Google App Engine

Application Settings

The Application Settings tab of the Administration Console allows you to see, and in some cases, configure several important aspects of your application:

View and configure application basics

The Basics section of the Application Settings screen allows you to:

  • Set the title of your application. If users authenticate to use your application, this title appears in the authentication screen.
  • Set the lifespan of cookies. You can set cookies to expire in one day, one week, or two weeks.
  • Change the authentication options for your application. If you have chosen not to authenticate against a Google Apps domain, you can switch the auth between the Google Accounts API or Federated Login. For more information about authentication in App Engine, please visit Configuring Your App's Authentication.

Retain application logs

By default, logs are stored for an application free of charge with the following per-application limits: a maximum of 1 gigabyte for a maximum of up to 90 days. If the size limits are exceeded, more recent logs will be shown and older logs will be deleted to stay within the size limit. Logs older than the maximum retention time are also deleted.

However, if your app has billing enabled, you can pay for higher log size limits by specifying the desired max size in gigabytes. You can also specify a retention time greater than 90 days, up to a maximum of 365 days. The cost of this extra log storage is $0.026 per gigabyte utilized per month.

View configured services

In addition to receiving and responding to HTTP requests, App Engine applications can also receive requests via other protocols. To receive requests via a non-HTTP protocol, you must enable it in your application's configuration file.

App Engine currently supports receiving inbound mail and XMPP requests. The following links provide information about how to configure these services.

Set a new host domain

App Engine uses Google Apps to manage domains. To change the domain where your app is hosted, click Add Domain and enter the new domain. For more information, see Deploying Your Application on Your Google Apps URL.

Disable datastore writes

If you wish to make your datastore read-only, click Disable Writes. This setting causes all attempts to write to your datastore to fail. Once you've disabled writes, any attempts to write to that datastore throw a capability disabled error. You can re-enable writes by clicking the Re-Enable Writes link.

Disable or delete your application

As a safety measure to prevent inadvertent deletion, App Engine requires you to first disable your application before deleting it. Only after you have first disabled your app are you allowed to delete it permanently.

To disable your application,

  1. In the Administration Console, click your application to make it the active application.
  2. Click Application Settings on the left side under Administration.
  3. Click Disable Application.
  4. Click Disable Application Now.
  5. Disabling your application does not automatically disable billing. If billing is enabled for your app, disable billing.

Once disabled, your application stops serving requests but retains its data and state; you can continue to manage the app in the Administration Console and you can re-enable it. To re-enable your disabled application, click Re-Enable Application from the Application Settings window.

After you disable your applicaiton, you can request permanent deletion, App Engine imposes a waiting period of approximately 72 hours before actually deleting the application. During this waiting period, you can cancel the deletion request. Once your application is actually deleted, however, you cannot recover its state or data. Only its application ID remains (and this can never be re-used).

Anyone marked as a Developer for the app in the Permissions tab of the Administration Console can request deletion of the app, but all developers are notified by email and any developer can revert the request for deletion.

To delete your application,

  1. In the Administration Console, click the disabled application you want to delete.
  2. Click Application Settings on the left side under Administration.
  3. If billing is still enabled for your app, disable billing.
  4. Click Request Permanent Deletion. The application will be deleted in approximately 72 hours.

Authentication required

You need to be signed in with Google+ to do that.

Signing you in...

Google Developers needs your permission to do that.