This page explains how to turn off or shut down a Google Classroom add-on. Your choices of action depend on whether you want to reactivate the add-on in the future.
Note the following considerations before changing your add-on's status:
- Google doesn't remove already created add-on attachments in Classroom, even after you perform one of the actions described in this guide. If you no longer intend for users to access your content through add-on attachments, ensure that users are not presented with unrecoverable errors.
- Disabling the Google Workspace Marketplace SDK in a Google Cloud project has no effect on the listing or app behavior. Doing so only prevents you from changing the configuration.
- You cannot temporarily block users that have installed your add-on from using it.
The following are the actions you can take that affect the availability of a Classroom add-on. These are performed in either the Google Workspace Marketplace SDK or the add-on's Google Cloud project itself. Each addresses a particular use case.
Choose this option if you want to reduce new installations of an add-on by making its Google Workspace Marketplace listing undiscoverable.
Unlist an add-on by checking the
Unlisted box in
the App Visibility section of the Marketplace SDK
App Configuration page.
- Your add-on listing no longer appears in the Google Workspace Marketplace. It also doesn't appear in search results or the "Works with Classroom" filter.
- The add-on continues to function normally for all installed users.
- Users can still install your add-on by visiting the App URL directly. The App URL is shown on the Marketplace SDK Store Listing page.
- You can restore the listing visibility at any time by unchecking the
Choose this option if you want to prevent all new installations of an add-on. Unlike unlisting, an unpublished add-on can't be installed by visiting the Google Workspace Marketplace listing URL directly. You can republish the add-on to allow new installations at some time in the future.
To unpublish, click the UNPUBLISH button in the Marketplace SDK Store Listing page.
- All app listings associated with this Google Cloud project are immediately removed from Google Workspace Marketplace.
- Users that have already installed the add-on can still use it normally.
- If you have multiple integrations checked in the Marketplace SDK, consider disabling only the Classroom integration instead.
- To allow new installations, republish the app. It must be rereviewed by the Marketplace team before it is available to users again. Users that had previously installed the add-on regain access to it after the app has been reapproved.
Turn off the Classroom integration
Similar to unpublishing, this action prevents all new installations of a Classroom add-on with the possibility to republish in the future. If your application is bundled with other Marketplace integrations, choose this option to only affect your Classroom add-on.
To turn off only the Classroom integration, clear the Classroom integration box in the Marketplace SDK App Configuration page.
- The add-on no longer appears in the Classroom UI when creating a new assignment, material, or announcement.
- The add-on listing is removed from Google Workspace Marketplace.
- To allow new installations, recheck the Classroom integration box and click Publish again in the Marketplace SDK Store Listing page. It must be rereviewed by the Marketplace team before it is available to users again. Users that had previously installed the add-on regain access to it after the app has been reapproved.
Delete the add-on
Choose this option to immediately and permanently remove an add-on. The add-on no longer appears for any users in Google Workspace Marketplace or Google Classroom.
To permanently delete an add-on, shut down the Google Cloud project.
- The app listing is immediately removed from Google Workspace Marketplace.
- The add-on is forcibly uninstalled for all Google Workspace users.
- If the project is later restored and the app republished and approved, the add-on is not restored to users that had previously installed it. Users must reinstall the add-on through Google Workspace Marketplace.