常见问题解答

使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。

我可以使用话题吗?

可以,Sandbox2 支持会话。

所有线程都必须沙盒化

鉴于 Linux 的运作方式,seccomp-bpf 政策仅会应用于当前线程:这意味着,该策略不会应用于其他现有线程,但未来的线程会沿用该政策:

  • 如果您在 execve() 之前启用了沙盒功能的第一个模式下使用 Sandbox2,那么所有线程都将继承此政策,因此不会出现任何问题。这是沙盒的首选模式。
  • 如果您使用的是执行器具有 set_enable_sandbox_before_exec(false) 且沙盒模式希望通过 SandboxMeHere() 将执行沙盒告知执行器的第二模式,请确保过滤器已应用于所有线程。否则,会有沙盒转义的风险:恶意代码可能会从沙盒化的线程迁移到未沙盒化的线程。

我应如何编译沙盒?

如果不小心,很容易继承大量依赖项和附带效应(额外的系统调用、文件访问,甚至是网络连接),这会增加沙盒的难度(跟踪所有附带效应)和安全性(因为系统调用和文件政策更宽泛)。部分编译选项有助于减少此类问题:

  • 静态编译沙盒二进制文件,以避免使用大量系统调用(open/openatmmap 等)的动态链接。
  • 由于 Bazel 默认添加了 pie,但静态与之不兼容,因此请考虑使用功能标志通过 cc_binary 规则中的以下选项将其强制关闭:

    linkstatic = 1,
    features = [
        "fully_static_link",  # link libc statically
        "-pie",
    ],
    

然而:使用静态资源有助于减少 ASLR 堆熵(从 30 位减少到 8 位),让攻击变得更容易。根据沙盒的实现方式和政策谨慎决定哪一种方式更合适:

  • 并非静态:良好的堆 ASLR,可能很难执行初始代码,但代价是沙盒政策不太有效,因而可能会更容易被打破。
  • static:错误的堆 ASLR,可能更容易获取初始代码执行,但更有效的沙盒政策,可能更难突破。

遗憾的是,我们不支持此做法,因为编译器不支持静态 PIE(位置独立可执行文件)。PIE 是通过将二进制文件设为动态对象来实现的,并且动态加载器会在执行该文件之前在随机位置对其进行映射。然后,由于堆传统上是位于二进制文件基址之后的随机偏移量处(并使用 brk 系统调用进行扩展),这意味着对于静态二进制文件,堆 ASLR 熵仅此偏移量,因为没有 PIE。

如需查看这些编译选项的示例,请参阅静态示例 BUILD.bazelstatic_bin.cc 是静态编译的,这样我们就可以设置非常严格的系统调用政策。这也非常适合第三方二进制文件沙盒。

我可以对 32 位 x86 二进制文件进行沙盒化吗?

Sandbox2 只能沙盒化编译时所使用的架构。

此外,沙盒 2 也不再支持 32 位 x86。如果您尝试使用 64 位 x86 执行程序对 32 位 x86 二进制文件或 64 位 x86 二进制文件进行沙盒测试(通过 int 0x80)进行沙盒化处理,两者都会产生可通过架构标签 [X86-32] 识别的沙盒违规行为。

造成这种情况的原因在于,架构之间的系统调用编号有所不同,而且由于系统调用政策是用执行器的架构编写的,因此允许沙盒接受其他架构是非常危险的。事实上,这可能会导致系统调用看似无害的系统调用,实际上,这意味着另一种更有害的系统调用可能会使沙盒逃脱。

执行程序进程可以请求的沙盒数量是否有限制?

对于每个 Sandboxee 实例(从 Forkserver 衍生的新进程),系统会创建一个新线程 - 这就是限制所在。

执行器可以请求创建多个沙盒吗?

不是。具有一对一关系 - 执行器实例存储沙盒的 PID,管理沙盒实例与通信实例的通信等。

为什么我在 forkserver.cc 内看到“函数未实现”?

Sandbox2 仅支持在合理的新内核上运行。目前的终止函数是 3.19 内核,但将来可能会有所变化。这是因为我们使用了相对较新的内核功能,包括带有 TSYNC 标志的用户命名空间和 seccomp。

如果您在生产环境中运行,这应该没有问题,因为几乎整个机群都在运行新的足够内核。如果您对此有任何疑问,请与我们联系。

如果您在 Debian 或 Ubuntu 上运行,只需更新内核即可:

sudo apt-get install linux-image-<RECENT_VERSION>

Frequently Asked Questions

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

Can I use threads?

Yes, threads are supported in Sandbox2.

All threads must be sandboxed

Because of the way Linux works, the seccomp-bpf policy is applied to the current thread only: this means the policy is not applied to other existing threads, but future threads will inherit the policy:

  • If you are using Sandbox2 in the first mode where sandboxing is enabled before execve(), all threads will inherit the policy, and there is no problem. This is the preferred mode of sandboxing.
  • If you are using the second mode where the executor has set_enable_sandbox_before_exec(false) and the Sandboxee tells the executor when it wants to be sandboxed with SandboxMeHere(), ensure the filter is applied to all threads. Otherwise, there is a risk of a sandbox escape: malicious code could migrate from a sandboxed thread to an unsandboxed thread.

How should I compile my Sandboxee?

If you are not careful, it is easy to inherit a lot of dependencies and side effects (extra syscalls, file accesses, or even network connections) which make sandboxing harder (tracking down all side effects) and less safe (because the syscall and file policies are wider). Some compile options can help reduce such issues:

  • Statically compile the Sandboxee binary to avoid dynamic linking which uses a lot of syscalls (open/openat, mmap, etc.).
  • Since Bazel adds pie by default, but static is incompatible with it, consider using the features flag to force it off through the following options in cc_binary rules:

    linkstatic = 1,
    features = [
        "fully_static_link",  # link libc statically
        "-pie",
    ],
    

However: Using static has the downside of reducing ASLR heap entropy (from 30 bits to 8 bits), making exploits easier. Decide carefully what is preferable depending on your sandbox implementation and policy:

  • not static: good heap ASLR, potentially harder to get initial code execution but at the cost of a less effective sandbox policy, potentially easier to break out of.
  • static: bad heap ASLR, potentially easier to get initial code execution but a more effective sandbox policy, potentially harder to break out of.

It is an unfortunate choice to make because the compiler does not support static PIE (Position Independent Executables). PIE is implemented by having the binary be a dynamic object, and the dynamic loader maps it at a random location before executing it. Then, because the heap is traditionally placed at a random offset after the base address of the binary (and expanded with brk syscall), this means for static binaries the heap ASLR entropy is only this offset because there is no PIE.

For examples of these compiling options, look at the static example BUILD.bazel: static_bin.cc is compiled statically, which allows us to have a very tight syscall policy. This also works nicely for sandboxing third-party binaries.

Can I sandbox 32-bit x86 binaries?

Sandbox2 can only sandbox the same architecture as it was compiled with.

In addition, support for 32-bit x86 has been removed from Sandbox2. If you try to use a 64-bit x86 executor to sandbox a 32-bit x86 binary, or a 64-bit x86 binary making 32-bit syscalls (via int 0x80), both will generate a sandbox violation that can be identified by the architecture label [X86-32].

The reason behind this behavior is that syscall numbers differ between architectures and since the syscall policy is written in the architecture of the executor, it would be dangerous to allow a different architecture for the Sandboxee. Indeed, this could lead to allowing a seemingly harmless syscall that in fact means another more harmful syscall could open up the sandbox to an escape.

Are there any limits on the number of sandboxes an executor process can request?

For each Sandboxee instance (new process spawned from the forkserver), a new thread is created – that's where the limitation lies.

Can an Executor request the creation of more than one Sandbox?

No. There is a 1:1 relation – an Executor instance stores the PID of the Sandboxee, manages the Comms instance to the Sandbox instance, etc.

Why do I get “Function not implemented” inside forkserver.cc?

Sandbox2 only supports running on reasonably new kernels. Our current cut-off is the 3.19 kernel, though that might change in the future. The reason for this is that we are using relatively new kernel features including user namespaces and seccomp with the TSYNC flag.

If you are running on prod, this should not be in issue, since almost the entire fleet is running a new enough kernel. If you have any issues with this, please contact us.

If you are running on Debian or Ubuntu, updating your kernel is as easy as running:

sudo apt-get install linux-image-<RECENT_VERSION>