压缩技术

使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。

Google 一直在设法提高网页加载速度。 一种方法是缩小网页图片。在大多数网页上,图片所占空间最高可达 60%-65% ,且网页大小是决定总呈现时间的主要因素。网页大小对移动设备尤为重要,因为较小的图片既能节省带宽,又能延长电池续航时间。

WebP 是 Google 开发的一种新的图片格式,可在 Chrome、Opera 和 Android 中加以支持,经过优化,可通过 Web 呈现更快、更小的图片。WebP 图片的大小与具有同等视觉质量的 PNG 和 JPEG 图片相比大约小 30% 。此外,WebP 图片格式的功能与其他格式的功能相当。支持:

  • 有损压缩:有损压缩基于 VP8 关键帧编码。VP8 是 On2 Technologies 创建的一种视频压缩格式,是 VP6 和 VP7 格式的后续版本。

  • 无损压缩:无损压缩格式由 WebP 团队开发。

  • 透明度:8 位 Alpha 通道适用于图形图像。Alpha 通道可与有损 RGB 搭配使用,而有损 RGB 是目前无法以任何其他格式使用的。

  • 动画:支持彩色动画图片。

  • 元数据:它可以包含 EXIF 和 XMP 元数据(例如,供相机使用)。

  • 颜色配置文件:可能包含嵌入式 ICC 配置文件。

由于可以更好地压缩图片,并且支持所有这些功能,因此 WebP 可以很好地替代大多数图片格式:PNG、JPEG 或 GIF。更棒的是,您知道 WebP 能带来新的图片优化机会吗?比如支持有透明度的有损图片。有!WebP 是瑞士军刀中的图片格式。

那么,这个魔法是如何做到的呢?让我们身体力行,一探究竟。

有损 WebP

WebP' 有损压缩使用与 VP8 相同的方法来预测(视频)帧。VP8 基于块预测,与所有基于块的编解码器一样,VP8 将帧分为多个称为“块”的较小段。

在每个宏块中,编码器可以根据之前处理的块预测冗余动作和颜色信息。图片帧是“键”,也就是说,它仅使用每个宏块的直接空间邻近区域中已解码的像素,并尝试去除这些宏块的未知部分。这称为预测性编码(请参阅 VP8 视频的帧内编码)。

然后可以从块中减去冗余数据,从而实现更高效的压缩。我们只留下了微小差异(称为“残差”),用于以压缩形式进行传输。

残差经过数学上的反转转换(著名的 DCT,代表离散余弦转换)后,残差通常包含多个零值,可以更有效地进行压缩。然后对结果进行量化和熵编码。有趣的是,量化步骤是唯一丢失有损的位数(在下面的图表中搜索除以 QPj 的情况)。所有其他步骤都是不可逆的无损步骤!

下图显示了 WebP 有损压缩所涉及的步骤。与 JPEG 相比,区分特征的特征则以红色圆圈标示。

WebP 使用块量化,并在不同的图像段之间自动分配位:对于低熵段,减少位;对于高熵段,采用高位。WebP 使用算术熵编码,与 JPEG 中使用的霍夫曼编码相比,可实现更好的压缩效果。

VP8 预测模式

VP8 预测模式与以下三种类型的宏块一起使用:

  • 4x4 亮度
  • 16x16 亮度
  • 8x8 色度

以下宏块共享四种常见的预测内模式:

  • H_PRED(水平预测)。在每个块中填充左列 L 的副本。

  • V_PRED(垂直预测)。使用上一行的副本 A 填充块的每一行。

  • DC_PRED(DC 预测)。使用 A 上方一行中像素和 L 左边一列的像素平均值来填充块。

  • TM_PRED(TrueMotion 预测)。该模式以由 On2 Technologies 开发的压缩技术的名称命名。除了 A 行和 L 列之外,TM_PRED 还会在代码块的上方和左侧使用像素 P。系统会从 A 的像素(从 P 开始)传播像素,并使用 L 的像素来传播每一行。

下图说明了 WebP 有损压缩中使用的不同预测模式。

对于 4x4 亮度块,还有 6 个与 V_PRED 和 H_PRED 类似的其他帧内模式,但对应于预测不同方向的像素。如需详细了解这些模式,请参阅 VP8 比特流指南

自适应块量化

为了改善图片质量,系统会将图片细分为具有明显相似特征的区域。对于每个片段,压缩参数(量化步骤、过滤强度等)是单独调整的。这会将位重新分发到最有用的位置,从而产生高效的压缩。VP8 最多允许四个片段(VP8 比特流的限制)。

为什么 WebP(有损)比 JPEG 更好

预测编码是 WebP 胜过 JPEG 的主要原因。块自适应量化也会产生很大的影响。过滤在中等/低比特率方面非常有用。与霍夫曼编码相比,布尔算术编码可提供 5%-10% 的压缩增益。

无损 WebP

WebP 无损编码基于使用多种不同技术转换图像的方法。然后,对转换参数和转换后的图片数据进行熵编码。应用于图像的转换包括像素空间预测、颜色空间转换、使用本地新兴调色板、将多个像素打包到一个像素以及 Alpha 替换。对于熵编码,我们使用 LZ77-Huffman 编码的变体,该变体使用距离值和紧凑稀疏值的 2D 编码。

预测器(空间)转换

空间预测通过利用相邻像素通常是相关联的这一事实来减少熵。在预测器转换中,当前像素值是根据已解码的像素(扫描行顺序)预测的,并且只有残差值(实际值 - 预测值)经过编码。预测模式决定了要使用的预测类型。图片会被分成多个方形区域,一个方形中的所有像素都使用相同的预测模式。

有 13 种不同的预测模式。常用元素包括 左侧像素、顶部像素、左上角像素和右上角像素其余值是左侧、顶部、左上角和右上角的组合(平均值)。

颜色(去关联)转换

颜色转换的目标是装饰每个像素的 R、G 和 B 值。颜色转换会按原样保留绿色 (G) 值,根据绿色转换红色 (R),并根据绿色转换蓝色 (B),然后根据红色转换。

与预测器转换的情况一样,首先,图片会被分成多块,各个块中的所有像素会使用相同的转换模式。对于每个代码块,有三种颜色转换元素:green_to_red、green_to_blue 和 red_to_blue。

减 Green 转换

“减去绿色转换”会从每个像素的红色和蓝色值中减去绿色值。如果存在此转换,解码器需要将绿色值同时添加到红色和蓝色。这是上述常规颜色装饰关系转换的一个特例,其出现频率足以保证其被切断。

颜色索引(调色板)转换

如果唯一像素值不多,那么创建颜色索引数组并将像素值替换为数组索引可能会更高效。颜色索引转换可以实现此目的。颜色索引转换会检查图像中的唯一 ARGB 值的数量。如果该数字低于阈值 (256),它会创建一个包含这些 ARGB 值的数组,然后使用该数组值将像素值替换为相应的索引。

颜色缓存编码

无损 WebP 压缩使用已见的图像片段来重建新像素。如果找不到感兴趣的匹配项,该方法还可以使用本地调色板。此调色板会不断更新,以重复使用近期的颜色。在下图中,您可以看到本地颜色缓存的实际运作方式,随着扫描过程的下降,系统使用 32 种最近使用的颜色逐步更新。

LZ77 后向参考

向后引用是长度和距离代码的元组。长度是指要复制的扫描行顺序中的像素数。距离代码是一个数字,表示之前已见过的像素的位置,即要从中复制像素的位置。长度和距离值使用 LZ77 前缀编码进行存储。

LZ77 前缀编码将大整数值分成两部分:前缀代码和额外的位。前缀代码以熵代码的形式存储,而多余位则按原样存储(不含熵代码)。

下图展示了具有字词匹配功能(而非像素)的 LZ77(2D 变体)。

有损 WebP(Alpha 版)

除了有损 WebP(RGB 颜色)和无损 WebP(具有 alpha 的无损 RGB)之外,还有另一种允许 RGB 通道和有损编码(Alpha 通道)的 WebP 模式。目前,任何现有的图片格式都无法使用这种可能性(有损 RGB 和无损 Alpha)。目前,需要提高透明度的网站站长必须使用 PNG 对图片进行无损编码,这会导致图片大幅膨胀。WebP Alpha 值以每像素低位编码图片,提供了一种有效缩减此类图片大小的方式。Alpha 通道的无损压缩比有损(质量为 90)WebP 编码只增加了 22% 字节

总体而言,用有损+Alpha 版 WebP 取代透明 PNG 文件后,平均大小可降低 60-70%。这已被证实对包含大量图标的移动网站来说是个很有吸引力的功能(例如 everything.me)。

Compression Techniques

At Google, we are constantly looking at ways to make web pages load faster. One way to do this is by making web images smaller. Images comprise up to 60%-65% of bytes on most web pages and page size is a major factor in total rendering time. Page size is especially important for mobile devices, where smaller images save both bandwidth and battery life.

WebP is a new image format developed by Google and supported in Chrome, Opera and Android that is optimized to enable faster and smaller images on the Web. WebP images are about 30% smaller in size compared to PNG and JPEG images at equivalent visual quality. In addition, the WebP image format has feature parity with other formats as well. It supports:

  • Lossy compression: The lossy compression is based on VP8 key frame encoding. VP8 is a video compression format created by On2 Technologies as a successor to the VP6 and VP7 formats.

  • Lossless compression: The lossless compression format is developed by the WebP team.

  • Transparency: 8-bit alpha channel is useful for graphical images. The Alpha channel can be used along with lossy RGB, a feature that's currently not available with any other format.

  • Animation: It supports true-color animated images.

  • Metadata: It may have EXIF and XMP metadata (used by cameras, for example).

  • Color Profile: It may have an embedded ICC profile.

Due to better compression of images and support for all these features, WebP can be an excellent replacement for most image formats: PNG, JPEG or GIF. Even better, did you know that WebP enables new image optimization opportunities, such as support for lossy images with transparency? Yep! WebP is the Swiss Army knife of image formats.

So, how is this magic done? Let's roll up our sleeves and take a look under the hood.

Lossy WebP

WebP's lossy compression uses the same methodology as VP8 for predicting (video) frames. VP8 is based on block prediction and like any block-based codec, VP8 divides the frame into smaller segments called macroblocks.

Within each macroblock, the encoder can predict redundant motion and color information based on previously processed blocks. The image frame is "key" in the sense that it only uses the pixels already decoded in the immediate spatial neighborhood of each of the macroblocks, and tries to inpaint the unknown part of them. This is called predictive coding (see intra-frame coding of the VP8 video.

The redundant data can then be subtracted from the block, which results in more efficient compression. We are only left with a small difference, called residual, to transmit in a compressed form.

After being subject to a mathematically invertible transform (the famed DCT, which stands for Discrete Cosine Transform), the residuals typically contain many zero values, which can be compressed much more effectively. The result is then quantized and entropy-coded. Amusingly, the quantization step is the only one where bits are lossy-ly discarded (search for the divide by QPj in the diagram below). All other steps are invertible and lossless!

The following diagram shows the steps involved in WebP lossy compression. The differentiating features compared to JPEG are circled in red.

WebP uses block quantization and distributes bits adaptively across different image segments: fewer bits for low entropy segments and higher bits for higher entropy segments. WebP uses Arithmetic entropy encoding, achieving better compression compared to the Huffman encoding used in JPEG.

VP8 Intra-prediction Modes

VP8 intra-prediction modes are used with three types of macroblocks:

  • 4x4 luma
  • 16x16 luma
  • 8x8 chroma

Four common intra-prediction modes are shared by these macroblocks:

  • H_PRED (horizontal prediction). Fills each column of the block with a copy of the left column, L.

  • V_PRED (vertical prediction). Fills each row of the block with a copy of the above row, A.

  • DC_PRED (DC prediction). Fills the block with a single value using the average of the pixels in the row above A and the column to the left of L.

  • TM_PRED (TrueMotion prediction). A mode that gets its name from a compression technique developed by On2 Technologies. In addition to the row A and column L, TM_PRED uses the pixel P above and to the left of the block. Horizontal differences between pixels in A (starting from P) are propagated using the pixels from L to start each row.

The diagram below illustrates the different prediction modes used in WebP lossy compression.

For 4x4 luma blocks, there are six additional intra modes similar to V_PRED and H_PRED, but that correspond to predicting pixels in different directions. More detail on these modes can be found in the VP8 Bitstream Guide.

Adaptive Block Quantization

To improve the quality of an image, the image is segmented into areas that have visibly similar features. For each of these segments, the compression parameters (quantization steps, filtering strength, etc.) are tuned independently. This yields efficient compression by redistributing bits to where they are most useful. VP8 allows a maximum of four segments (a limitation of the VP8 bitstream).

Why WebP (lossy) is Better than JPEG

Prediction coding is a main reason WebP wins over JPEG. Block adaptive quantization makes a big difference, too. Filtering helps at mid/low bitrates. Boolean arithmetic encoding provides 5%-10% compression gains compared to Huffman encoding.

Lossless WebP

The WebP-lossless encoding is based on transforming the image using several different techniques. Then, entropy coding is performed on the transform parameters and transformed image data. The transforms applied to the image include spatial prediction of pixels, color space transform, using locally emerging palettes, packing multiple pixels into one pixel, and alpha replacement. For the entropy coding we use a variant of LZ77-Huffman coding, which uses 2D encoding of distance values and compact sparse values.

Predictor (Spatial) Transform

Spatial prediction is used to reduce entropy by exploiting the fact that neighboring pixels are often correlated. In the predictor transform, the current pixel value is predicted from the pixels that are already decoded (in scan-line order), and only the residual value (actual - predicted) is encoded. The prediction mode determines the type of prediction to use. The image is divided into multiple square regions and all the pixels in one square use the same prediction mode.

There are 13 different possible prediction modes. Prevalent ones are left, top, top-left & top-right pixels. The remaining ones are combinations (averages) of left, top, top-left and top-right.

Color (de-correlation) Transform

The goal of the color transform is to decorrelate the R, G and B values of each pixel. Color transform keeps the green (G) value as it is, transforms red (R) based on green, and transforms blue (B) based on green and then based on red.

As is the case for the predictor transform, first the image is divided into blocks and the same transform mode is used for all the pixels in a block. For each block there are three types of color transform elements: green_to_red, green_to_blue, and red_to_blue.

Subtract Green Transform

The "subtract green transform" subtracts the green values from the red and blue values of each pixel. When this transform is present, the decoder needs to add the green value to both red and blue. This is a special case of the general color decorrelation transform above, frequent enough to warrant a cutoff.

Color Indexing (palettes) Transform

If there are not many unique pixel values, it may be more efficient to create a color index array and replace the pixel values by the array's indices. The color indexing transform achieves this. The color indexing transform checks for the number of unique ARGB values in the image. If that number is below a threshold (256), it creates an array of those ARGB values, which is then used to replace the pixel values with the corresponding index.

Color Cache Coding

Lossless WebP compression uses already-seen image fragments in order to reconstruct new pixels. It can also use a local palette if no interesting match is found. This palette is continuously updated to reuse recent colors. In the picture below, you can see the local color cache in action being updated progressively with the 32 recently-used colors as the scan goes downward.

LZ77 Backward Reference

Backward references are tuples of length and distance code. Length indicates how many pixels in scan-line order are to be copied. Distance code is a number indicating the position of a previously seen pixel, from which the pixels are to be copied. The length and distance values are stored using LZ77 prefix coding.

LZ77 prefix coding divides large integer values into two parts: the prefix code and the extra bits. The prefix code is stored using an entropy code, while the extra bits are stored as they are (without an entropy code).

The diagram below illustrates the LZ77 (2D variant) with word-matching (instead of pixels).

Lossy WebP with Alpha

In addition to lossy WebP (RGB colors) and lossless WebP (lossless RGB with alpha), there's another WebP mode that allows lossy encoding for RGB channels and lossless encoding for the alpha channel. Such a possibility (lossy RGB and lossless alpha) is not available today with any of the existing image formats. Today, webmasters who need transparency must encode images losslessly in PNG, leading to a significant size bloat. WebP alpha encodes images with low bits- per-pixel and provides an effective way to reduce the size of such images. Lossless compression of the alpha channel adds just 22% bytes over lossy (quality 90) WebP encoding.

Overall, replacing transparent PNG with lossy+alpha WebP gives 60-70% size saving on average. This has been confirmed as a great attracting feature for icon-rich mobile sites (everything.me, for example).