Offering free training to transform the local economy

December 2017

Olotu Square Founder of Olotu Square, Bruce Lucas is a passionate creator, community manager, and businessman. Listen to his story about how he and his team train future developers and work with partner companies to employ them. This business model has enabled Olotu Square to offer free trainings to anyone interested and, thus, is helping to transform the local economy in River State.

Olotu Square

Bruce Lucas Bruce Lucas
Bruce, how did you come up with the idea to open a tech hub?

I studied Computer Science and started my first software company while I was still a student. I came across an NGO that focuses on training youth in tech skills across 40 countries. I found it to be a very interesting model and I wanted to explore it more. That's how I first encountered hubs and coworking places and I got the idea to start a tech hub of my own.

"Olotu" means "champions" and the word "Square" implies a village square, where villagers meet. Olotu Square is a meetup place for champions. I think the name fits perfectly to what our aim is. We focus on 3 main areas:

1. Space - physical space for developers and enthusiasts to come together and work together
  2. Community - we foster the community growth through trainings focused on skill development
  3. Solutions - we can use the talent pool that is trained by us to solve real assignments for corporate partners

I think with this model we can really have an impact on the local developer ecosystem and economy.

Do you remember what was the turning point for you when you decided to create a community space?