Saved Searches

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

Saved searches allow you to store the criteria for searching for issues so that you can perform the same search later without re-entering it. This can be particularly useful for complex queries that you intend to use repeatedly, but any frequently used query benefits from being saved.

After you create a saved search, it appears in the left-hand navigation under the Saved Searches section. Unlike hotlists, saved searches are not static in their results. This means that you do not add or remove issues from the saved search results yourself. Instead, each time you run a saved search, Issue Tracker returns the issues that currently meet the search criteria. Results of a saved search can change from moment to moment as issues change to match or no longer match the search criteria.

IDs and naming

Saved searches, hotlists and bookmark groups are uniquely identified by ID numbers. You can find ID numbers by clicking the pencil or clipboard icon on the details page next to the resource name. As an alternative, if a resource is in the left-hand navigation, you can access its ID number by selecting Settings or Info in its drop-down menu.

Names for saved searches, hotlists and bookmark groups do not need to be unique. For example, two different users can create a bookmark group named "My Bookmark Group." One of these bookmark groups may have the ID number 63690 while the other has an ID number of 82451. If the same user creates or subscribes to resources with the same name, each resource appears in the left-hand navigation and it may be difficult to distinguish one from another. For this reason, you should make names as unique as possible and avoid using generic names.

Modified saved searches

If you change the criteria of a saved search after you create it and then re-run it, Issue Tracker presents you with the option to re-save the search with the new criteria. Click Save to update the saved search with the new criteria or click Discard keep the saved search unchanged and re-run the search based on the original criteria. You can also click Back to Normal Search to keep the search results based on the new criteria. This does not update your saved search.

If you modify a saved search and then go to the drop-down button in the search bar, you can save the modified search as a different saved search.

For other ways to organize issues into groups, see the Grouped Issues page.