行程更新

行程更新代表時刻表有變動。凡是您已排定且能即時反映現況的行程,應該都要有行程更新。這些更新可提供沿途停靠站的到達和出發預測時間。行程更新也能反映更複雜的情境,例如有行程取消或加進時間表,甚至是改變路線。

貼心小提醒:GTFS 中,行程是指在特定時間內由兩個以上的停靠站所組成的序列。

每個排定的行程最多只能有 1 次更新。如果排定的行程沒有任何更新,就表示該行程沒有任何即時資料。資料使用者應假定行程絕對準時。

停靠時間更新

行程更新包含一或多次車輛停靠時間更新,稱為 StopTimeUpdate 訊息。不論是過去還是未來的停靠時間,都可以提供這類更新。您可以 (但不一定要) 捨棄過去的停靠時間。如果 StopTimeUpdate 是指特定行程中到達時間排定在未來的停靠站 (意即車輛提早通過停靠站),製作者就不應予以捨棄,否則就表示該停靠站沒有任何更新。

舉例來說,如果 GTFS-rt 資訊提供中顯示以下資料:

  • 第 4 站 - 預測時間為上午 10:18 (原定時間為上午 10:20 - 提早 2 分鐘)
  • 第 5 站 - 預測時間為上午 10:30 (原定時間為上午 10:30 - 準點)

即使公車實際在上午 10:18 通過第 4 站,該停靠站的預測結果在上午 10:21 之前還是無法從動態饋給中捨棄。如果在上午 10:18 或 10:19 就從動態饋給中捨棄第 4 站的 StopTimeUpdate,而排定的抵達時間是上午 10:20,使用者就會假設第 4 站當時沒有任何即時資訊,因而使用 GTFS 的時間表資料。

每個 StopTimeUpdate 都會連結至一個停靠站。一般來說,您可以使用 GTFS stop_sequence 或 GTFS stop_id 來完成連結。不過,如要為沒有 GTFS trip_id 的行程提供更新,就必須指定 stop_id,因為 stop_sequence 沒有任何值。stop_id 仍需參照 GTFS 中的 stop_id。如果在行程中多次造訪同一個 stop_id,就必須在該行程中為該 stop_id 於所有 StopTimeUpdate 訊息中提供 stop_sequence

您可以透過更新的方式,使用 StopTimeEventStopTimeUpdate 中提供某停靠站 arrival 和/或 departure 的確切時間。更新資訊應包含絕對的 timedelay (也就是與排定時間的差距,以秒為單位)。只有在行程更新涉及已排定的 GTFS 行程時,才能使用 delay 欄位,如果是以頻率為準的行程則無法。在這種情況下,時間應等於排定時間加上延遲時間。此外,您還可以指定預測結果的 uncertainty 以及 StopTimeEvent,詳情請參閱本頁下方的「不確定度」部分。

每個 StopTimeUpdate 的預設時間表關係皆為 scheduled (請注意,這與行程的時間表關係不同)。如果停靠站不會有車輛停靠,您可以將該值變更為 skipped;如果只有部分行程的即時資料,則可變更為 no data

更新資訊應按照 stop_sequence 排序 (或是依照 stop_ids 在行程中發生的順序)。

如果行程缺少一或多個停靠站,更新資訊就會套用至所有後續的停靠站。也就是說,如果更新某個停靠站的停靠時間,在缺少任何其他資訊的情況下,所有後續停靠站的停靠時間也會跟著改變。

範例 1

如果行程包含 20 個停靠站,針對目前停靠站的 stop_sequence,如果 StopTimeUpdate 中的抵達和出發延遲時間為 0 (StopTimeEvent),就表示行程準點。

範例 2:

在同一趟行程中,系統提供三則 StopTimeUpdate 訊息:

  • stop_sequence 3 誤點 300 秒
  • stop_sequence 8 誤點 60 秒
  • stop_sequence 10 未指定誤點時間長度

解釋如下:

  • stop_sequence 訊息 1、2 指出誤點不明。
  • stop_sequence 訊息 3、4、5、6、7 指出誤點 300 秒。
  • stop_sequence 訊息 8、9 指出誤點 60 秒。
  • stop_sequence 訊息 10 到 20 指出誤點不明。

行程描述元

行程描述元提供的資訊取決於待更新行程的時間表關係。您可以設定數個選項:

註解
Scheduled 這趟行程依照 GTFS 時間表或是極為相似的時間表運作。
Added 這趟行程沒有排定,為額外追加,例如為了解決額外載客需求或更換故障車輛。
Unscheduled 這趟行程正在進行中,且與時間表毫無關聯。舉例來說,沒有時間表的公車提供接駁服務。
Canceled 這趟行程曾排定,但現已移除。

在大多數情況下,您應提供 GTFS 中與這項更新相關的排定行程的 trip_id

包含重複 trip_id 值的系統

如果是使用重複 trip_id 值的系統 (例如使用 frequencies.txt 模擬的行程,也就是以頻率為準的行程),trip_id 缺少特定時間元件,因此本身並非單一旅程的專屬 ID。為了在 TripDescriptor 內正確識別這類行程,您必須提供三組 ID:

  • trip_id
  • start_time
  • start_date

start_time 必須先發布,如果與同一個旅程相關,則所有後續的動態饋給更新則應使用相同的 start_timeStopTimeUpdate 必須用於表示調整;start_time 不一定要與第一個車站的出發時間完全相同,但應該要十分貼近。

舉例來說,假設我們在 2015 年 5 月 25 日 10:00 決定,包含 trip_id=T 的行程會在 start_time=10:10:00 開始,因此在 10:01 透過即時動態饋給提供這項資訊。到了 10:05,我們突然發現行程開始時間不是 10:10,而是 10:13。在新版即時動態饋給中,我們仍可將這趟行程視為 (T, 2015-05-25, 10:10:00),但會提供 StopTimeUpdate,指出第一個停靠站的出發為 10:13:00。

其他行程比對方式

非以頻率為準的行程也可以使用 TripDescriptor 來正確識別,包含以下組合:

  • route_id
  • direction_id
  • start_time
  • start_date

其中 start_time 是指靜態時間表中定義的預定開始時間,前提是提供的 ID 組合可解析為不重複的行程。

不確定度

不確定度會同時套用至 StopTimeUpdate 的時間和誤點值。不確定度會大致指出在真實誤點狀況下預期會發生的偏誤,以整數秒為單位 (但是請注意,確切的統計意義尚未定義)。不確定度可能是 0,例如由電腦控制時間來驅動的火車。

舉例來說,如果一輛長程公車預估誤點 15 分鐘,但會在 4 分鐘 (亦即 +2/-2 分鐘) 的偏誤範圍內抵達下一個停靠站,uncertainty 的值就會是 240

Trip Updates

Trip updates represent fluctuations in the timetable. We would expect to receive trip updates for all trips you have scheduled that are realtime-capable. These updates would give a predicted arrival or departure time for stops along the route. Trip updates can also provide for more complex scenarios where trips are canceled or added to the schedule, or even re-routed.

Reminder: In GTFS, a trip is a sequence of two of more stops occurring at a specific time.

There should be at most one trip update for each scheduled trip. In case there is no trip update for a scheduled trip, it will be concluded that no realtime data is available for the trip. The data consumer should not assume that the trip is running on time.

Stop Time Updates

A trip update consists of one or more updates to vehicle stop times, which are referred to as StopTimeUpdates. These can be supplied for past and future stop times. You are allowed, but not required, to drop past stop times. Producers should not drop a past StopTimeUpdate if it refers to a stop with a scheduled arrival time in the future for the given trip (i.e. the vehicle has passed the stop ahead of schedule), as otherwise it will be concluded that there is no update for this stop.

For example, if the following data appears in the GTFS-rt feed:

  • Stop 4 – Predicted at 10:18am (scheduled at 10:20am – 2 min early)
  • Stop 5 – Predicted at 10:30am (scheduled at 10:30am – on time)

...the prediction for Stop 4 cannot be dropped from the feed until 10:21am, even if the bus actually passes the stop at 10:18am. If the StopTimeUpdate for Stop 4 was dropped from the feed at 10:18am or 10:19am, and the scheduled arrival time is 10:20am, then the consumer should assume that no real-time information exists for Stop 4 at that time, and schedule data from GTFS should be used.

Each StopTimeUpdate is linked to a stop. Ordinarily this can be done using either a GTFS stop_sequence or a GTFS stop_id. However, in the case you are providing an update for a trip without a GTFS trip_id, you must specify stop_id as stop_sequence has no value. The stop_id must still reference a stop_id in GTFS. If the same stop_id is visited more than once in a trip, then stop_sequence should be provided in all StopTimeUpdates for that stop_id on that trip.

The update can provide a exact timing for arrival and/or departure at a stop in StopTimeUpdates using StopTimeEvent. This should contain either an absolute time or a delay (i.e. an offset from the scheduled time in seconds). Delay can only be used in case the trip update refers to a scheduled GTFS trip, as opposed to a frequency-based trip. In this case, time should be equal to scheduled time + delay. You may also specify uncertainty of the prediction along with StopTimeEvent, which is discussed in more detail in section Uncertainty further down the page.

For each StopTimeUpdate, the default schedule relationship is scheduled. (Note that this is different from the schedule relationship for the trip). You may change this to skipped if the stop will not be stopped at, or no data if you only have realtime data for some of the trip.

Updates should be sorted by stop_sequence (or stop_ids in the order they occur in the trip).

If one or more stops are missing along the trip the update is propagated to all subsequent stops. This means that updating a stop time for a certain stop will change all subsequent stops in the absence of any other information.

Example 1

For a trip with 20 stops, a StopTimeUpdate with arrival delay and departure delay of 0 (StopTimeEvents) for stop_sequence of the current stop means that the trip is exactly on time.

Example 2

For the same trip instance, three StopTimeUpdates are provided:

  • delay of 300 seconds for stop_sequence 3
  • delay of 60 seconds for stop_sequence 8
  • delay of unspecified duration for stop_sequence 10

This will be interpreted as:

  • stop_sequences 1,2 have unknown delay.
  • stop_sequences 3,4,5,6,7 have delay of 300 seconds.
  • stop_sequences 8,9 have delay of 60 seconds.
  • stop_sequences 10,..,20 have unknown delay.

Trip Descriptor

The information provided by the trip descriptor depends on the schedule relationship of trip you are updating. There are a number of options for you to set:

Value Comment
Scheduled This trip is running according to a GTFS schedule, or is close enough to still be associated with it.
Added This trip was not scheduled and has been added. For example, to cope with demand, or replace a broken down vehicle.
Unscheduled This trip is running and is never associated with a schedule. For example, if there is no schedule and the buses run on a shuttle service.
Canceled This trip was scheduled, but is now removed.

In most cases, you should provide the trip_id of the scheduled trip in GTFS that this update relates to.

Systems with repeated trip_ids

For systems using repeated trip_ids, for example trips modeled using frequencies.txt, that is frequency-based trips, the trip_id is not in itself a unique identifier of a single journey, as it lacks a specific time component. In order to uniquely identify such trips within a TripDescriptor, a triple of identifiers must be provided:

  • trip_id
  • start_time
  • start_date

start_time should be first published, and any subsequent feed updates should use that same start_time when referring to the same journey. StopTimeUpdates should be used to indicate adjustments; start_time does not have to be precisely the departure time from the first station, although it should be pretty close to that time.

For example, let’s say we decide at 10:00, May, 25th 2015, that a trip with trip_id=T will start at start_time=10:10:00, and provide this information via realtime feed at 10:01. By 10:05 we suddenly know that the trip will start not at 10:10 but at 10:13. In our new realtime feed we can still identify this trip as (T, 2015-05-25, 10:10:00) but provide a StopTimeUpdate with departure from first stop at 10:13:00.

Alternative trip matching

Trips which are not frequency based may also be uniquely identified by a TripDescriptor including the combination of:

  • route_id
  • direction_id
  • start_time
  • start_date

where start_time is the scheduled start time as defined in the static schedule, as long as the combination of ids provided resolves to a unique trip.

Uncertainty

Uncertainty applies to both the time and the delay value of a StopTimeUpdate. The uncertainty roughly specifies the expected error in true delay as an integer in seconds (but note, the precise statistical meaning is not defined yet). It's possible for the uncertainty to be 0, for example for trains that are driven under computer timing control.

As an example a long-distance bus that has an estimated delay of 15 minutes arriving to its next stop within a 4 minute window of error (that is +2 / -2 minutes) will have an Uncertainty value of 240.