创建跟踪器

跟踪器对象(也称为“跟踪器”)指的是可以收集和存储数据并将这些数据发送给 Google Analytics(分析)的对象。

在创建新的跟踪器时,您必须指定一个跟踪 ID(与“媒体资源 ID”相同,对应于您的一个 Google Analytics(分析)媒体资源)和一个 Cookie 网域(指定如何存储 Cookie,推荐值 'auto' 表示自动配置 Cookie 网域。)

如果指定了网域但无对应的 Cookie,那么会生成一个客户端 ID 并将其存储在新创建的 Cookie 中,同时将用户识别为“新”用户。如果存在包含客户端 ID 值的 Cookie,则在跟踪器中设置该客户端 ID,并将该用户识别为“回访”用户。

创建后,跟踪器对象还会收集关于当前浏览上下文的信息(例如页面标题和网址)、关于设备的信息(例如屏幕分辨率、视口尺寸)以及文档编码。当需要向 Google Analytics(分析)发送数据时,会将跟踪器对象中当前存储的所有信息发送出去。

create 方法

analytics.js 库提供了各种创建跟踪器的方式,最常见的方式是使用 create 命令,并将跟踪 IDCookie 网域字段分别作为第二个和第三个参数传递给该命令:

ga('create', 'UA-XXXXX-Y', 'auto');

给跟踪器命名

您还可以选择给跟踪器命名,方法是将 name 字段作为第四个参数传递给 create 命令。如果您要为相同页面创建多个跟踪器,就需要对跟踪器进行命名。详细原因,请参阅下面的使用多个跟踪器部分。

ga('create', 'UA-XXXXX-Y', 'auto', 'myTracker');

在未设置 name 字段的情况下创建的跟踪器也称为“默认”跟踪器。默认跟踪器具有内部名称“t0”。

在创建时指定字段值

您还可以选择传递字段对象,通过这种方式可以在创建时设置任何 analytics.js 字段,以便将这些字段存储在跟踪器中并应用于所有要发送的匹配。

ga('create', 'UA-XXXXX-Y', 'auto', 'myTracker', {
  userId: '12345'
});

和对 ga() 函数的所有调用一样,也可使用字段对象来同时指定所有字段:

ga('create', {
  trackingId: 'UA-XXXXX-Y',
  cookieDomain: 'auto',
  name: 'myTracker',
  userId: '12345'
});

请参阅 create 方法参考,了解更为全面的详细信息。

使用多个跟踪器对象

在一些情况下,您可能想要从单个页面发送数据到多个媒体资源。这对由多名负责人分别管理各个版块的网站非常有用;每名负责人都可以查看自己的媒体资源。

要为两个不同的媒体资源跟踪数据,需要创建两个不同的跟踪器,至少其中一个必须是已命名的跟踪器。以下两条命令创建了一个默认跟踪器和一个名为“clientTracker”的跟踪器:

ga('create', 'UA-XXXXX-Y', 'auto');
ga('create', 'UA-XXXXX-Z', 'auto', 'clientTracker');

针对特定跟踪器执行命令

要针对特定跟踪器执行 analytics.js 命令,需要用跟踪器名加英文句点给命令名添加前缀。如果不指定跟踪器名,命令就针对默认跟踪器执行。

要为上述两个跟踪器发送网页浏览量数据,需要执行以下两条命令:

ga('send', 'pageview');
ga('clientTracker.send', 'pageview');

以后发布的指南会详细介绍执行特定命令的语法。您也可以参阅命令队列参考,了解所有 analytics.js 命令的完整命令语法。

后续步骤

创建跟踪器后,您可能需要访问存储在该跟踪器对象中的数据。下一篇指南介绍如何获取和设置跟踪器数据

Creating Trackers

Tracker objects (also known as "trackers") are objects that can collect and store data and then send that data to Google Analytics.

When creating a new tracker, you must specify a tracking ID (which is the same as the property ID that corresponds to one of your Google Analytics properties) as well as a cookie domain, which specifies how cookies are stored. (The recommended value 'auto' specifies automatic cookie domain configuration.)

If a cookie does not exist for the specified domain, a client ID is generated and stored in the cookie, and the user is identified as new. If a cookie exists containing a client ID value, that client ID is set on the tracker, and the user is identified as returning.

Upon creation, tracker objects also gather information about the current browsing context such as the page title and URL, and information about the device such as screen resolution, viewport size, and document encoding. When it's time to send data to Google Analytics, all of the information currently stored on the tracker gets sent.

The create method

The analytics.js library provides a variety ways to create trackers, but the most common way is to use the create command and pass the tracking ID and cookie domain fields as the second and third parameters:

ga('create', 'UA-XXXXX-Y', 'auto');

Naming trackers

You may also, optionally, name the tracker by passing the name field as the fourth argument in the create command. Naming a tracker is necessary in cases where you need to create more than one tracker for the same page. For more details on why you might need to do this, see the section below on working with multiple trackers.

ga('create', 'UA-XXXXX-Y', 'auto', 'myTracker');

Creating a tracker without setting the name field is known as creating a "default" tracker. A default tracker is internally given the name "t0".

Specifying fields at creation time

An optional fields object may also be passed that allows you to set any of the analytics.js fields at creation time, so they will be stored on the tracker and apply to all hits that are sent.

ga('create', 'UA-XXXXX-Y', 'auto', 'myTracker', {
  userId: '12345'
});

And as with all calls to the ga() function, the fields object may also be used to specify all of the fields together:

ga('create', {
  trackingId: 'UA-XXXXX-Y',
  cookieDomain: 'auto',
  name: 'myTracker',
  userId: '12345'
});

See the create method reference for more comprehensive details.

Working with multiple trackers

In some cases you might want to send data to multiple properties from a single page. This is useful for sites that have multiple owners overseeing sections of a site; each owner could view their own property.

To track data for two separate properties, you need to create two separate trackers, and at least one of them must be a named tracker. The following two commands create a default tracker and a tracker named "clientTracker":

ga('create', 'UA-XXXXX-Y', 'auto');
ga('create', 'UA-XXXXX-Z', 'auto', 'clientTracker');

Running commands for a specific trackers

To run analytics.js commands for a specific tracker, you prefix the command name with the tracker name, followed by a dot. When you don't specify a tracker name, the command is run on the default tracker.

To send pageviews for the above two trackers, you'd run the following two commands:

ga('send', 'pageview');
ga('clientTracker.send', 'pageview');

Future guides will go into more detail on the syntax for running specific commands. You can also refer to the command queue reference to see the full command syntax for all analytics.js commands.

Next steps

Once you've created a tracker, you may need to access the data stored on that tracker object. The next guide explains how to get and set tracker data.