自定义维度和指标

本指南将介绍如何使用 analytics.js 发送自定义的维度和指标。

概览

使用自定义维度和指标是向 Google Analytics(分析)发送自定义数据的有效方式。网络开发者可以使用自定义维度和指标来细分并衡量登录和退出的用户之间、网页作者之间、游戏中的关卡之间或页面上存在的任何其他业务数据之间的差异。

有关此功能工作方式的完整概述,请阅读自定义维度和指标功能参考

您可以使用以下任意一个值(或两个一起用)发送自定义维度和指标数据:

字段名称 值类型 是否必须提供 说明
dimension[0-9]+ text 维度索引。每个自定义维度都有关联的索引。自定义维度最多可以有 20 个(Premium 帐户为 200 个)。索引后缀必须是大于 0 的正整数(如 dimension3)。
metric[0-9]+ integer 指标索引。每个自定义指标都有关联的索引。自定义指标最多可以有 20 个(Premium 帐户为 200 个)。索引后缀必须是大于 0 的正整数(如 metric5)。

实现

您必须先通过 Google Analytics(分析)界面配置自定义维度或指标。配置完成后,系统会向自定义维度或指标分配用于识别并将其与其他自定义维度或指标区分开来的专属索引。然后,您可在 analytics.js 库中使用索引来发送特定自定义维度或指标的数据。

发送数据

自定义维度或指标数据只能与现有的匹配一起发送。例如,要为 pageview 类型的匹配发送索引为 15 的自定义维度,您应使用:

ga('send', 'pageview', {
  'dimension15':  'My Custom Dimension'
});

要为 event 类型的匹配发送索引为 18 的自定义指标,您应使用:

ga('send', 'event', 'category', 'action', {
  'metric18': 8000
});

如果为自定义指标配置了货币类型,您可以发送小数值:

ga('send', 'event', 'category', 'action', {
  'metric19': 24.99
});

在某些情况下,您可能想要将某个自定义维度或指标与指定网页上的所有匹配一起发送(或在跟踪器对象的整个生命周期内始终发送)。在这类情况下,您可以使用 set 命令设置自定义维度或指标:

ga('set', 'dimension5', 'custom data');

要使用 set 同时设置维度和指标的值,您可以使用以下代码:

ga('set', {
  'dimension5': 'custom dimension data',
  'metric5': 'custom metric data'
});

如需了解发送此数据所需的具体格式,请参阅“字段参考”文档中的“自定义维度和指标”部分

示例

如果您的内容网站上有许多作者,便非常适合使用自定义维度。作为分析师,您可能想了解哪些作者的内容最受欢迎。要获得这个问题的答案,您可以查看按作者比较网页浏览量的报告。虽然Google Analytics(分析)默认并不提供作者数据,但您可以将此数据作为一项自定义维度与要跟踪的每个网页浏览一起发送。

此解决方案的第一步是,在管理界面中配置一个新的自定义维度。维度名称应为author,范围类型应为hit。配置完成后,系统将为新的自定义维度分配一个索引。对于本示例,我们假设该索引为5

在配置author自定义维度并为其指定索引后,现在我们可以将其搭配analytics.js库来使用,以一个自定义维度的形式发送作者数据。例如,如果您的网页是以PHP编写,网页的实际作者可能会存储在PHP变量(如$author)中。在 PHP 模板内,您可以使用此作者变量将作者值传给自定义维度:

ga('send', 'pageview', {
  'dimension5': '<?=$author?>'
});

Hide

Custom Dimensions & Metrics - Web Tracking (analytics.js)

This guide describes how to send custom dimensions and metrics using analytics.js.

  1. Overview
  2. Implementation
    1. Sending Data
  3. Example
More

Overview

Custom dimensions and metrics are a powerful way to send custom data to Google Analytics. Web developers can use custom dimensions and metrics to segment and measure differences between: logged in and logged out users, authors of pages, levels in games, or any other business data you have on a page.

For a complete overview on how this feature works, read the Custom Dimensions and Metrics Feature Reference.

You send custom dimension and metric data using either one or both of the following values:

Value Type Required Description
dimension[0-9]+ String No The dimension index. Each custom dimension has an associated index. There is a maximum of 20 custom dimensions (200 for Premium accounts). The index suffix must be a positive integer greater than 0. (e.g. dimension3)
metric[0-9]+ Number No The metric index. Each custom metric has an associated index. There is a maximum of 20 custom metrics (200 for Premium accounts). The index suffix must be a positive integer greater than 0. (e.g. metric5)

Implementation

You must first configure a custom dimension or metric through the Google Analytics Management Interface. Once configured, the custom dimension or metric will be assigned a unique index that identifies and differentiates one custom dimension or metric from another. You then use the index in the analytics.js library to send data for a particular custom dimension or metric.

Sending Data

Custom dimension or metric data may only be sent with an existing hit. For example, to send a custom dimension for a pageview type hit with the index 15, you would use:

ga('send', 'pageview', {
  'dimension15':  'My Custom Dimension'
});

To send a custom metric for an event type hit with the index 18, you would use:

ga('send', 'event', 'category', 'action', {
  'metric18': 8000
});

If the custom metric is configured to have a currency type, you can send decimal values:

ga('send', 'event', 'category', 'action', {
  'metric19': 24.99
});

In some cases, you might want to send a custom dimension or metric with all the hits on a given page (or for the lifetime of the tracker object). In this case, you can set the custom dimension or metrics using the set command:

ga('set', 'dimension5', 'custom data');

To set values for both a dimension and metric, you can use:

ga('set', {
  'dimension5': 'custom dimension data',
  'metric5': 'custom metric data'
});

Read the Custom Dimensions and Metrics Section in the Field Reference document for the specific format of how to send this data.

Example

A fantastic example of when to use custom dimensions is if you had a content based site with many authors. As an analyst, you might want to understand which authors have the most popular content. To answer this question, you could view a report that compares pageviews by author. Although author data is not available by default in Google Analytics, you can send this data as a custom dimension with each pageview being tracked.

The first step in the solution is to configure a new custom dimension in the management interface. The name should be author and the scope will be of type hit. Once configured, the new custom dimension will be assigned an index. For this example, let's say the index is 5.

Now that the author custom dimension has been configured and assigned an index, it can be used with the analytics.js library to send author data as a custom dimension. For example, if your page is written in PHP, the actual author of the page will probably be stored in a PHP variable like $author. In your PHP template, you can use this author variable to pass the author value to the custom dimension:

ga('send', 'pageview', {
  'dimension5': '<?=$author?>'
});

It's all pretty easy.