WebP 压缩研究

使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。

简介

我们根据我们在 libwebp 中发布的新编码器对 WebP 和 JPEG 图片压缩进行了比较评估。目标是使用公开提供的工具运行一组易于重复的实验,并比较 WebP 和 JPEG 实现的图片压缩效果。

我们之前对 WebP 的比较研究侧重于从大量网络中抓取的 JPEG 来源,评估大量图片。JPEG 是一种有损压缩格式,会在来源中引入压缩失真。此外,我们最初还使用峰值信噪比 (PSNR) 作为质量指标。将 PSNR 用作图片的质量指标时,它存在一些缺点。根据社区的反馈,我们会对 PNG 图片(包括一些标准测试套件中提供的图片)进行实验。在本研究中,我们使用结构相似度 (SSIM) 作为这项研究的质量指标。SSIM 被视为更好的视觉质量指标

方法

我们介绍了两种类型的评估。在第一种情况下,我们研究了 WebP 在相同质量的 JPEG 级别下实现的额外压缩。具体来说,我们会生成与 JPEG 图片相同质量(根据 SSIM 索引)的 WebP 图片,然后比较 WebP 和 JPEG 图片的文件大小。在第二种情况下,我们会针对 WebP 和 JPEG 分析 SSIM 与每像素位数 (bpp) 的对比情况。这些图表显示了针对 WebP 和 JPEG 的速率失真权衡。

实验数据集包含 PNG 图片。这些图片是从可公开访问的标准测试套件和从网络中抓取的大量 PNG 图片获得的。

每个实验都包含运行一组命令。只有公开提供的命令行工具可用于确保实验在合理范围内可重现。用于此实验的命令行工具包括:

  • identifyconvertImageMagick 中的命令行工具。我们使用版本 6.5.7 进行此分析。我们使用 convert 在 PNG 和 PPM 格式之间进行转换。我们使用 identify 提取了图片的宽度和高度信息。

  • cwebpdwebp 是命令行工具,属于我们在 2011 年第 1 季度发布的 libwebp 库的一部分。我们使用的是 0.1.2 版库。我们使用 cwebpdwebp 对 WebP 图片进行了编码和解码。我们使用了这些工具的默认编码和解码参数。

  • cjpegdjpeg 是属于 libjpeg 库的命令行工具。我们使用的是该库的 6b 版。我们使用 cjpegdjpeg 对 JPEG 图片进行编码和解码。我们将 cjpeg-optimize 标志结合使用可以优化文件大小。我们将所有其他参数都设置为默认值。

使用 SSIM 测量图像质量。如前所述,SSIM 通常被认为优于 PSNR。对于 SSIM 索引计算,我们使用 C++ 中的公开实现。读者可以从代码库中下载我们在实验中使用的 Python 脚本

图片数据集

我们选择这些数据集来评估标准测试图片集合以及对大量图片进行测试。以下是实验中使用的数据集列表。

  1. Lenna:广泛使用的 Lenna 图片(512 x 512 像素)。

  2. 柯达柯达真彩色图片套件中的 24 张图片。

  3. Tecnick:在 Tecnick.com 上提供的 100 张图像。我们使用了 100 张原始尺寸的 RGB 彩色图像。

  4. Image_crawl:为了测试大量图片,我们从 Google 图片搜索网页抓取数据库中随机收集了一个 PNG 图片样本。大多数被抓取的 PNG 图片都是图标、图形、图表、扫描的文档等。不过,标准测试集合中的大多数图片都是照片,而不是计算机生成的图片。为了使此数据集在本质上与标准测试套件类似,我们对这些 PNG 图片运行了人脸检测算法,并在此实验中仅考虑了大约 11000 张(通过了此检测测试的图片)。

实验 1:WebP 与 JPEG(相等的 SSIM 索引)

在本实验中,我们会使用类似的 SSIM 值生成 JPEG 和 WebP 图片,并衡量文件大小之比。实验步骤如下:

  1. 使用固定质量参数 Q 将源 PNG 图片压缩为 JPEG,并录制源 PNG 图片和压缩的 JPEG 图片之间的 SSIM。

  2. 使用可尽可能实现上述记录的 SSIM 的质量参数将同一来源图片压缩到 WebP 中。

我们对数据集中的所有图片运行了这两个步骤,然后衡量了 JPEG 和 WebP 图片的平均文件大小和 SSIM。

下表显示了 JPEG 质量参数 Q 的三个不同值(50、75 和 95)的实验结果。质量参数 50 和 95 分别表示低比特率和高比特率的图像压缩。我们还添加了 JPEG 质量参数 75,因为它是 JPEG 图片的一般建议质量级别。

表 1:与 JPEG Q=50 对应的同一 SSIM 索引的 WebP 和 JPEG 的平均文件大小

伦纳 Kodak 特克尼克 图片抓取
WebP:平均文件大小
(平均 SSIM)
17.4 KB
(0.841)
31.0 KB
(0.898)
92.4 KB
(0.917)
6.5 KB
(0.901)
JPEG:平均文件大小
(平均 SSIM)
23.5 KB
(0.840)
42.7 KB
(0.897)
124.6 KB
(0.916)
9.9 KB
(0.899)
WebP 与 JPEG 文件大小之比 0.74 0.72 0.74 0.66

表 2:对应 JPEG Q=75 的同一 SSIM 索引的 WebP 和 JPEG 的平均文件大小

伦纳 Kodak 特克尼克 图片抓取
WebP:平均文件大小
(平均 SSIM)
26.7 KB
(0.864)
46.5 KB
(0.932)
139.0 KB
(0.939)
9.9 KB
(0.930)
JPEG:平均文件大小
(平均 SSIM)
37.0 KB
(0.863)
66.0 KB
(0.931)
191.0 KB
(0.938)
14.4 KB
(0.929)
WebP 与 JPEG 文件大小之比 0.72 0.70 0.73 0.69 欧元

表 3:对应 JPEG Q=95 的同一 SSIM 索引的 WebP 和 JPEG 的平均文件大小

伦纳 Kodak 特克尼克 图片抓取
WebP:平均文件大小
(平均 SSIM)
74.3 KB
(0.910)
118.0 KB
(0.978)
356.0 KB
(0.970)
23.4 KB
(0.969)
JPEG:平均文件大小
(平均 SSIM)
104 KB
(0.907)
162 KB
(0.976)
492 KB
(0.970)
31.3 KB
(0.968)
WebP 与 JPEG 文件大小之比 0.71 0.73 0.72 0.75

从上表可以看出,与 JPEG 相比,S/3 索引在 SSIM 指数相同或略高的情况下,可提供 25%-34% 的压缩增益。

实验 2:针对 WebP 和 JPEG 的 SSIM 与 BPP 的关系

我们研究了 JPEG 和 WebP 的速率失真权衡。特别是,对于 JPEG 和 WebP,我们研究了 SSIM 与每像素比特数 (bpp) 的比较。我们采用源 PNG 图片,使用所有可能 (0-100) 的质量值将其压缩为 JPEG 和 WebP。然后,我们会显示针对每个 JPEG 和 WebP 实现的 SSIM 和 bpp。下图显示了从我们使用的 3 个公共数据集中选择的 3 张图片的 SSIM 与 bpp 关系图。

图 1:Lenna 的 SSIM 与 BPP

《Ssim vs. bpp for Lenna》

图 2:Kodak 数据集中 kodim19.png 的 SSIM 与 BPP 对比

《Ssim vs. bpp for Kodim19》

图 3:Tecnick 数据集中 RGB_OR_1200x1200_061.png 的 SSIM 与 BPP 对比

RGB_OR_1200x1200 的 ssim 与 bpp

此外,我们还研究了 Kodak 和 Tecnick 数据集 SSIM 与 bpp 图的平均行为。为了绘制出平均行为,我们使用 WebP 和 JPEG 以 100 个不同的质量值压缩数据集中的所有图片。然后,我们绘制每个质量值的 SSIM 和 bpp 的平均值。图片抓取数据集由不能用于进行这种数据汇总的异构图片组成。以下图表分别显示了 Kodak 和 Tecnick 数据集 SSIM 和 bpp 的平均行为。

图 4:柯达数据集的 SSIM 与 BPP。

CANNOT TRANSLATE

图 5:Tecnick 数据集的 SSIM 与 BPP 对比

Tecnick 数据集的 ssim 与 bpp

总体而言,从上面的曲线图中我们可以看到,WebP 需要的每像素位数少于 JPEG 才能达到相同的 SSIM 指数。

总结

该研究评估了 WebP 压缩与 JPEG 的对比情况。我们观察到,与等效的 SSIM 索引对应的 JPEG 文件大小相比,WebP 的平均文件大小要小 25%-34%。SSIM 与 bpp 曲线图表明,对于相同的 SSIM 索引,WebP 每像素所需的位数总是少于 JPEG。这些结果表明,与 JPEG 相比,WebP 可以显著提升压缩效果。


1 Huynh-Thu, Q.缅甸(2008)。“PSNR 在图片/视频质量评估中的有效性范围”。电子信函 44:800-801.doi:10.1049/el:20080522。

2 Z. Wang、A. C. 博维克R. Sheikh 和 E. P. Simoncelli”,“Image quality Assessment: 从错误测量到结构相似性”,Image Processing,IEEE Transaction, Volume 13, Issue 4, 600-612, 2004。

WebP

WebP Compression Study

Introduction

We do a comparative evaluation of WebP and JPEG image compression based on the new encoder that we released in libwebp. The goal is to run a set of easily repeatable experiments using publicly available tools and compare the image compression achieved by WebP and JPEG.

Our earlier comparative study of WebP focused on evaluating a large number of images and was conducted on JPEG sources that were crawled from the web. JPEG is a lossy compression format and introduces compression artifacts to the source. In addition, we used initially the Peak Signal-to-Noise Ratio or PSNR as a quality metric. PSNR has some downsides when used as a quality metric of images. Based on feedback from the community, we conduct the experiments on PNG images including images available in a few standard test suites. We use in this study Structural Similarity or SSIM as quality metric for this study. SSIM is considered to be a better visual quality metric.

Methodology

We describe two types of evaluations. In the first case, we study the additional compression achieved by WebP at the same quality level of JPEG. In particular, we generate WebP images of same quality (as per SSIM index) as the JPEG images and then compare the file sizes of WebP and JPEG images. In the second case, we analyze SSIM vs bits per pixel (bpp) plots for WebP and JPEG. These plots show the rate-distortion trade off for WebP and JPEG.

The data sets for the experiments consist of PNG images. These images were obtained from publicly accessible standard test image suites as well as a large collection of PNG images that were crawled from the web.

Each experiment consists of running a set of commands. Only publicly available command line tools are used to keep the experiments reasonably reproductible for others. The command line tools used for this experiment are:

  • identify and convert are command-line tools that are part of ImageMagick. We used version 6.5.7 for this analysis. We used convert to convert between PNG and PPM formats. We used identify to extract the width and height information of an image.

  • cwebp and dwebp are command-line tools that are part of the libwebp library we released in Q1 2011. We used version 0.1.2 of the library. We used cwebp and dwebp to encode and decode the WebP images. We used the default encoding and decoding parameters of these tools.

  • cjpeg and djpeg are command-line tools that are part of the libjpeg library. We used version 6b of the library. We used cjpeg and djpeg to encode and decode JPEG image. We used cjpeg with the -optimize flag to optimize for file size. We set all other parameters to their default values.

The quality of an image was measured using SSIM. As previously noted, SSIM is generally accepted as a better quality metric than PSNR. For the SSIM index computation, we used a publicly available implementation in C++. The reader may download the Python scripts we used in the experiments from the code repository for reference.

Image Data Sets

We chose the data sets to evaluate standard test image collections as well as on a large set of images. The following are the list of data sets used in the experiments.

  1. Lenna: widely used Lenna image (512 x 512 pixels).

  2. Kodak: 24 images from the Kodak true color image suite.

  3. Tecnick: 100 images from the collection available at Tecnick.com. We used the 100 original size RGB color images.

  4. Image_crawl: To test a large number of images, we collected a random sample of PNG images from Google Image Search web crawl database. Most of the crawled PNG images are icons, graphics, charts, scanned documents, etc. However most images in the standard test collections are like photographs, rather than computer generated images. To make this dataset similar in nature to the standard test suites, we ran a face detection algorithm over these PNG images and considered only those images (around 11,000) for this experiment, that passed this detection test.

Experiment 1: WebP vs. JPEG at Equal SSIM Index

In this experiment we generate JPEG and WebP images at comparable SSIM values and measure the ratio of file sizes. The steps of the experiment are as follows:

  1. Compress the source PNG image to JPEG with a fixed quality parameter Q and record the SSIM between the source PNG image and the compressed JPEG image.

  2. Compress the same source image to WebP with a quality parameter that achieves the above recorded SSIM as closely as possible.

We ran the above two steps on all the images in a dataset and then measured the average file size and SSIM for JPEG and WebP images.

The following tables show the results of this experiment for three different values (50, 75 and 95) of JPEG quality parameter Q. Quality parameters 50 and 95 represent the image compression at low and high bit-rates respectively. We have also included JPEG quality parameter 75 since it is the generally recommend quality level for JPEG images.

Table 1: Average file size for WebP and JPEG for the same SSIM index corresponding to JPEG Q=50

Lenna Kodak Tecnik Image_crawl
WebP: Average File Size
(Average SSIM)
17.4 KB
(0.841)
31.0 KB
(0.898)
92.4 KB
(0.917)
6.5 KB
(0.901)
JPEG: Average File Size
(Average SSIM)
23.5 KB
(0.840)
42.7 KB
(0.897)
124.6 KB
(0.916)
9.9 KB
(0.899)
Ratio of WebP to JPEG file size 0.74 0.72 0.74 0.66

Table 2: Average file size for WebP and JPEG for the same SSIM index corresponding to JPEG Q=75

Lenna Kodak Tecnik Image_crawl
WebP: Average File Size
(Average SSIM)
26.7 KB
(0.864)
46.5 KB
(0.932)
139.0 KB
(0.939)
9.9 KB
(0.930)
JPEG: Average File Size
(Average SSIM)
37.0 KB
(0.863)
66.0 KB
(0.931)
191.0 KB
(0.938)
14.4 KB
(0.929)
Ratio of WebP to JPEG file size 0.72 0.70 0.73 0.69

Table 3: Average file size for WebP and JPEG for same SSIM index corresponding to JPEG Q=95

Lenna Kodak Tecnik Image_crawl
WebP: Average File Size
(Average SSIM)
74.3 KB
(0.910)
118.0 KB
(0.978)
356.0 KB
(0.970)
23.4 KB
(0.969)
JPEG: Average File Size
(Average SSIM)
104 KB
(0.907)
162 KB
(0.976)
492 KB
(0.970)
31.3 KB
(0.968)
Ratio of WebP to JPEG file size 0.71 0.73 0.72 0.75

From the tables above, we can observe that WebP gives additional 25%-34% compression gains compared to JPEG at equal or slightly better SSIM index.

Experiment 2: SSIM vs. BPP Plots for WebP and JPEG

We study the rate-distortion trade-off of JPEG and WebP. In particular we study the SSIM vs. bits per pixel (bpp) plots for JPEG and WebP. We take the source PNG image, compress it to JPEG and WebP using all possible (0-100) quality values. Then for each quality value we plot the SSIM and bpp achieved for JPEG and WebP. Following figures show such SSIM vs bpp plots for the 3 images chosen from the 3 public data sets we have used.

Figure 1: SSIM vs. BPP for Lenna

ssim vs. bpp for Lenna

Figure 2: SSIM vs. BPP for kodim19.png from the Kodak dataset

ssim vs. bpp for Kodim19

Figure 3: SSIM vs. BPP for RGB_OR_1200x1200_061.png from the Tecnick dataset

ssim vs. bpp for RGB_OR_1200x1200

Additionally, we studied the average behavior of SSIM vs bpp plot for the Kodak and Tecnick data sets. To plot the average behavior, we compress all the images in a dataset using WebP and JPEG at 100 different quality values. We then plot the average of SSIM and bpp for each quality value. The image crawl data set consists of heterogeneous images that don't lend themselves to this data aggregation. The following plots show the average behavior of SSIM and bpp for the Kodak and Tecnick data sets respectively.

Figure 4: SSIM vs. BPP for the Kodak dataset

ssim vs. bpp for Kodak

Figure 5: SSIM vs. BPP for the Tecnick dataset

ssim vs. bpp for Tecnick dataset

Overall, from the above plots we can observe that WebP consistently requires less bits per pixel than JPEG to achieve the same SSIM index.

Conclusion

The study evaluated WebP compression in comparison to JPEG. We observed that the average WebP file size is 25%-34% smaller compared to JPEG file size at equivalent SSIM index. The SSIM vs bpp plots showed that WebP consistently required less bits per pixel than JPEG for the same SSIM index. These results indicate that WebP can provide significant compression improvements over JPEG.


1 Huynh-Thu, Q.; Ghanbari, M. (2008). "Scope of validity of PSNR in image/video quality assessment". Electronics Letters 44: 800-801.doi:10.1049/el:20080522.

2 Z. Wang, A. C. Bovik, H. R. Sheikh, and E. P. Simoncelli, "Image quality assessment: From error measurement to structural similarity," Image Processing, IEEE Transactions, Volume 13, Issue 4, pp. 600-612, 2004.

Authentication required

You need to be signed in with Google+ to do that.

Signing you in...

Google Developers needs your permission to do that.