Chrome Dev Summit 2018 is happening now and streaming live on YouTube. Watch now.

可訪問的樣式

我們已經瞭解了可訪問性的兩個關鍵方面(焦點和語義)。接下來,我們來看一下第三個方面,即樣式化。 樣式化主題廣,我們將分三部分介紹。

  • 爲焦點和各種 ARIA 狀態添加樣式,確保對元素進行樣式化以支持我們的可訪問性工作。
  • 賦予 UI 靈活的樣式,以便對它們進行放大來滿足無法看清小號文字的用戶的需求。
  • 選擇合適的顏色和對比度,避免僅通過顏色傳達信息。

對焦點進行樣式化

一般情況下,每次聚焦到一個元素時,我們都依靠瀏覽器內置的焦點環(CSS outline 屬性)對元素進行樣式化。 焦點環非常方便,沒有它,鍵盤用戶就無法分辨哪個元素具有焦點。 WebAIM 檢查單提到了這一點,其中的表述爲“很容易就能看到哪個頁面元素具有當前鍵盤焦點(即,瀏覽頁面時,您可以看到自己所處的位置)。”

帶焦點環的表單元素

不過,焦點環有時看起來是歪曲的,或者不適合您的頁面設計。 一些開發者通過將元素的 outline 設爲 0none 的方式完全移除此樣式。 但是,沒有了焦點指示器,鍵盤用戶怎樣才能知道他們正與哪個項目交互呢?

您可能對使用 CSS :hover 僞類向控件添加懸停狀態比較熟悉。 例如,您可以對某個鏈接元素使用 :hover,在鼠標懸停到該元素上時更改其顏色或背景。 與 :hover 類似,您可以使用 :focus 僞類在某個元素具有焦點時將其鎖定。

/* At a minimum you can add a focus style that matches your hover style */
:hover, :focus {
  background: #c0ffee;
}

解決移除焦點環後問題的一種替代方法是爲您的元素設置相同的懸停和焦點樣式,這樣可以解決鍵盤用戶“焦點在哪”的問題。照例,提升可訪問性體驗將提升每個人的體驗。

輸入形式

帶焦點環的原生 HTML 按鈕

對於像 button 一樣的原生元素,瀏覽器可以檢測用戶交互是來自鼠標還是鍵盤按動,並且一般僅爲鍵盤交互顯示焦點環。例如,當您通過鼠標點擊原生 button 時,不會有焦點環,但是當您通過鍵盤跳轉到該元素時,將顯示焦點環。

其中的邏輯是,鼠標用戶需要焦點環的可能性較低,因爲他們知道自己點擊了哪個元素。 遺憾的是,目前還沒有一種跨瀏覽器解決方案可以產生相同的行爲。 因此,如果您爲任何元素設置 :focus 樣式,那麼當用戶點擊元素或者通過鍵盤使其具有焦點時,該樣式都會顯示。試着點擊下面這個假按鈕,您會注意到 :focus 樣式始終都會應用。

<style>
  fake-button {
    display: inline-block;
    padding: 10px;
    border: 1px solid black;
    cursor: pointer;
    user-select: none;
  }

  fake-button:focus {
    outline: none;
    background: pink;
  }
</style>
<fake-button tabindex="0">Click Me!</fake-button>

這有點讓人覺得討厭,開發者因此經常使用 JavaScript 編寫自定義控件來幫助區分鼠標焦點和鍵盤焦點。

在 Firefox 中,您可以利用 :-moz-focusring CSS 僞類編寫一個僅在通過鍵盤操作使元素具有焦點時應用的焦點樣式,這一功能非常方便。儘管此僞類目前僅存在於 Firefox 中,大家正在致力於使其成爲一項標準

Alice Boxhall 和 Brian Kardell 合作撰寫的這篇很棒的文章也提到了輸入形式這一主題,並提供了用於區分鼠標輸入與鍵盤輸入的原型代碼。您可以立即使用他們的解決方法,然後在焦點環僞類獲得更廣泛支持後再行添加這一功能。

使用 ARIA 對狀態進行樣式化

構建組件時,常見的做法是使用由 JavaScript 控制的 CSS 類反映組件的狀態,進而反映其外觀。

例如,假設一個切換按鈕在用戶點擊後會進入“按下”視覺狀態,並一直保持該狀態,直至用戶再次點擊。 要對該狀態進行樣式化,您的 JavaScript 可以向按鈕添加一個 pressed 類。 另外,由於希望所有控件均具有良好的語義,您還需要將按鈕的 aria-pressed 狀態設爲 true

在這裏可以使用的一種有用技巧是,完全移除該類,然後僅使用 ARIA 屬性對元素進行樣式化。 現在,您可以爲按鈕的按下狀態更新 CSS 選擇器,從

.toggle.pressed { ... }

更新爲

.toggle[aria-pressed="true"] { ... }

這樣將在 ARIA 狀態與元素外觀之間同時創建邏輯關係和語義關係,同時還能縮減額外的代碼。

多設備自適應設計

我們知道自適應設計是一種不錯的方法,可以提供最佳的多設備體驗,而且自適應設計也可以提升可訪問性。

假設存在一個像 Udacity.com 一樣的網站:

100% 放大下的 Udacity.com

對於閱讀小號印刷字體存在困難的視力較弱的用戶來說,他們可能會放大頁面,最高可能會放大到 400%。 由於網站採用自適應設計,UI 將針對“較小視口”(實際上是較大頁面)自動重排,這一特性非常適合需要放大屏幕的桌面用戶和移動設備屏幕閱讀器用戶。這是一種雙贏的方式。下面是相同頁面放大到 400% 的效果:

400% 放大下的 Udacity.com

事實上,僅僅通過自適應設計,我們就可以滿足 WebAIM 檢查單第 1.4.4 條規則的要求,其表述爲頁面“...應在文本大小加倍的情況下便於閱讀和正常發揮作用。”

詳細介紹自適應設計不在本指南的範圍之內,以下幾條建議有助於您實現自適應設計並讓用戶更方便地訪問您的內容。

  • 首先,確保始終使用正確的 viewport 元標記。
    <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0">
    設置 width=device-width 將匹配屏幕寬度(以設備無關像素爲單位),設置 initial-scale=1 將在 CSS 像素與設備無關像素之間建立 1:1 的關係。這樣,瀏覽器會將您的內容調整爲適合屏幕尺寸,用戶看到的不會是一堆揉在一起的文本。

帶和不帶視口元標記的電話顯示

  • 另一個需要記住的技巧是使用自適應網格進行設計。正如您在 Udacity 網站的示例中看到的,使用網格進行設計意味着您的內容會在頁面更改大小時自動重排。這種佈局一般使用百分比、em 或 rem 之類的相對單位生成,而非使用硬編碼像素值。使用相對單位的優勢是文本和內容可以放大,並將其他項目擠到頁面下方。因此,DOM 順序和閱讀順序保持不變,即使佈局因爲放大而發生變化亦是如此。

  • 另外,請考慮爲文本大小之類的項目使用諸如 emrem 的相對單位,而非像素值。一些瀏覽器支持僅根據用戶偏好調整文本大小,如果您爲文本使用像素值,此設置不會影響您的副本。不過,如果您完全使用相對單位,網站副本將更新以反映用戶偏好。

  • 最後,如果您的設計在移動設備上顯示,您還應確保按鈕或鏈接之類的交互式元素足夠大,並在其周圍留出足夠的空間,使其便於按下,而不會意外重疊到其他元素上。這不僅會讓所有用戶受益,更會爲行動不便的人帶來極大幫助。

對於正確設置移動視口的網站,建議的最小觸摸目標大小約爲 48 個設備無關像素。 例如,儘管一個圖標的寬度和高度僅爲 24px,您仍然可以使用額外邊距將點按目標大小增加到 48px。48x48 像素的面積約爲 9mm 見方,與一個人手指墊的面積大小相當。

顯示一對 48 像素觸摸目標的圖片

不同觸摸目標之間在水平和垂直方向上還應留出大約 8 像素的間隔,以便用戶手指按下一個點按目標不會意外觸摸另一個點按目標。

顏色和對比度

如果您的視力很好,您會很自然地假設每個人都能辨識顏色,在文本易讀性方面也是如此 — 但事實不是這樣。我們來看一下如何有效使用顏色和對比度創建便於每個人訪問的舒適設計。

正如您想象的一樣,一些便於某些人閱讀的顏色組合可能會讓其他人閱讀起來非常困難或者令其根本無法閱讀。 這通常歸結爲顏色對比度,即前景色與背景色亮度之間的關係。如果顏色類似,對比度比率低;如果顏色不同,對比度比率高。

WebAIM 指導原則 建議爲所有文本使用 4.5:1 的 AA(最低)對比度比率。 非常大的文本(比默認正文文本大 120-150%)是一個例外,此類文本的對比度比例可以降低至 3:1。請注意下面所示對比度比率的不同。

各種對比度比率的比較

之所以爲級別 AA 選擇 4.5:1 的對比度比率是因爲,此比率可以補償視力降低至大約 20/40 水平的用戶在一般情況下的對比度靈敏度損失。20/40 是 80 歲左右老年人的典型視敏度。 對於存在視力障礙或色覺缺陷的用戶,我們可以將正文文本的對比度增大至 7:1。

您可以使用適合 Chrome 的 Accessibility DevTools 擴展程序確定對比度比率。使用 Chrome DevTools 的一個優勢是它們可以爲您當前的顏色建議 AA 和 AAA(增強)替代值,您可以點擊值來預覽它們在應用中的顯示效果。

要審覈顏色/對比度,請按下面這些基本步驟操作。

  1. 安裝擴展程序後,點擊 Audits
  2. 取消選中除 Accessibility 之外的任何選項
  3. 點擊 Audit Present State
  4. 記住任何對比度警告

devtools 對比度審覈對話框

WebAIM 也提供了一個方便的顏色對比度檢查器,您可以用它來查看任何顏色對的對比度。

不要僅通過顏色傳達信息

大約 3.2 億位用戶存在色覺障礙。大約十二分之一的男性和二百分之一的女性患有某種形式的“色盲”;也就是說,大約二十分之一(或 5%)的用戶在訪問您的網站時無法獲得您預想的體驗。如果我們依賴顏色傳達信息,我們會將這一數字推高至無法接受的水平。

例如,在輸入表單中,電話號碼可能帶有紅色下劃線,表示無效。 但是對於色覺異常人士或屏幕閱讀器用戶來說,該信息即使可以傳達,也談不上準確。 因此,您應始終爲用戶提供多種途徑來獲取關鍵信息。

使用紅色下劃線指示錯誤的輸入表單

WebAIM 檢查單第 1.4.1 部分的表述 爲“不應將顏色作爲傳達內容或區分可視元素的唯一方法。”該部分還提到“不應僅使用顏色區分文本週圍的鏈接”,除非鏈接滿足特定的對比度要求。檢查單建議(使用 CSS text-decoration 屬性)添加一個額外的指示器(例如下劃線)來指示鏈接何時處於活動狀態。

一種可以修復上個示例所遇問題的簡單方式是,向字段添加一條額外的消息,指示電話號碼無效並說明原因。

使用錯誤消息闡釋原因的輸入表單

構建應用時,請謹記這些事項並留意那些您過於依賴顏色來傳達重要信息的區域。

如果您對網站向不同用戶顯示的外觀比較好奇,或者在 UI 中嚴重依賴顏色的使用,您可以使用 NoCoffee Chrome 擴展程序 來模擬各種視覺障礙,包括不同類型的色盲。

高對比度模式

高對比度模式讓用戶可以顛倒前景色和背景色,這樣做經常有助於突出顯示文本。 對於視力較弱的人,高對比度模式可以讓在頁面上瀏覽內容變得更加簡單。可以通過多種方式在您的機器上設置高對比度。

對於像 Mac OSX 和 Windows 一樣的操作系統,可以在系統級別爲任何操作啓用其提供的高對比度模式。 此外,用戶也可以安裝擴展程序(例如 Chrome High Contrast 擴展程序,僅在特定應用中啓用高對比度。

一種比較好的做法是開啓高對比度設置,並驗證應用中的所有 UI 是否仍然可見和可以使用。

例如,導航欄可以使用細微的背景色來指示哪個頁面當前處於選中狀態。 如果您在高對比度擴展程序中查看,該細微差異完全消失,隨之而來的是用戶也無法瞭解哪個頁面處於活動狀態。

處於高對比度模式下的導航欄

類似地,對於上一部分中的示例,無效電話號碼字段上的紅色下劃線可能以不容易區分的藍-綠顏色顯示。

帶錯誤字段並處於高對比度模式下的表單

如果您滿足上面幾部分介紹的對比度比率要求,那麼在對高對比度模式的支持方面,效果也應不錯。 但是爲了更加保險,不妨安裝 Chrome High Contrast 擴展程序並大致檢查一下您的頁面,瞭解一切是否按預期工作和顯示。

Accessible Styles

We've explored two of the crucial pillars of accessibility, focus and semantics. Now let's tackle the third, styling. It's a broad topic that we can cover in three sections.

  • Ensuring that elements are styled to support our accessibility efforts by adding styles for focus and various ARIA states.
  • Styling our UIs for flexibility so they can be zoomed or scaled to accommodate users who may have trouble with small text.
  • Choosing the right colors and contrast to avoid conveying information with color alone.

Styling focus

Generally, any time we focus an element, we rely on the built-in browser focus ring (the CSS outline property) to style the element. The focus ring is handy because, without it, it's impossible for a keyboard user to tell which element has the focus. The WebAIM checklist makes a point of this, requiring that "It is visually apparent which page element has the current keyboard focus (i.e., as you tab through the page, you can see where you are)."

form elements with a focus ring

However, sometimes the focus ring can look distorted or it may just not fit in with your page design. Some developers remove this style altogether by setting the element's outline to 0 or none. But without a focus indicator, how is a keyboard user supposed to know which item they're interacting with?

You might be familiar with adding hover states to your controls using the CSS :hover pseudo-class. For example, you might use :hover on a link element to change its color or background when the mouse is over it. Similar to :hover, you can use the :focus pseudo-class to target an element when it has focus.

/* At a minimum you can add a focus style that matches your hover style */
:hover, :focus {
  background: #c0ffee;
}

An alternative solution to the problem of removing the focus ring is to give your element the same hover and focus styles, which solves the "where's-the-focus?" problem for keyboard users. As usual, improving the accessibility experience improves everyone's experience.

Input modality

a native HTML button with a focus ring

For native elements like button, browsers can detect whether user interaction occurred via the mouse or the keyboard press, and typically only display the focus ring for keyboard interaction. For example, when you click a native button with the mouse there is no focus ring, but when you tab to it with the keyboard the focus ring appears.

The logic here is that mouse users are less likely to need the focus ring because they know what element they clicked. Unfortunately there isn't currently a single cross-browser solution that yields this same behavior. As a result, if you give any element a :focus style, that style will display when either the user clicks on the element or focuses it with the keyboard. Try clicking on this fake button and notice the :focus style is always applied.

<style>
  fake-button {
    display: inline-block;
    padding: 10px;
    border: 1px solid black;
    cursor: pointer;
    user-select: none;
  }

  fake-button:focus {
    outline: none;
    background: pink;
  }
</style>
<fake-button tabindex="0">Click Me!</fake-button>

This can be a bit annoying, and often times developer will resort to using JavaScript with custom controls to help differentiate between mouse and keyboard focus.

In Firefox, the :-moz-focusring CSS pseudo-class allows you to write a focus style that is only applied if the element is focused via the keyboard, quite a handy feature. While this pseudo-class is currently only supported in Firefox, there is currently work going on to turn it into a standard.

There is also this great article by Alice Boxhall and Brian Kardell that explores the topic of modality and contains prototype code for differentiating between mouse and keyboard input. You can use their solution today, and then include the focus ring pseudo-class later when it has more widespread support.

Styling states with ARIA

When you build components, it's common practice to reflect their state, and thus their appearance, using CSS classes controlled with JavaScript.

For example, consider a toggle button that goes into a "pressed" visual state when clicked and retains that state until it is clicked again. To style the state, your JavaScript might add a pressed class to the button. And, because you want good semantics on all your controls, you would also set the aria-pressed state for the button to true.

A useful technique to employ here is to remove the class altogether, and just use the ARIA attributes to style the element. Now you can update the CSS selector for the pressed state of the button from this

.toggle.pressed { ... }

to this.

.toggle[aria-pressed="true"] { ... }

This creates both a logical and a semantic relationship between the ARIA state and the element's appearance, and cuts down on extra code as well.

Multi-device responsive design

We know that it's a good idea to design responsively to provide the best multi-device experience, but responsive design also yields a win for accessibility.

Consider a site like Udacity.com:

Udacity.com at 100% magnification

A low-vision user who has difficulty reading small print might zoom in the page, perhaps as much as 400%. Because the site is designed responsively, the UI will rearrange itself for the "smaller viewport" (actually for the larger page), which is great for desktop users who require screen magnification and for mobile screen reader users as well. It's a win-win. Here's the same page magnified to 400%:

Udacity.com at 400% magnification

In fact, just by designing responsively, we're meeting rule 1.4.4 of the WebAIM checklist, which states that a page "...should be readable and functional when the text size is doubled."

Going over all of responsive design is outside the scope of this guide, but here are a few important takeaways that will benefit your responsive experience and give your users better access to your content.

  • First, make sure you always use the proper viewport meta tag.
    <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0">
    Setting width=device-width will match the screen's width in device-independent pixels, and setting initial-scale=1 establishes a 1:1 relationship between CSS pixels and device-independent pixels. Doing this instructs the browser to fit your content to the screen size, so users don't just see a bunch of scrunched-up text.

a phone display without and with the viewport meta tag

  • Another technique to keep in mind is designing with a responsive grid. As you saw with the Udacity site, designing with a grid means your content will reflow when the page changes size. Often these layouts are produced using relative units like percents, ems, or rems instead of hard-coded pixel values. The advantage of doing it this way is that text and content can enlarge and force other items down the page. So the DOM order and the reading order remain the same, even if the layout changes because of magnification.

  • Also, consider using relative units like em or rem for things like text size, instead of pixel values. Some browsers support resizing text only in user preferences, and if you're using a pixel value for text, this setting will not affect your copy. If, however, you've used relative units throughout, then the site copy will update to reflect the user's preference.

  • Finally, when your design is displayed on a mobile device, you should ensure that interactive elements like buttons or links are large enough, and have enough space around them, to make them easy to press without accidentally overlapping onto other elements. This benefits all users, but is especially helpful for anyone with a motor impairment.

A minimum recommended touch target size is around 48 device independent pixels on a site with a properly set mobile viewport. For example, while an icon may only have a width and height of 24px, you can use additional padding to bring the tap target size up to 48px. The 48x48 pixel area corresponds to around 9mm, which is about the size of a person's finger pad area.

a diagram showing a couple of 48 pixel touch targets

Touch targets should also be spaced about 32 pixels apart, both horizontally and vertically, so that a user's finger pressing on one tap target does not inadvertently touch another tap target.

a diagram showing 32 pixels of space around a touch target

Color and contrast

If you have good vision, it's easy to assume that everyone perceives colors, or text legibility, the same way you do — but of course that's not the case. Let's wrap things up by looking at how we can effectively use color and contrast to create pleasant designs that are accessible to everyone.

As you might imagine, some color combinations that are easy for some people to read are difficult or impossible for others. This usually comes down to color contrast, the relationship between the foreground and background colors' luminance. When the colors are similar, the contrast ratio is low; when they are different, the contrast ratio is high.

The WebAIM guidelines recommend an AA (minimum) contrast ratio of 4.5:1 for all text. An exception is made for very large text (120-150% larger than the default body text), for which the ratio can go down to 3:1. Notice the difference in the contrast ratios shown below.

comparison of various contrast ratios

The contrast ratio of 4.5:1 was chosen for level AA because it compensates for the loss in contrast sensitivity usually experienced by users with vision loss equivalent to approximately 20/40 vision. 20/40 is commonly reported as typical visual acuity of people at about age 80. For users with low vision impairments or color deficiencies, we can increase the contrast up to 7:1 for body text.

You can use the Accessibility DevTools extension for Chrome to identify contrast ratios. One benefit of using the Chrome Devtools is that they will suggest AA and AAA (enhanced) alternatives to your current colors, and you can click the values to preview them in your app.

To run a color/contrast audit, follow these basic steps.

  1. After installing the extension, click Audits
  2. Uncheck everything except Accessibility
  3. Click Audit Present State
  4. Note any contrast warnings

the devtools contrast audit dialog

WebAIM itself provides a handy color contrast checker you can use to examine the contrast of any color pair.

Don't convey information with color alone

There are roughly 320 million users with color vision deficiency. About 1 in 12 men and 1 in 200 women have some form of "color blindness"; that means about 1/20th, or 5%, of your users will not experience your site the way you intended. When we rely on color to convey information, we push that number to unacceptable levels.

For example, in an input form, a telephone number might be underlined in red to show that it is invalid. But to a color deficient or screen reader user, that information is not conveyed well, if at all. Thus, you should always try to provide multiple avenues for the user to access critical information.

an input form with an error underlined in red

The WebAIM checklist states in section 1.4.1 that "color should not be used as the sole method of conveying content or distinguishing visual elements." It also notes that "color alone should not be used to distinguish links from surrounding text" unless they meet certain contrast requirements. Instead, the checklist recommends adding an additional indicator such as an underscore (using the CSS text-decoration property) to indicate when the link is active.

An easy way to fix the previous example is to add an additional message to the field, announcing that it is invalid and why.

an input form with an added error message for clarity

When you're building an app, keep these sorts of things in mind and watch out for areas where you may be relying too heavily on color to convey important information.

If you're curious about how your site looks to different people, or if you rely heavily on the use of color in your UI, you can use the NoCoffee Chrome extension to simulate various forms of visual impairment, including different types of color blindness.

High contrast mode

High-contrast mode allows a user to invert foreground and background colors, which often helps text stand out better. For someone with a low vision impairment, high-contrast mode can make it much easier to navigate the content on the page. There are a few ways to get a high-contrast setup on your machine.

Operating systems like Mac OSX and Windows offer high-contrast modes that can be enabled for everything at the system level. Or users can install an extension, like the Chrome High Contrast extension to enable high-contrast only in that specific app.

A useful exercise is to turn on high-contrast settings and verify that all of the UI in your application is still visible and usable.

For example, a navigation bar might use a subtle background color to indicate which page is currently selected. If you view it in a high-contrast extension, that subtlety completely disappears, and with it goes the reader's understanding of which page is active.

a navigation bar in high contrast mode

Similarly, if you consider the example from the previous lesson, the red underline on the invalid phone number field might be displayed in a hard-to-distinguish blue-green color.

a form with an error field in high contrast mode

If you are meeting the contrast ratios covered in the previous lessons you should be fine when it comes to supporting high-contrast mode. But for added peace of mind, consider installing the Chrome High Contrast extension and giving your page a once-over just to check that everything works, and looks, as expected.