单页应用跟踪

本指南将介绍如何使用 analytics.js 跟踪网站上以动态方式加载内容(而不采用传统的整个网页加载方式)的网页。

概览

单页应用 (SPA) 指的是在首次加载网页时加载浏览整个网站所需所有资源的网络应用或网站。当用户点击链接并与网页互动时,系统将以动态方式加载后续内容。应用会经常更新地址栏中的网址来模仿传统的网页导航,但始终不会再发出整个网页加载请求。

在传统网站上运行默认的 JavaScript 跟踪代码段没有任何问题,因为该代码段在用户每次加载新页面时都会运行。但是,对于单页应用,网站以动态方式加载新的网页内容,而不采用整个网页加载方式,因此 analytics.js 代码段仅运行一次。也就是说,当有新内容加载时,必须通过人工方式跟踪后续的(虚拟)网页浏览。

跟踪虚拟网页浏览

当应用动态加载内容,并更新地址栏中的网址时,存储在您的跟踪器上的数据也应更新。

要更新跟踪器,请使用 set 命令,并提供新的 page 值:

ga('set', 'page', '/new-page.html');

在设置了新的 page 值后,所发送的所有后续匹配将使用新值。要记录网页浏览,请在更新跟踪器后立即发送网页浏览匹配。

ga('set', 'page', '/new-page.html');
ga('send', 'pageview');

尽管从技术角度来说,用于网页浏览匹配的 send 命令可以采用可选 page 字段作为第三个参数,但是当跟踪单页应用时不推荐采用这种方式传递 page 字段。这是因为并未在跟踪器上设置通过 send 命令传送的字段,这些字段仅适用于当前的匹配。当您的应用发送任何非网页浏览匹配(例如事件或社交互动)时,如果未更新跟踪器,将导致错误,因为这些匹配将会与创建跟踪器时包含的任何 page 值关联。

处理同一资源的多个网址

当动态加载内容时,部分 SPA 仅更新网址的 # 部分。这种做法可能导致多个不同网页路径指向同一资源。在这些情况下,通常最好选择一个规范网址并始终只将 page 值发送给 Google Analytics(分析)。

例如,假设有个网站的“关于我们”页面可通过以下任一网址进行访问:

  • /about.html
  • /#about.html
  • /home.html#about.html

为避免报告中出现重复的内容,最好通过 /about.html 跟踪所有相关的网页浏览。

重要注意事项

不更新文档引荐来源网址

如果使用 create 命令创建跟踪器对象,document.referrer 的值存储在跟踪器的 referrer 字段上。对于不采用整个网页加载方式的单页应用,referrer 字段始终保持不变。

尽管如此,也没有必要在发送网页浏览匹配之前,通过人工方式更新 referrer 字段。Google Analytics(分析)能自动确定正确的导航路径。

不更新文档位置

与跟踪器为 referrer 字段使用 document.referrer 的方式相同,跟踪器为 location 字段使用 document.location,该字段可能采用附加到网址末尾的查询参数的形式包含广告系列数据或其他元数据。

对 Google Analytics(分析)所要检查的任何广告系列字段或其他元数据进行更新,都可能导致现有会话结束并开始一个新会话。为避免此问题,在跟踪单页应用中的虚拟网页浏览时,请不要更新 location 字段,而应使用 page 字段。

不创建新跟踪器

不要试图通过在单页应用中创建新的跟踪器来模拟 JavaScript 跟踪代码段在传统网站中的处理方式。如上文所述,这样做可能会将不正确的引荐来源网址及不正确的广告系列数据发送出去。

Single Page Application Tracking

This guide describes how to use analytics.js to track pages on sites whose content is loaded dynamically without traditional full page loads.

Overview

A Single Page Application (SPA) is a web application or website that loads all of the resources required to navigate throughout the site on the first page load. As the user clicks links and interacts with the page, subsequent content is loaded dynamically. The application will often update the URL in the address bar to emulate traditional page navigation, but another full page request is never made.

The default JavaScript tracking snippet works well with traditional websites because the snippet code is run every single time the users load a new page. However, for a single page application where the site loads new page content dynamically rather than as full page loads, the analytics.js snippet code only runs once. This means subsequent (virtual) pageviews must be tracked manually as new content is loaded.

Tracking virtual pageviews

When your application loads content dynamically and updates the URL in the address bar, the data stored on your tracker should be updated as well.

To update the tracker, use the set command and supply the new page value:

ga('set', 'page', '/new-page.html');

After you've set the new page value, all subsequents hits sent will use that new value. To record a pageview, send a pageview hit immediately after updating the tracker.

ga('set', 'page', '/new-page.html');
ga('send', 'pageview');

While technically the send command for pageview hits accepts an optional page field as the third parameter, passing the page field that way is not recommended when tracking single page applications. This is because fields passed via the send command are not set on the tracker—they apply to the current hit only. Not updating the tracker will cause problems if your application sends any non-pageview hits (e.g. events or social interactions), as those hits will be associated with whatever page value the tracker had when it was created.

Handling multiple URLs for the same resource

Some SPAs only update the hash portion of the URL when loading content dynamically. This practice can lead to situations where many different page paths point to the same resource. In such cases, it's usually best to choose a canonical URL and only ever send that page value to Google Analytics.

For example, consider a website whose "About Us" page can be reached via any of the following URLs:

  • /about.html
  • /#about.html
  • /home.html#about.html

To avoid duplication in your reports, it's best to track all of these pageviews as /about.html.

Important considerations

Do not update the document referrer

When you create a tracker object using the create command, the value of document.referrer is stored on the tracker's referrer field. In the context of a single page application that doesn't use full page loads, the referrer field will always stay the same.

Despite this, it is not necessary to update the referrer field manually prior to sending pageview hits. Google Analytics is able to automatically determine the correct navigation path.

Do not update the document location

In the same way that the tracker uses document.referrer for the referrer field, it uses document.location for the location field, which may contain campaign data or other meta data in the form of query parameters appended to the end of the URL.

Updating any of the campaign fields or other meta data that Google Analytics is checking for may cause the current session to end and a new session to begin. To avoid this problem, do not update the location field when tracking virtual pageviews in a single page application. Use the page field instead.

Do not create new trackers

Do not create new trackers in a single page app in an attempt to mimic what the JavaScript tracking snippet does for traditional websites. Doing so runs the risk of sending an incorrect referrer as well as incorrect campaign data as described above.