降或保持不变。
提高分类阈值会导致真正例的数量减少或保持不变,而且会导致假负例的数量增加或保持不变。因此,召回率会保持不变或下降。
始终保持不变。
提高分类阈值会导致真正例的数量减少或保持不变,而且会导致假负例的数量增加或保持不变。因此,召回率会保持不变或下降。

精确率和召回率

查看以下选项。

以两个模型(A 和 B)为例,这两个模型分别对同一数据集进行评估。 以下哪一项陈述属实?
如果模型 A 的精确率优于模型 B,则模型 A 更好。
虽然更高的精确率是好事,但可能是以召回率大幅度降低为代价。一般来说,我们需要同时查看精确率和召回率,或者需要汇总曲线下面积等指标(我们将在后面部分进行讨论)。
如果模型 A 的召回率优于模型 B,则模型 A 更好。
虽然更高的召回率是好事,但可能是以精确率大幅度降低为代价。一般来说,我们需要同时查看精确率和召回率,或者需要汇总曲线下面积等指标(我们将在后面部分进行讨论)。
如果模型 A 的精确率和召回率均优于模型 B,则模型 A 可能更好。
一般来说,如果某个模型在精确率和召回率方面均优于另一模型,则该模型可能更好。很显然,我们需要确保在精确率/召回率点处进行比较,这在实践中非常有用,因为这样做才有实际意义。例如,假设我们的垃圾邮件检测模型需要达到至少 90% 的精确率才算有用,并可以避免不必要的虚假警报。在这种情况下,将 {20% 精确率,99% 召回率} 模型与另一个 {15% 精确率,98% 召回率} 模型进行比较不是特别有意义,因为这两个模型都不符合 90% 的精确率要求。但考虑到这一点,在通过精确率和召回率比较模型时,这是一种很好的方式。

Classification: Check Your Understanding (Accuracy, Precision, Recall)

Accuracy

Explore the options below.

In which of the following scenarios would a high accuracy value suggest that the ML model is doing a good job?
A deadly, but curable, medical condition afflicts .01% of the population. An ML model uses symptoms as features and predicts this affliction with an accuracy of 99.99%.
Accuracy is a poor metric here. After all, even a "dumb" model that always predicts "not sick" would still be 99.99% accurate. Mistakenly predicting "not sick" for a person who actually is sick could be deadly.
An expensive robotic chicken crosses a very busy road a thousand times per day. An ML model evaluates traffic patterns and predicts when this chicken can safely cross the street with an accuracy of 99.99%.
A 99.99% accuracy value on a very busy road strongly suggests that the ML model is far better than chance. In some settings, however, the cost of making even a small number of mistakes is still too high. 99.99% accuracy means that the expensive chicken will need to be replaced, on average, every 10 days. (The chicken might also cause extensive damage to cars that it hits.)
In the game of roulette, a ball is dropped on a spinning wheel and eventually lands in one of 38 slots. Using visual features (the spin of the ball, the position of the wheel when the ball was dropped, the height of the ball over the wheel), an ML model can predict the slot that the ball will land in with an accuracy of 4%.
This ML model is making predictions far better than chance; a random guess would be correct 1/38 of the time—yielding an accuracy of 2.6%. Although the model's accuracy is "only" 4%, the benefits of success far outweigh the disadvantages of failure.

Precision

Explore the options below.

Consider a classification model that separates email into two categories: "spam" or "not spam." If you raise the classification threshold, what will happen to precision?
Definitely increase.
Raising the classification threshold typically increases precision; however, precision is not guaranteed to increase monotonically as we raise the threshold.
Probably increase.
In general, raising the classification threshold reduces false positives, thus raising precision.
Probably decrease.
In general, raising the classification threshold reduces false positives, thus raising precision.
Definitely decrease.
In general, raising the classification threshold reduces false positives, thus raising precision.

Recall

Explore the options below.

Consider a classification model that separates email into two categories: "spam" or "not spam." If you raise the classification threshold, what will happen to recall?
Always increase.
Raising the classification threshold will cause both of the following:
  • The number of true positives will decrease or stay the same.
  • The number of false negatives will increase or stay the same.
Thus, recall will never increase.
Always decrease or stay the same.
Raising our classification threshold will cause the number of true positives to decrease or stay the same and will cause the number of false negatives to increase or stay the same. Thus, recall will either stay constant or decrease.
Always stay constant.
Raising our classification threshold will cause the number of true positives to decrease or stay the same and will cause the number of false negatives to increase or stay the same. Thus, recall will either stay constant or decrease.

Precision and Recall

Explore the options below.

Consider two models—A and B—that each evaluate the same dataset. Which one of the following statements is true?
If Model A has better precision than model B, then model A is better.
While better precision is good, it might be coming at the expense of a large reduction in recall. In general, we need to look at both precision and recall together, or summary metrics like AUC which we'll talk about next.
If model A has better recall than model B, then model A is better.
While better recall is good, it might be coming at the expense of a large reduction in precision. In general, we need to look at both precision and recall together, or summary metrics like AUC, which we'll talk about next.
If model A has better precision and better recall than model B, then model A is probably better.
In general, a model that outperforms another model on both precision and recall is likely the better model. Obviously, we'll need to make sure that comparison is being done at a precision / recall point that is useful in practice for this to be meaningful. For example, suppose our spam detection model needs to have at least 90% precision to be useful and avoid unnecessary false alarms. In this case, comparing one model at {20% precision, 99% recall} to another at {15% precision, 98% recall} is not particularly instructive, as neither model meets the 90% precision requirement. But with that caveat in mind, this is a good way to think about comparing models when using precision and recall.

Send feedback about...

Machine Learning Crash Course